We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Fantastic Choice”
Review of Hotel Stendhal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Stendhal
Ranked #151 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Robertson, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Choice”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This was a perfect choice for our visit in Rome. The reception staff made us very welcome when we arrived and all spoke english which was wonderful. Continental breakfast includedwhich was very nice and the decor beautiful. Our room overlooked the main street and was not noisy when the french doors were closed but we had the opportunity of watching what was happening.
A major plus was being close to the double decker tour bus, railway and Trevie Fountain.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Customer,
we are glad to belong to your beautiful memory of your stay in Rome.
The Stendhal Hotel and all of its staff thanks you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    321
    85
    31
    28
See reviews for
117
449
45
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Could not be a better location. So easy to walk to many of the sights such as Trevi fountain and Spanish steps. Also just 2 minutes from a metro station for things afield.

Our room was stylish and very clean. Hotel staff were all very helpful, polite and always smiling.

Breakfast is a buffet with cereals, pastries, yoghurt, cheese and meats. It is served in a beautiful salon which is very pretty.

All in all a delightful hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Penny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Customer,
many thanks for your review.
All the staff thanks you so much.
We await your next stay in the Stendhal.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This hotel had a really nice interior, rooms and breakfast service. The location was good as it was near Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, and close walk to Piazza Navona.

They were overbooked our first night and after 20 hours of travel moved us across town to another place for ONE night of our 3 night reservation which made me cranky as it was the first night of our honeymoon. To be fair night one was on a separate reservation as we decided to come a day early and maybe they just didn't pay attention - but still. Not what you want to walk in to after traveling to Rome from LA. One other slight complaint was the hotel/room they sent us to was NOT worth what they charged me for the Stendhal, it was a lot more run down and not as well appointed.

Overall I'd stay here again though.

Room Tip: street view rooms are very cool - but noisy at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Customer,
Thank You, thank You and thank You.
Thank You, because in a few lines you have described the Stendhal Hotel.
Thank You, with a thousand of apologizes, because the welcome was not the best, but You still left a positive review.
Hopefully because You understood that overbooking is only a coincidence and not an activity that nobility us.
Thank You because: "Overall I'd stay here again though."
We await you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

After traveling by train, we finally arrived at the hotel. It is a quaint hotel with all the necessities of a stay away from home. Rooms are very small as well as the elevator (we walked). I can't say enough, though, about where you are situated. We had a street side room. I believe you have to request that as the true absorption of being in the city of Rome is felt this way. The few times we were in the room, I spent at our window watching the activities. Except for words in Italian, you would think you were staying in Manhattan. Bar across the street from hotel is hoping into wee hours but just adds to the ambiance. Breakfast was very good and quaint as it is located in their lobby/bar/restaurant. We enjoyed a late night cocktail in their bar after each very long day of sightseeing. My husband and brother spent one night enjoying scotch while the girls shopped! Would go back especially for the location.

Room Tip: Rooms with street views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maureen1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Customer,
Thank you for your review.
The Stendhal is in the heart of Rome, at the center of all activities.
However, the location is not the only value of the Stendhal, as evidenced by your review, service, breakfast, bar and lounge, but also the cleanliness and furnishings of the rooms, super comfortable although small.
We hope to welcome you soon to offer all the rest.
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

PROS: The location is excellent! Lots of city vibes, people watching, shopping & great bistros to have a light lunch or afternoon coffee & snack. The staff is kind, helpful & friendly. The building has a wonderful atmosphere. I love the bar - not the "bar scene" just the actual bar itself. Very retro funky fixture that I am certain I could use somewhere in my own home!?!
CONS: The elevator is very small. (On our 2nd day we found that it was broken & after that I used the stairs to reach our room on the 3rd floor. I couldn't imagine getting stuck in that little box if it perhaps broke while I was in it next time!) The rooms are adequate. The beds were comfortable & all our needs were met. The shower is fine but it needed some serious attention to cleaning. The TV guide showed several channels that were "english" language but we got NONE of these channels so the TV was never used.
All and all I would stay here again & recommend this hotel to friends or family.

Room Tip: We stay in 303 which was on the street. As long as you close the shades, windows & drapes we ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yellojelloTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Customer,
thank you very much for your review and your opinion.
Of course we are glad for your PRO.
About the CONS, we are very sorry for your bad luck.
During only two / three days in September, we had the break Modulator TV and we had to wait for the new part.
The lift, control and smooth operation, was standing just two hours.
Every day we try to improve our service and the structure; thanks for your opinions check and verify the performance of Hotel
We hope to welcome you as soon as possible.
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placentia, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This is more of a boutique hotel; the staff was small but very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was included, and the breakfast was not abundant, but everything was fresh and the staff would prepare something special for you upon request.

The only complaint is the size of the room; we could barely fit our luggage in there, and we had to take turns/step aside if we both wanted to move around the room at the same time. The staff was very willing to switch us to another room, and even showed us what the larger room looked like, but it wasn't available until our second night. Once we were settled in, we didn't want to take the time away from touring to repack everything and move to another room. We did, however, appreciate the staff's willingness to accommodate us.

The location was great, within walking distance of many of the sights such as the Piazza di Trevi and the Piazza della Rotunda.

I would recommend staying here, just request a large room.

Room Tip: Request a large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear customer,
Many thanks for your review.
Our Manager every days reminds us that the real heart of a hotel is the customer, and that a good staff can cover the difficulties and the problems that a structure could have.
Every day the entire staff has only one goal, to satisfy the customers to make their stay pleasant and relaxing.
We are happy to have made goal in your memories.
All the staff would like to thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We booked (and paid) for 3 nights at Hotel Stendhal. Upon arrival we were told that there was a problem with our reservation and that the room had been double booked. Because of this, they were putting us up in another hotel. They apologized and stated that they would upgrade our room for the other 2 nights. We then had to carry all of our luggage 3 blocks uphill to the other hotel. The other hotel was terrible - rude staff, had to pay for internet, shower leaked and soaked one of our bags, etc). The next day we checked into Stendhal and were given a standard room (no open rooms to upgrade). During our stay we ran into 3 other couples at Stendhal who had the same thing happen. I spoke to a travel agent who informed us that this is common for this hotel. We paid $385 and they put us into a hotel that cost $250 and pocketed the difference. All 4 couples requested a refund of the difference and were rudely told that it is not possible. The staff became very rude to all of us after we asked for a refund. I have never had a worse experience in all of my travels.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank davew287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HtlStendhal, Proprietario at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Customer,
We regret a lot for what happened during your stay in our Hotel.
For the Stendhal the relocation in other hotels is, of course, a necessity dictated by unpredictable limit structural issues, or, in your case, from an irresolvable error of our agencies.
In these cases, we try to find Hotels of equal category, stars and ranking, with the same services and especially very close to the Stendhal.

In your case, unfortunately, an assignment error of a large family by an agency, has created an overbooking of more rooms for several days.

With regard to the refund requested, we reconfirm you, as well as previously agreed, that we remain waiting to be contacted by you to define the modalities of he refund.

We apologize again for the incident, but we hope to still have our guest again to changes your ugly impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Stendhal Dependance Luxury Suites
Trevi
Hotel Dei Borgognoni
Hotel Dei Borgognoni
#82 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
White Hotel
White Hotel
#144 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Trevi
Hotel delle Nazioni
Hotel delle Nazioni
#230 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
Colonna
Albergo Ottocento
Albergo Ottocento
#251 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stendhal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stendhal

Property: Hotel Stendhal
Address: Via del Tritone 113, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#196 Business Hotel in Rome
#217 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#286 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Stendhal 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel was opened several years ago and has maintained its reputation as one of Rome's hippest and trendiest hotels. The location in the city centre within a short few minutes walk from Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, The Pantheon and ALL of Rome's most important monuments. Our rooms are maintained regularly and a rich buffet breakfast is included in the room rate.Finally, FREE WI FI internet throughout the hotel's public areas and rooms complete the services on offer at the Boutique Hotel Stendhal in Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Stendhal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stendhal Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing