We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nearly there, just fix the wifi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Morgagni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Morgagni
Ranked #332 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Stornoway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nearly there, just fix the wifi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

This hotel has a lot going for it. Others have complained about the location, but we were happy enough since it is only 5 minutes/7 Euros in a taxi from Rome Central Station, and we walked to most locations - 20 minutes to the station, 40 minutes to the Spanish Steps; on the other hand there's a metro stop round the corner and you can speed to the Coliseum in 10 minutes. Reception staff are most helpful with transport advice, restaurant bookings etc.

Certainly there are other more central hotels, but Villa Morgagni is blissfully quiet, situated down an attractive lane, back from the main road. Our king room was a good size, and beautifully furnished with a brightly tiled bathroom. Breakfast suited us fine, with fruit, a choice of cereals, plenty of bread and pastries, cheese and even scrambled egg, all washed down with the usual excellent Italian coffee. The breakfast room is well located on the top floor, with a super view over the rooftops. We got a good deal through priceline, but from other reviews I gather that normal room rates are reasonable by Rome standards.

So why only 4 out of 5? For a start, plumbing was not all it should be with a delayed flush for the WC and a jacuzzi bath which produced interesting underwater coloured lighting effects but no water jets, and took forever to fill. More serious was the wifi, which worked reasonably well in the morning but slowed to a standstill late in the evening. Being charged 1 Euro per hour for this is unacceptable when our Venice hotel provided 13mbs/sec free of charge. This did not spoil our time in the hotel but would be a major consideration for business travellers.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nollaig6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    236
    76
    20
    12
See reviews for
97
247
19
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Weatherford, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

As an international traveler, having reliable internet is a huge priority. Villa Morgagni requires you to walk to the front desk and pay 1 euro for every hour you want to be online, it's a huge inconvenience. And good luck receiving the signal in your room, during my stay in March of 2014, I spent several hours sitting in the doorway so my device would connect. Trying to plan my day, make reservations, book tours etc. became increasingly frustrating during our stay.

Overall, the room was fine. It was clean and spacious, but we did have issues with having consistent hot water in the shower. The staff was ok, and the breakfast was surprisingly good. The location is another drawback as it really is out of the way although close to a metro station.

Again, my main issue with this Villa Morgagni really revolved around the lack of reliable internet service and their frustrating policy of purchasing 1 hour at a time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed at the for 3 nights.The staff was very helpful and always accommodating. It was quiet and the breakfast was good for a long day of sightseeing. The room was quite small which is what we expected. The need was hard and the pillows were flat. We also expected that. It would be nice if the Europeans would improve their being situations.

Room Tip: Buy the Roma pass. You get all your transportation and NO LINES......EVER!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryCornelius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

The hotel is five minutes walk from Policlinico Metro station. The hotel is behind the business centre building so you may need to search for place. Hotel is two stops away from Termini station.

We checked in late at 11pm but staff at the reception was very welcome. The hotel is in a quiet business district, majority of shops were closed on Sat/Sunday. The room was neat and clean but we did not like the bed sheet covers. Expect to pay the city tax on departure in cash.

The breakfast is offered at roof top and was good with plenty of choices.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piccrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Booked this hotel through Trip Adviser, Spent 3 nights was given room 101 right by reception. This was a large disabled room, overlooking the car park. This didn't bother us as we had come to Rome for the sights, not a view from a Hotel Room, we only slept at the hotel, after a long tiring day.
The staff were a credit to the hotel and friendly, especially Giovanna who was very supportive after my wallet was stolen on the Metro. We couldn't have asked fro more.
The breakfast was very good and as others have said is on the 4th floor.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hopeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed at the Villa Morgagni for 7 nights and whilst the place was very good, our room was a little small (304) The bathroom was quite large and well appointed. If the staff could move the bed around so that it was parallel to the window there would be more usable space, as it stands the only way to access the right hand side of the bed is by negotiating a very narrow gap (about 150mm/6ins) between the bed end and the window. The rooms were cleaned every day but not thoroughly, dust in the corners by the bed. (probably could not have got the hoover past the bed end!) we tend to walk everywhere when on holiday to get the true atmosphere of the city but even for us the hotel is a long way out unless you risk the buses or metro. Directly opposite is a supermarket which is very useful. Out of the driveway and turn left and a short walk will bring you into a lively area with bars and restaurants. The reception staff were generally friendly and helpful. The breakfast in the morning whilst being adequate could be improved by ensuring the coffee is always hot and the food being refilled more frequently. If you want to enjoy the bacon and scrambled eggs you will have to be up early as after 8:30 you may get the comment "is finish" There is ham, cheese, boiled eggs, very sweet croissants, bread for toasting, bread rolls, biscuits and crackers with yoghurt, fresh fruit and cereals as well as the afore mentioned bacon and scrambled eggs washed down with tea, coffee or a variety of juices (not the freshly squeezed type). If you do tend to walk steer clear of the area around Termini after dark as it is not a very good area.

Room Tip: Room 307 was better laid out but lacked a bath but did have a shower cubical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank double07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

My husband and I just returned from a 10 day trip to Italy. We spent the first 4 days/nights in Rome and stayed at this lovely hotel. We had a double room with breakfast included which is served on the 4th floor. I've seen other reviewers complain about the breakfast, but I was quite pleased with the quality of the breakfast. There were scrambled eggs and proscuitto every morning as well as a selection of fruits, cereals, pastries and croissants. Coffee was abundant, and capuccino or tea on request. There's a great view of the city from there, but only on one side. The hotel sits back off the street which is nice because of the street noise...but it's Rome...there's lots of street noise, but we had our window open most of the time except when we went to bed at night. With the window closed the noise was minimal. The hotel is only a few minutes away from the Policlinico stop on the Metro (Line B of the metro), and there's an ATM, grocery store, Tabacchi/pastry shop/restaurant just across the street by the entrance to the train stop. The room was small, but it's Europe, and most of them are, so it was what I expected. This was my husbands first trip to Italy, so I had prepared him to expect small rooms. The hotel was clean, the staff was very friendly and helpful. On our second day, my husbands wallet was stolen, and the staff were very helpful in assisting us to take care of those issues, such as using the wi-fi for free. My only two issues with our stay here were: 1) the location...it is a little farther away from the area I would have like to stay, and 2) the room temperature of the room and the hotel. The digital thermometer in our room said 24 degrees Celsius which equates to 75 degrees. So, we just kept the heater turned off and opened the windows when we were in our room. No big deal. But I have decided that the Italian people as a whole are cold natured because it was like that everywhere we went. Overall, an excellent hotel and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't let the location or street noise keep you from staying here. The metro is very close and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel delle Province
Hotel delle Province
#280 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,553 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Emona Aquaeductus
Hotel Emona Aquaeductus
#448 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
San Lorenzo
Dock Suites Hotel
Dock Suites Hotel
#207 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gambrinus Hotel
#285 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Hotel Villa Torlonia
#1,003 of 1,291 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
San Lorenzo
BEST WESTERN Globus Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Morgagni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Morgagni

Property: Villa Morgagni
Address: Via Giovanni Battista Morgagni 25, 00161 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Rome
#132 Business Hotel in Rome
#176 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#230 Family Hotel in Rome
#239 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Morgagni 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rome Hotel Villa Morgagni is an elegant Liberty Villa built at the beginning of the 19th century and recently refurbished to unite warm hospitality with a tasteful ambience, a mixture which has created an exclusive atmosphere and refined hospitality. Positioned off the main road, thanks to its long driveway, it offers the advantage of an environment particularly silent and relaxing. For the business traveller, Villa Morgagni has a conference room. Start the day with a view while enjoying a gourmet breakfast in our Roof-top garden or finish it by relaxing in our Turkish bath and sauna or just lounging in our bar and lounge. Private parking is also available and the area is also and well served by the subway, bus line and taxi services to arrive to the historical center not far away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Morgagni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Morgagni Hotel Rome
Morgagni Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing