We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, people, price”
Review of Giampy Guest House

Giampy Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Giampy Guest House
Ranked #2,402 of 3,620 Rome B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great location, people, price”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We booked Giampy's via Cross Pollinate just 5 days before we stayed there. We were lucky to find two nights available in August, which we needed before we went on a cruise. The communication was great, we knew exactly how to get there when we landed at FCO, and navigated around cheaply and easily the two days we were in town. Second story balcony overlooks a street full of restaurants. A/c works great, detached bathroom was totally fine. Fridge has breakfast items to grab at your leisure. Only two complaints: bed was a bit hard for my liking, and there was no ice. Neither affected our trip and we would stay again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeltaFlyGirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    22
    9
    3
    7
See reviews for
10
25
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our five nights at Giampy! Our room was clean, tidy and spacious with everything we needed for our stay. The breakfast at Giampy was ideal, consisting of breads, cakes and yoghurt as well as tea (english breakfast and early grey) coffee and cappuccino. The location of the B&B is ideal, situated a two minute walk to Termini station and a twenty minute walk to the Colosseum. There are also a number of restaurants on the doorstep. There was a free safe, WiFi and aircon in the B&B which was an unexpected bonus given the price we had paid for our stay. We were provided with a detailed map of Rome on our arrival which proved invaluable during our stay. The staff at the B&B were very friendly and Andreas was only a phone call away should we have needed him. If we were to return to Rome we would definitely stay at Giampy and would highly recommend it. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brooke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay in this little B & B. It is very well located, within 5 minutes walk of the central Rome Terminus and within easy reach of the main attractions either on foot, or by the easy to use Metro. Andreas was extremely helpful and welcoming. There was a bit of a mix up with our arrival time so when we buzzed for entry no-one answered. We called the telephone number and Andreas was there within 4 minutes to let us in and apologised for the mix-up. We enjoyed a free home made limoncello (lovely!) while Andreas marked the best restaurants on the map and told us about the room. Although there is no staffed reception, Andreas is frequently around and only a phone call away if you need him. There are lots of good restarurants on the door step or within a ten minute walk. Meals are priced reasonably at around 10 Euros for a main course which was cheaper than we expected to pay.

Our room was spacious, clean and well equipped. We had a private bathroom. Some of the rooms you have to access the bathroom via the central hallway, but it is such a small B & B we never saw anyone else (even though it was full) so I don't think this would be a problem. Bed was very comfortable and air conditioning worked well. Our room was very quiet and we had a good nights sleep every night despite being in the centre of Rome.

The breakfast is simply bread, jam, nutella, honey, yoghurts and juice. The bread is kept fresh (not stale as described in other reviews) and there was always plenty of milk to make tea and coffee. You have access to the communal fridge and microwave at all times so you can buy/take your own food for breakfast if you wanted. You can either eat your breakfast in the communal area after 08:30 or your room if you wanted at any time, which I liked. Take your own tea bags if you want a traditional English brew though, Earl Grey was the only tea available.

The only downside I would say is that there was no English channels on the TV, not even BBC world news/sky news! When you have had a long day in the heat, it is nice to chill and listen to something on the TV, but there was nothing. Only minor thing though.

Getting from Ciampino, Rome airport to the Termini was extremely easy by Terravision bus service. As soon as you come out of the arrivals area, there is a Terravision café where you buy your bus tickets (cost us 8 Euro return on special offer) and then you are straight out to the bus stop. Takes about 40 minutes to get into Rome dependent on traffic. There are other bus services though if there is a long wait for the next Terravision bus so check them out before you buy your ticket. When you get off the bus, go into the bus/train station and walk all the way through to the other side and you will then be on the correct side for the guest house.

All in, this is a lovely, clean affordable place to stay, well located for the main sights and we will definitely be back! Thank you Andreas!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank looneyleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We arrive at the B&B a bit late, since our transportation from Barcelona was delayed. You have to take the left exit (we were taking the right one) to reach the place and go straight.

The host was waiting for us for 3 hours, he is very systematic and organized. The room is spacious and the bathroom is clean.

There were some bread and spread also, yogurt and juices, the area surrounded by nice restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qeqe75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Welcomed by Andreas with homemade Limoncello, a map of Rome (invaluable during our stay) and advice about where to eat the best pizza, pasta and gelato. Loved our stay here, our room was large and spacious and had a balcony with a view of the Basilica di Santa Maria Maggiore. Several restaurants just downstairs and many more to choose from within a short walk. The trams are a little noisy and Rome definitely never sleeps, however, the city is truly beautiful and this B&B is within easy walking distance of all the major tourist attractions and the Termini. My family and I would definitely stay here again, soon with any luck!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Located on a great little street about five minutes walk from Termini train station and easy to find.

Our room was spacious and we were lucky to have our bathroom in the room, some rooms had their private bathrooms across the hall. The room was clean and bright and the bathroom was spotless.

We got a warm welcome and told all we needed to know about the accommodation. We also got a map and some good tips of where to go to eat and drink. There are about four restaurants immediately outside the guest house too if you don't want to venture too far. It's also conveniently located for walking to all the sites.

The only real downside was the breakfast. The bread was put out the night before meaning that by morning it was stale. This you ate with either honey, Nutella or jam. There was a hot water dispenser and you were supplied with instant coffee and tea bags but no milk. There was also cold orange juice and yogurts. On the plus side you can store things in the communal fridge.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michellew1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

This was a great B&B, with real food for breakfast and in-room coffee service, a nice touch. We had three rooms with ensuites, there were a few more with shared bath and a common area to meet other guests and have the breakfast, so budgetable for everyone. Location was excellent with walking distance to just about everything special in Rome. Our street was limited to street cars, which was a nice tourist touch. The street below had a number of restaurants, one in particular, Nuova Stella, on the ground floor was absolutely excellent for lunch and dinner. Beds were very comfortable and srteet noise could be eliminated by closing the window and turning on the air conditioning for a solid sleep. Lots of hot water for showers, also a nice surprize in Rome. Our hosts greated us with a shot of grappa and lemonchello and we had time with them to discuss our plans and to hear their suggestions, which were well received and turned out to be excellent. An easy walk from the train station or airport bus shuttle services I recommend this spot highly.

Room Tip: Use the AC for white noise and a solid sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Millerose
Hotel Millerose
#633 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella
Esquilino
Hotel Sweet Home
Hotel Sweet Home
#185 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel California
Hotel California
#342 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Esquilino
Serena Hotel
Serena Hotel
#389 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Esquilino
69 Manin Street De Luxe Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giampy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giampy Guest House

Property: Giampy Guest House
Address: Via Daniele Manin 58a, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,402 of 3,620 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Giampy Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giampy Guest House Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing