We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, good prices”
Review of Hotel Stendhal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Stendhal
Ranked #95 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Stayed for seven nights, on our first trip to Rome. Could not have picked a better hotel for our needs. Close to the Metro, close to everything historic, around the corner from Colline Emiliane, which became our favorite restaurant.

Room Tip: The free breakfast is great and the hotel WiFi, also free, is fast and reliable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rjmcgarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear Customer,
We are pleased that during your long stay you have met only positive aspects.
We are glad to have left a good memory of Rome and its services, also, especially of the Stendhal Hotel and our location.
We look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (972)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

335 - 341 of 972 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2013

I stayed at the Stendhal for 7 days. I was a solo traveller to the city and so I booked a single room, but I was upgraded to a double room, which made me very happy! The rooms are average size for Europe, bed was comfortable and bathroom was big enough; there was plenty of counter space around the sink for my toiletries. The closets were big with enough drawers and hangers to fit all my clothes and shoes.
The room faced the back of the hotel, now while the view isn't so great, it is very quiet. Don't under estimate it, Via del Tritone is a very busy street, so rooms facing the street may not be too good if your a light sleeper. The room was made up by housekeeping at least twice a day. Every time I returned to my room, I had fresh towels, so that was really nice.

Issues:
The safe in the room was incredibly small; in terms of width, it wasn't wider than my passport, so not good if you're bringing a laptop or an ipad, they definitely won't fit.
And the breakfast buffet, which was very delicious and always had plenty of food, unfortunately was not ready on time. Often it wouldn't be until 7:30am till the staff had finished preparing the buffet. So not too good if you're an early riser or have to catch an early morning train out of Rome like I did.

The people at the hotel are amazing and very helpful. Special mention to Marco, i think thats his name. (Bald guy at the front desk.) He was really helpful and friendly during my stay, the best concierge I've met throughout my travels.

Rome is a beautiful city and its certainly better to walk to the sites than to take the metro; the hotel is within walking distances to everything, Vatican in 20 min, Spanish steps in 10min, Trevi fountain in under 5, colosseum in 30 min. And when you walk, you stroll through the streets, stop in a shop, have an espresso at a caffe and just soak in the beauty of Rome. But if you must take the metro, its only a few steps away from the hotel.

Overall, I had an amazing time at the Stendhal, and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear Customer,
we are glad that the Stendhal Hotel and all the staff have left a good memory of your holidays.
It's very important to read the reviews of guests who stay in the Hotel for long periods because they can see and taste the service and the room in every aspect.
It is true! Our safe was born before the arrival of the iPad and similars, but we have other safes in the reception and a big secure storage on request.
Our breakfast starts at 7.00; but some times we have to serve the breakfast or the room-service before the opening, this creates delay.
However, we pointed to our staff the respect of the schedules.
The Stendhal and all the staff thanks you for noticing all of our work.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We have spent 8 nights in Stendhal hotel in Rome.
We had a perfect experience. The hotel is intimate, very elegant, clean, designed, the service is very good and friendly.
Room service makes up the room every time you leave the room, even several times a day.
The people at the reception are very helpfull, recommanded on very good restaurants and places.
It was a very positive experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dalit L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Customer,
thank you very much for your travel experience in the Stendhal.
You had a long stay here, so your description is total guarantee of the Stendhal and of our services.
All the staff thanks you.
We look forward to welcome for your next stay in Rome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Me and my husband spent 4 nights in this amazing hotel.the rooms are big, very clean, the bathroom also.we were in our honeymoon and in the second evening they surprised us with a bottle of champagne...the cleaning lady came twice a day so the bathroom and room were spotless.the receptionists were very friendly and helpfull.the breakfast is very good.in 5 minutes by feet you can reach fontana di trevi.overall, a great experience

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Customer,
A proverb in talia says: "in the small barrels there is the good wine !"
We are glad when a client discovers us.
Thank you for having reported your experience in the Stendhal Hotel, underlining our special services.
Me and all the Hotel staff thanks you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This was a perfect choice for our visit in Rome. The reception staff made us very welcome when we arrived and all spoke english which was wonderful. Continental breakfast includedwhich was very nice and the decor beautiful. Our room overlooked the main street and was not noisy when the french doors were closed but we had the opportunity of watching what was happening.
A major plus was being close to the double decker tour bus, railway and Trevie Fountain.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Customer,
we are glad to belong to your beautiful memory of your stay in Rome.
The Stendhal Hotel and all of its staff thanks you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Could not be a better location. So easy to walk to many of the sights such as Trevi fountain and Spanish steps. Also just 2 minutes from a metro station for things afield.

Our room was stylish and very clean. Hotel staff were all very helpful, polite and always smiling.

Breakfast is a buffet with cereals, pastries, yoghurt, cheese and meats. It is served in a beautiful salon which is very pretty.

All in all a delightful hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Penny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Customer,
many thanks for your review.
All the staff thanks you so much.
We await your next stay in the Stendhal.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This hotel had a really nice interior, rooms and breakfast service. The location was good as it was near Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, and close walk to Piazza Navona.

They were overbooked our first night and after 20 hours of travel moved us across town to another place for ONE night of our 3 night reservation which made me cranky as it was the first night of our honeymoon. To be fair night one was on a separate reservation as we decided to come a day early and maybe they just didn't pay attention - but still. Not what you want to walk in to after traveling to Rome from LA. One other slight complaint was the hotel/room they sent us to was NOT worth what they charged me for the Stendhal, it was a lot more run down and not as well appointed.

Overall I'd stay here again though.

Room Tip: street view rooms are very cool - but noisy at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emily V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Customer,
Thank You, thank You and thank You.
Thank You, because in a few lines you have described the Stendhal Hotel.
Thank You, with a thousand of apologizes, because the welcome was not the best, but You still left a positive review.
Hopefully because You understood that overbooking is only a coincidence and not an activity that nobility us.
Thank You because: "Overall I'd stay here again though."
We await you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Stendhal Dependance Luxury Suites
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,272 in Rome
3,054 reviews
Colonna
Albergo Ottocento
Albergo Ottocento
#268 of 1,272 in Rome
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Degli Artisti
Hotel Degli Artisti
#26 of 1,272 in Rome
242 reviews
Trevi
Relais Trevi 95 Boutique Hotel
Esquilino
Hotel Mascagni
Hotel Mascagni
#136 of 1,272 in Rome
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stendhal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stendhal

Address: Via del Tritone 113, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#196 Business Hotel in Rome
#217 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £65 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Stendhal 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel was opened several years ago and has maintained its reputation as one of Rome's hippest and trendiest hotels. The location in the city centre within a short few minutes walk from Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, The Pantheon and ALL of Rome's most important monuments. Our rooms are maintained regularly and a rich buffet breakfast is included in the room rate.Finally, FREE WI FI internet throughout the hotel's public areas and rooms complete the services on offer at the Boutique Hotel Stendhal in Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Stendhal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stendhal Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing