We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good room but avoid breakfast!”
Review of Taormina Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taormina Hotel
Ranked #407 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good room but avoid breakfast!”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed in room 114 for 3 nights in September. The hotel was easy to find as we discovered you could get a hotel shuttle service from the airport straight to the hotel for €15, one euro more than getting a train to Termini.

The hotel is fairly well located, about a 12 minute walk from the colosseum. On the whole the location wasn't too bad, I wouldn't call central but neither out of the way. For most of the trip we ended up using the metro (about a 8 minute walk away) which meant we could easily get to sights quicker than by foot. This was really easy to use, it's just like the underground in London.

The hotel room was wonderful, very classy and just what is expect from an Italian hotel. The bathroom was really big and it included towels and a hair dryer. The room also came with a TV. Air con was additional (and essential) and wi if was free.

The service on the whole was very good, the only thing was the receptionist told us we had to wear 'proper shoes' to go the the Vatican (as well as covered shoulders and skirts below the knee). I can verify you can wear sandals, which was to my surprise when I got the Vatican.

The only thing I would fault this place on is breakfast- it's very poor. Basically you get a nicely laid table with three bread buns on a place. You then go to a main table where you can have pre-packed croissants, rye bread and more bread rolls. Basically, bread is coming out of your ears!! That said, there was a wide variety of accompaniments- such as butter, jams, cheese spread and chocolate spread.

Drinks were out of a machine, unfortunately the day I went the latte option only produced hot milk :/

On a positive note, for the money, the hotel room was excellent and it's location was fair. It's massively worth noting that there is an amazing hotel parlour only a few doors up which is open till late. It's not expensive and has amazing ice creams. Wish I could have brought it home!!

In a nutshell, avoid breakfast (unless you like to eat only bread) and enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Get a tour guide to go around the Vatican, we paid €34 after knocking salesman down in price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    244
    114
    21
    9
See reviews for
74
287
43
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Just got back from our weekend trip to Rome had a really good time .The hotel Taormina is an excellent choice for those on a budget .I found the staff to be very helpful our room was cleaned daily and the hotel itself is clean throughout .Our bathroom was quite small the shower in particular was very snug .The breakfast is a continental type consisting of 2 small soft and 1 large crusty bun with various spreads coffee and juice are available from machines though not the best breakfast I have ever had ,it was really what I expected and adequate for a three day stay .The train station is only 5 minutes walk away as is an excellent restaurant la Taverna Italiana [ ask at the hotel desk and they will direct you] ask for the house wine which is very reasonable 10 euros for 1 litre ,this restaurant does get busy always a good sign I think .Lastly I would recommend the train or a taxi for the transfer from the airport I would not use the terravision bus service check out their reviews all true .

Room Tip: try to get a rear facing room as front street is very busy with trams etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Hotel has good europian breakfast, located almost in the center of Rome. Stuff is very nice and always helpfool. Free wifi on the reception, nice bar in the restaurant, and very very good ice cream next door, Giovanni Fassi gelatto - home made ice cream and a lot of other sweets. All personal speak english (and this is not usual for Italy =)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

As budget hotels go, this was ok !. It was chosen for its cost/location. Other hotels nearer Rome Central would have been double for the same amenities. The fact that its was quite on a very busy street was a bonus. Friendly staff, very clean and tidy no complaints there. The owner organised a limo to take us to Fiumicino Airport, instead of the usual local taxi. Not sure if this done for all his guests but we certainly appreciated it. If we ever re visit Rome I would definitely use this Hotel again (and ask for room 230)....

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Just got back from a 3 night stay at this hotel. Check in was uneventful. Our room quite surprisingly was large with a generous size bathroom and small balcony. We were at the back of the Hotel so it was nice and quiet. The room was clean and with enough wardrobe space. We were however on the third floor and with no lift it was a bit of a trek up the stairs with luggage. With 2 flights of stairs to get to reception it is not a hotel for people with mobility problems. I have to agree with other reviewers in that breakfast really does leave a lot to be desired! Orange juice made from powder, awful croissants, bread not to bad, jam, Dairylea like cheese and that's about it. Sadly have to say worst breakfast at a hotel we have ever had. Also be aware WiFi is available, but at a cost of one euro a day. You also have to pay for air con. Unless you use public transport it is quite a walk to all the attractions. In short not too bad for a 2 star hotel, but it most certainly is not a 3 star.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2013

The room was much better than expected. Although the blanket is thin and the shower cubicle is tiny for a small framed Asian like me. The English speaking receptionists were really helpful. I will definitely stay ib this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Tripadvisor rated the hotel for 2 stars. They say it is 3 stars. I incline to say its more a 3 stars hotel. The rooms are nice and clean, the bathroom too and the gents at the reception are kind and helpful, but the breakfast is a disaster. For the first time i can say i didn't have what to eat else than a coffee and a croissant :( and it was the same for all the 7 days of the stay.
The position of the hotel is ok. Close to the tram and the metro. Also at a 15 minutes walk to the colosseum and a small shops area near the Vittorio Emanuele Park.
Generally its very ok, but they could improve the WiFi connection, so that you can access it from the rooms too :).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Nardizzi Americana
Nardizzi Americana
#277 of 1,258 in Rome
681 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Alexis
Hotel Alexis
#391 of 1,258 in Rome
246 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#236 of 1,258 in Rome
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Orlanda
Hotel Orlanda
#285 of 1,258 in Rome
399 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Doria
Hotel Doria
#339 of 1,258 in Rome
411 reviews
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#270 of 1,258 in Rome
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Taormina Hotel

Property: Taormina Hotel
Address: Via Principe Eugenio 49-51, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#119 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#271 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Taormina Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Taormina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taormina Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing