We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get what you pay for- definitely worth the money”
Review of Repubblica Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Repubblica Hotel
Ranked #1,154 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Everyone seems to be complaining about this Hotel but me and my boyfriend really enjoyed the week we spent there.

As already mentioned the location is brilliant, we walked literally everywhere apart from to the airport which made our journey a lot cheaper. The hotel is about half an hours walk from the Colosseum and within walking of everywhere else you would want to visit.

The hotel itself was basic but completely worth the money we paid. It was clean and tidy and everything worked including the air conditioning. We didn't spend much time in the hotel apart from when we were getting ready and sleeping, but for that it was fine. The bathroom was very small, but again it didn't need to be any bigger as we were only using it for showering etc.

The lift does work but people don't understand how to use it which means that it often cannot be used. Basically you have to close both doors when you get in AND out, but some selfish people do not bother to close the doors behind them meaning that it cannot be used again until the doors have been closed.

The breakfast wasn't great but was edible, enough to get you through the day. Some of the reviews said that the hotel smelt, but thankfully it didn't when we went (my boyfriend has a really sensitive nose so definitely would have said if he could smell it)

Therefore I would say that the hotel is basic but worth the money we paid. It is in a great location and everything was clean. Didn't need any more from the hotel than it offered. If you want a simple cheap holiday in the centre of Rome then this is the place to stay, but if you want something a bit more upmarket where you can spend more time then i would advise staying somewhere else.

Room Tip: We were in a room on the second floor and it was really nice with a view out over the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gingerbreadgirl93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 55 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

This hotel has a great location in via Nazionale within a walking distance to everywhere.The rooms are decent ( relatively clean ) and our room had a nice balcony . The building is very old , dark and old fashioned. The guy at the reception was not the friendliest guy but did his job. We had to carry our suitcases up because even tho there is an elevator most of the time doesn't work cause people don't close the manual door and not because they forget, it's only because most of the clients are not aware of this as they haven't been told. The air conditioning at our room did not work but it was fixed the second day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Consuelo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The only good thing of this place is the location; close to amenities and the metro station. Entrance is dark and dingy. Lift doesn't always work as people forget to close the manual doors so you have to struggle with your cases up the stairs. Reception staff were completely unfriendly and unhelpful. Décor throughout the whole hotel is tired, shabby and outdated. Bedroom was very dark, poorly lit, cramped, with ineffective air conditioning. Window looked out onto the back forecourt that housed all the ventilation units for the hotel; making it extremely noisy at night. Bathroom was cramped and shoddy, sink was loose, nowhere to put soap -no soap dish, plug in wash basin didn't work, shower doors and ledges were mouldy.
Breakfast was very poor quality and not really worth bothering with. Staff waiting to clear the tables were unfriendly, didn't have a smile to share with anyone.
No other facilities at this hotel; only breakfast room and bedrooms.
Rome is a great place to be but this hotel is nothing more than a flop house.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Already when entering the hotel I had a bad feeling, because the building is very dark inside. It's also very old and there is no charming decoration or lighting whatsoever wich could make the entrance more inviting. When I checked in the staff was not particularly friendly and did not even smile. The hall with the reception looks OK, but my room (single bed) was a catastrophe:

1. Extremely dark. The view through the very small window was to the shaft between the buildings which meant almost no daylight ever came through.
2. Very old and smelly interior. The furniture looked very cheap, old and jumbled together.
3. Broken and moldy objects. The mirror was cracked, the sink had a crack in it, the shower had mold at the rims, and one of the shower doors was broken so that it would not close properly.
3. Tiny. There was very little space which in combination with the darkness made the room very depressing. Also the shower doors opened only to such a small gap that everyone who is not super-slim will have problems getting in and out of the shower (I had to access it sideways while pulling in my stomach.)

The only reason for not rating this hotel as terrible is the fact that the wifi is free, there is a safe vor valuable objects, and the location is very central. But that's not worth putting up with unfriendly staff and sleeping in a smelly, dark room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Franziska B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Rooms were relatively clean, although quite small for two double beds. The elevator is old and frankly useless if you have two+ people with luggage. The breakfast is subpar, and even though it was included and just the typical water/coffee/juice cereal/ham/cheese/croissants, the quality of these could definitely have been much better.

PROS
-Internet worked in the rooms
-Very convenient location, located 5-10 minutes walking from the Termini station, where we arrived from Fiumicino airport, and from which we departed for the next leg of our journey. Similarly, being close to Termini, allowed you to walk to other sites (relatively) close to Via del Corso, Pantheon, Piazza Navona, or gave you the option to take the metro to further away stops.
-70Euro/night total for two people, not too bad for Rome

CONS
-Receptionists all VERY apathetic, do not really seem to care about the customers
-Air-conditioning did not work until our last night (out of 5) - it wasn't too hot during the nights, but it would have been nice to have during the day. "Management" declined our request to switch rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Napoli-phile21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Essentially, a 3- star hotel located in Central Rome, suitable for low budget travelers/tourists wishing to see the many historic sites and other attractions on foot or by using the Metro lines in Rome.
Fairly decent clean rooms with attached bathrooms, hot water showers and below par air conditioning.
Cold buffet, sparse breakfasts with average quality food consisting of two cereals, juice, breads and ham, cheese,and an assortment of rolls repeated daily.
Location is excellent, 50 yards from the Metro station and half mile from the Main Train station to where you can drag your luggage on wheels.
Several small eateries (mostly Italian & 2 chinese, 1 Japanese) on nearby streets and a well stocked grocery store four blocks away.
Ancient, small elevator which stops operating when residents forget to close the doors manually when they leave! Try and get a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor. 4th and 5th floor residents will have to climb up & down the stairs several times in a day!
No security against theft!!
My wife's handbag with purse was lifted by an outsider thief from her chair in the dining room on the 2nd floor of the hotel when she got up to refill her cup of coffee during breakfast. The CCTV recorded the entire episode showing the thief walking into the dining room, placing his raincoat on the chair with handbag, lifting his raincoat with the handbag and walking away; all within one minute time!! An FIR filed with the Rome Police recorded the incident and despite the video clip provided by hotel, no action whatsoever was taken by the police.
In Rome, please be well aware of pickpockets, thieves, burglars and purse snatchers at all times, especially on the streets, trains and metro lines. Keep your money and valuables safely tucked within your clothes and not visible from outside.

Room Tip: Stay on the lower floors because the elevator does not operate effectively and you will need to take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Panditashok7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We spent 2 days too long here. The rooms were dirty, the basin cracked without a plug. Schooltour children were running around making a noice late at night. We found bed bugs in 2 beds, advised managed ment who spryed the room, not offering an alternative room. Bugs found again the following night. Management did not seem to care as it was a weekend. Will never return

Room Tip: If you can find an alternative accomodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Augustea
Hotel Augustea
#596 of 1,273 in Rome
332 reviews
Esquilino
Nardizzi Americana
Nardizzi Americana
#261 of 1,273 in Rome
738 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Texas
Hotel Texas
#700 of 1,273 in Rome
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Gabriella
Hotel Gabriella
#985 of 1,273 in Rome
433 reviews
Esquilino
Suite Dreams
Suite Dreams
#113 of 1,273 in Rome
1,519 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Patria
Hotel Patria
#489 of 1,273 in Rome
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Repubblica Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Repubblica Hotel

Address: Via Nazionale 251, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,154 of 1,273 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £34 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Repubblica Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Repubblica Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing