We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small But Quaint”
Review of Hotel Stendhal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Stendhal
Ranked #132 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Placentia, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Small But Quaint”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This is more of a boutique hotel; the staff was small but very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was included, and the breakfast was not abundant, but everything was fresh and the staff would prepare something special for you upon request.

The only complaint is the size of the room; we could barely fit our luggage in there, and we had to take turns/step aside if we both wanted to move around the room at the same time. The staff was very willing to switch us to another room, and even showed us what the larger room looked like, but it wasn't available until our second night. Once we were settled in, we didn't want to take the time away from touring to repack everything and move to another room. We did, however, appreciate the staff's willingness to accommodate us.

The location was great, within walking distance of many of the sights such as the Piazza di Trevi and the Piazza della Rotunda.

I would recommend staying here, just request a large room.

Room Tip: Request a large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear customer,
Many thanks for your review.
Our Manager every days reminds us that the real heart of a hotel is the customer, and that a good staff can cover the difficulties and the problems that a structure could have.
Every day the entire staff has only one goal, to satisfy the customers to make their stay pleasant and relaxing.
We are happy to have made goal in your memories.
All the staff would like to thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    331
    86
    33
    28
See reviews for
130
470
46
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We booked (and paid) for 3 nights at Hotel Stendhal. Upon arrival we were told that there was a problem with our reservation and that the room had been double booked. Because of this, they were putting us up in another hotel. They apologized and stated that they would upgrade our room for the other 2 nights. We then had to carry all of our luggage 3 blocks uphill to the other hotel. The other hotel was terrible - rude staff, had to pay for internet, shower leaked and soaked one of our bags, etc). The next day we checked into Stendhal and were given a standard room (no open rooms to upgrade). During our stay we ran into 3 other couples at Stendhal who had the same thing happen. I spoke to a travel agent who informed us that this is common for this hotel. We paid $385 and they put us into a hotel that cost $250 and pocketed the difference. All 4 couples requested a refund of the difference and were rudely told that it is not possible. The staff became very rude to all of us after we asked for a refund. I have never had a worse experience in all of my travels.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank davew287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HtlStendhal, Proprietario at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Customer,
We regret a lot for what happened during your stay in our Hotel.
For the Stendhal the relocation in other hotels is, of course, a necessity dictated by unpredictable limit structural issues, or, in your case, from an irresolvable error of our agencies.
In these cases, we try to find Hotels of equal category, stars and ranking, with the same services and especially very close to the Stendhal.

In your case, unfortunately, an assignment error of a large family by an agency, has created an overbooking of more rooms for several days.

With regard to the refund requested, we reconfirm you, as well as previously agreed, that we remain waiting to be contacted by you to define the modalities of he refund.

We apologize again for the incident, but we hope to still have our guest again to changes your ugly impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stendhal Hotel's best part was the breakfast room for me. As a writer, I found that room really magical. So having a start there with your cappuccino and your Macbook is perfect.

Location is great with a metro station close by, spanish steps a 5 minute walk as was caffe Greco and Keats-Shelley House and staff is friendly too. The only issue I had was this sound during the night that we couldn't figure out what it was and of course like many rooms in the city in Europe, the size but that is to be expected.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smeeta27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Customer,
we are happy to have found your opinion and your review.
The best description and the best advertising is the opinion by guests who stayed at the hotel.
Your review is our best satisfaction.
Thanks to all the staff.

The only trouble of the night sound was solve !
An alarm of an ampty house adjacent to the hotel is silenced, I hope forever.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

What a magic hotel, clean, convenient we were asked when we checked in if it was our first time immediately given a map of the must see places. Very clean hotel, extra towels were given on request, it would be nice in Rome if there were some laundry facilities for washing on the move or at least a clothes line in the bathroom.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Susanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Customer,
we always like to be able to remember you the Stendhal after your departure.
The experience and the reviews is the best advertising we can get.
Would like to thank you from all the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

My friends and I treated ourselves to a stay at the Stendhal as part of our 50th birthday celebrations. We were not disappointed. The hotel is in a great location and is right on a bus route. Sightseeing and shopping couldn't have been easier from the hotel whether on public transport or on foot. The staff in the hotel were very friendly and professional and couldn't do enough for us. They were always smiling and polite and happy to help us plan our day when required. The rooms were tastefully decorated and exceptionally clean throughout our stay. Fresh towels daily and a great shower. Comfy beds with great pillows. Breakfast was delicious with a variety of delights available each morning. The service throughout our stay was first class and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Customer,
That's sound good
We like the music of the good review, for that, always, we try to improve us and our service.
Your experience is our best pleasure.
Me and all the staff awaiting your next stay in the Stendhal.
Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Greece, Greece
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2013

As we travel as a couple we found Stendhal Hotel beautifull. Clean, nicely decorated, cozy best location and we loved the staff. Since we spent most of our time out at that lovely city,we didn't had the chance to stay in the hotel a lot, but we loved breakfast and we enjoyed our room! Definately we will come back!

Room Tip: Try the rooms withe privite veranda!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lexie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Customer,
we are glad to welcome your opinion about the Hotel and the services.
The whole staff thanks You and waits for Your next trip to Roma.
Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed on our way back through Rome after a cruise. The reality is, we thought that this hotel would be a Mecca for relaxation... Unfortunately it wasn't the case. The service was friendly but the air conditioning was not cold in our room and the mattress was uncomfortable without something covering it aside from the sheet so you could feel the quilting of the mattress. The shower temperature was hot and then cold making for an active game of hide and seek while shampooing... And perhaps it was a very hot day in rome (the gelato store we visited lost power bc ofbthebheat!) The bellman were very helpful as was the concierge but I would not return.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank edh56696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Many thanks for your opinion,
the A/C is comparable with the 40° in Roma during your stay and with 70% of the humidity.
We never recevied any complain for our air condition.
And really our clients requests us, many times, to degrade the temperature.
Regarding the shower we are very sorry; unfortunately the problem was not related to your mixer or to your shower/bathtub, but to the entire floor. In fact it was necessary awaited the intervention of a technician to fix the problem, unfortunately the staff of the Stendhal could not fix the fault.
We love to receive only congratulations for the Hotel and services, but certainly a not positive review can help to improve us and the Hotel.
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,261 in Rome
2,927 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Mascagni
Hotel Mascagni
#148 of 1,261 in Rome
939 reviews
Trevi
Hotel delle Nazioni
Hotel delle Nazioni
#251 of 1,261 in Rome
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
White Hotel
White Hotel
#139 of 1,261 in Rome
996 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Degli Artisti
Hotel Degli Artisti
#37 of 1,261 in Rome
168 reviews
Colonna
Albergo Ottocento
Albergo Ottocento
#269 of 1,261 in Rome
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stendhal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stendhal

Property: Hotel Stendhal
Address: Via del Tritone 113, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#196 Business Hotel in Rome
#217 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#286 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Stendhal 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel was opened several years ago and has maintained its reputation as one of Rome's hippest and trendiest hotels. The location in the city centre within a short few minutes walk from Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, The Pantheon and ALL of Rome's most important monuments. Our rooms are maintained regularly and a rich buffet breakfast is included in the room rate.Finally, FREE WI FI internet throughout the hotel's public areas and rooms complete the services on offer at the Boutique Hotel Stendhal in Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Stendhal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stendhal Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing