We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location ruins it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Roma Piazza Bologna
Ranked #212 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Location ruins it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

The hotel room was nice. Breakfast was the worst out of all the hotels we stayed at in Italy. The location is miserable. everywhere we went to eat we have gotten yelled at, treated terribly, or ignored. We are seasoned travelers, and travel internationally every year. We try to speak the language to the best of our ability. We try to blend in. One restaurant we visited the owners mother came at the end of our meal slamming Physics books on the table telling us we were stupid Americans. Another bar ignored us completely. Another place yelled at us for putting our napkins in the wrong place when we were done with lunch. the location of the hotel should be avoided.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shanagail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    497
    1,094
    332
    48
    32
See reviews for
489
896
113
210
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

The rooms were small but very comfortable. We asked if there was a balcony available and was lucky enough to get a roof terrace. The staff were really helpful and gave us advice regarding transport when we asked and also recommended a lovely local restaurant as we didn't want to go far. Location was good as it was just a short walk away from metro station. We liked the location as it was in a more local area and not too touristy.

Room Tip: Ask if there is a room with a balcony available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandcee24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Horrible horrible hotel. Staff are rude. Provides wrong information. Only interested in getting you to pay more money, no qualms about providing the wrong information in order to achieve that.

When questioned and asked to explain, the amount to pay suddenly changes. A hotel that doesnt care.

Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weiyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMPB3304, Assistant Manager at Mercure Roma Piazza Bologna, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience, that's very important your comments help us to improve in our service day by day.
We regret the standards of service fell short of your expectations and we ask you to accept our most sincere apologies.
We can reassure you that we are not focused only on money and we are very sorry it you didn't receive the right information during your stay.
We ask you the possibility to contact us to receive more information about your stay to better understand what exactly happened.
We remain at your disposal for further information, don't hesitate to contact us.

We are aware the situation you experienced altered the quality of our service to you and we wish we would have the opportunity to regain your confidence upon a next stay in Mercure Roma Piazza Bologna.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indaiatuba, Brazil
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

The Hotel is a very good and the localization is perfect to take de subway and walk around to see and make shop. In my opnion, is necessary up grade in the internet access (wireless).
The maps is free for all of the city

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Angelo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Mercure Rome Colosseum Centre
Hotel Pulitzer Roma
#123 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Re di Roma
#161 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#373 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Colors Hotel
Navona Colors Hotel
#75 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Roma Piazza Bologna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Roma Piazza Bologna

Property: Mercure Roma Piazza Bologna
Address: Via Reggio Calabria 54, 00161 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#128 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#232 Family Hotel in Rome
#269 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Roma Piazza Bologna 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3 star hotel, just a few metres from the Metro and only 5 stops from the Colosseum, is an ideal starting point for tours of the historic centre of Rome. The hotel is modern and comfortable, offering 113 soundproofed and airconditioned rooms with satellite and pay TV, minibar and internet access. Other features of the hotel include covered pay parking, two meeting rooms and a bar, serving quality wines by the glass and open till midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Roma Piazza Bologna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Roma Piazza Bologna Hotel Rome
Mercure Hotel Rome
Accor Roma Piazza Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing