We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hotel for the price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pinewood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pinewood Hotel
Ranked #480 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Alberta
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Decent hotel for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Just stayed here in a family room that sleeps 3. Hotel is very clean, only exception being black mold in the shower. Excellent breakfast with a decent selection of scrambled eggs, breads, croissants, sweet pastries, cereals and multiple kinds of coffee and juice. Better than most hotel breakfasts I've had elsewhere. The main problem with the hotel is its location, in a rather run down neighbourhood. Its a brisk 10 minute walk to the nearest subway station, then about 4 stops to the Vatican or 8 stops to the core. The subway is very cheap and trains come frequently, and never felt unsafe, just be smart with your belongings. If you have mobility problems or want to be in the midst of the old city then this hotel is not for you. It is a good option for those who don't mind exploring Rome a bit and you will have a nice quiet hotel at a great price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunlver95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    255
    156
    47
    48
See reviews for
182
228
22
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We spent 2 nights at this hotel. It was well located to start a visit of Roma with a bus stop located just in front and a metro station not too far by walk. The room was quite good for the price we paid; clean and comfortable.
The staff was also very helpful by giving us indications and advice for our 1 day visit of Roma. We definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samuel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Delaware, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We were part of a group booked at this hotel with our Italy 9 day tour. Our room was very small, but clean and adequate. The hotel was located outside the center of the city. There were a few little take out Italian eateries with good food nearby. Breakfast was the usual "Italian Continental". You could walk to the Metro, 10 minutes away. The outdoor areas were nice and furnished like it were indoors. Beautiful terrace on the roof which we didn't know about at first.

Room Tip: Choose a room that does not face the busy road it is located on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend took me here recently for our anniversary. We arrived approx 10pm. The outside looks really nice with all nice lights outside. My boyfriend has booked a superior room and we explained that to the receptionist. He wasn't particularly nice and just gave us a key. When we got into the room it was clearly not what a superior room would look like. It was a double bed in a small room and that was it. He went back down and explained again that he had booked a superior room. The man gave him another key for another room. We went to that room to which it was bigger but was 2single beds pushed together to be a double. He went back downstairs to explain that that was not what he had booked. The man eventually gave us another key to which it turned out to look like a superior was! Although it wasn't so superior! We noticed that the jets in the small bath were not working. We had given up speaking to the man downstairs as this was the 3rd time we had been moved. We spoke to another slightly more helpful man in the morning who told us it would be fixed. We went into Rome for the day, to get to rome it was a 10 min walk away to the train station then you had to go about 7stops change and then another 2stops that would get u to the colosseum. Rome is a beautiful city, full of history and of cause the lovely food!! We got back to the hotel after a long day and what a surprise the taps were not fixed nor did they have any notes. This time there was a lady on and she was much more helpful and friendlier. She apologised and gave us 2 keys to 2 different rooms to see which we liked best, at last we actually found a working superior room!!! She have us free wifi for the incovience. When we checked out the next day, the first man we continuly gave us the wrong room was on again. We said that we were not happy because of the rooms yesterday to which he shrugged his shoulders and said there was nothing he could do! Customer service or what!!! In a nut shell go to rome but not this hotel!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beaverairlines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niteroi, RJ
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

It is located in a very good place with free parking. The good point is that it is not in the confused and noisy areas of Rome. There are restaurants near the hotel. The accommodation was very clean, spacious and well furnished. Breakfast was regular. Front desk was very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Artemis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gennaro G, Direttore at Pinewood Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear guest,
I would like to thank you for your kind , synthetic but helpful review, where you appreciateds the quite of our location and the cleanliness of our room

I am very glad that you found that our reception staff was helpful.
Our aim is to anticipate the need of our clientele , every suggestion is welcome and it help us to increase the standard of our hotel.
Looking forward to welcome you here again at the pinewood hotel Rome

Best regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We chose to stay at this hotel because it was decently located to Metro subway and busses (took only about 10 min walk to Metro and then another 10 mins to Vatican). However, the hotel is in a pretty run down area and can be an uncomfortable walk if you are walking back to the hotel later at night. There are a few shops open later at night and there would always be a group of men drinking and hanging out on the street. It can be pretty intimidating if you are a small/young group of tourists. We were pretty surprised that it was a 4-star hotel but if comparing to the neighbourhood that it is in, then it could be seen as a 4-star. The staff was friendly but the hotel seems pretty dated. The room service was excellent - they were very good at cleaning our room. Our stay was for 3 nights. The breakfast was decent. Another thing to mention was that we booked the room off of Expedia and we booked a room that said "Free wireless internet". When we got to the hotel, they told us that we had to pay for internet (it was about 3 euros an hour or 20 euros unlimited) but I had to show them my booking confirmation and how it included the wireless internet. After that, they understood and they gave us the password.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eunice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Quite and tranquil, the Pinewood Hotel is located within walking distance to the metro for easy access to all the sights. Only real concern was the tight bathroom quarters. money can be saved staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
The Church Palace
#449 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Raganelli Hotel
#448 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel delle Province
Hotel delle Province
#278 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Dock Suites Hotel
Dock Suites Hotel
#218 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Hotel Zone
#438 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Hotel Artis
#360 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinewood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinewood Hotel

Property: Pinewood Hotel
Address: Via della Pineta Sacchetti 43, 00167 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#245 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#293 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pinewood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Rome just a few stops away from the Vatican City, the Rome Hotel Pinewood shows itself in a panoramic position facing over the Sacchetti Pinewood.Strategically located only 5 minutes walking distance away from the Cornelia subway station and bus terminal, the Rome Hotel Pinewood is equally close to the university Policlinico Gemelli, S.Carlo di Nancy-IDI and to the Olimpic Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Southall Travel so you can book your Pinewood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinewood Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing