We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Stendhal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Stendhal
Ranked #152 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We were so please with our week long stay at the Stendhal Hotel. When we first book, I was a little nervous because it is sometimes tough to judge by photos on the internet. But I knew we had made the right decision from the moment we walked in the door. It is a small boutique hotel with very attentive and friendly staff. By the end of the week everyone knew us. The room was clean and a comfortable size. The location was so perfect. Easily accessible to attractions and the metro, but at the same time a step away from the hectic outdoor tourist congestion of busier locations.Our young adult kids loved the free Wi-fi. Morning breakfasts were a perfect start to the day. We would definitely go back and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMattice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Customer,
Simply Thanks for your special review.
We are glad to welcoming you soonest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    319
    84
    31
    28
See reviews for
116
446
45
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

The hotel is small, cozy, tastefully decorated and very comfortable. It's very well located, the staff was kind and breakfast was very good. We enjoyed our stay and we would go back when in Rome. Internet was ok.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank semf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Customer,
We await for your next stay with open arms.
Tasting the Hotel you know what the others lose.
Many thanks from all the Staff.
Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

The hotel was centrally located between the Spanish Steps and the Trevi Fountain. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly and while the rooms were not huge they were clean, comfortable, and luxurious.
Excellent breakfast and service!
Fully recommend to everyone!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Review611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Guest,
many thanks for your experience; it is a pleasure for us to have left a good experience in your memory.
All staff thanks you.
We wish to welcome you soonest.
Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We recently stayed three nights in this hotel after flying in from Germany. Our room was clean, a little compact but comfortable. All of the staff were extremely helpful and friendly which added to the enjoyment of our stay. This would have to be one of the best locations to access such places as the metro, Fontana Di Trevi, Spanish steps, Pantheon and the Colosseum and many other important sights (all within walking distance if you are reasonably fit). We even walked back to our hotel from the Vatican. Breakfast was a little sparse but adequate. You need to look around a bit to find reasonably priced restaurants that a re good value for money. Overall a wonderful experience and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manfred346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Customer,
Our best satisfaction is to leave in your memory a wonderful experience.
We are happy and thanking you, we eagerly wait for your next stay in Roma.
Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

Stayed for seven nights, on our first trip to Rome. Could not have picked a better hotel for our needs. Close to the Metro, close to everything historic, around the corner from Colline Emiliane, which became our favorite restaurant.

Room Tip: The free breakfast is great and the hotel WiFi, also free, is fast and reliable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjmcgarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Customer,
We are pleased that during your long stay you have met only positive aspects.
We are glad to have left a good memory of Rome and its services, also, especially of the Stendhal Hotel and our location.
We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

I stayed at the Stendhal for 7 days. I was a solo traveller to the city and so I booked a single room, but I was upgraded to a double room, which made me very happy! The rooms are average size for Europe, bed was comfortable and bathroom was big enough; there was plenty of counter space around the sink for my toiletries. The closets were big with enough drawers and hangers to fit all my clothes and shoes.
The room faced the back of the hotel, now while the view isn't so great, it is very quiet. Don't under estimate it, Via del Tritone is a very busy street, so rooms facing the street may not be too good if your a light sleeper. The room was made up by housekeeping at least twice a day. Every time I returned to my room, I had fresh towels, so that was really nice.

Issues:
The safe in the room was incredibly small; in terms of width, it wasn't wider than my passport, so not good if you're bringing a laptop or an ipad, they definitely won't fit.
And the breakfast buffet, which was very delicious and always had plenty of food, unfortunately was not ready on time. Often it wouldn't be until 7:30am till the staff had finished preparing the buffet. So not too good if you're an early riser or have to catch an early morning train out of Rome like I did.

The people at the hotel are amazing and very helpful. Special mention to Marco, i think thats his name. (Bald guy at the front desk.) He was really helpful and friendly during my stay, the best concierge I've met throughout my travels.

Rome is a beautiful city and its certainly better to walk to the sites than to take the metro; the hotel is within walking distances to everything, Vatican in 20 min, Spanish steps in 10min, Trevi fountain in under 5, colosseum in 30 min. And when you walk, you stroll through the streets, stop in a shop, have an espresso at a caffe and just soak in the beauty of Rome. But if you must take the metro, its only a few steps away from the hotel.

Overall, I had an amazing time at the Stendhal, and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Customer,
we are glad that the Stendhal Hotel and all the staff have left a good memory of your holidays.
It's very important to read the reviews of guests who stay in the Hotel for long periods because they can see and taste the service and the room in every aspect.
It is true! Our safe was born before the arrival of the iPad and similars, but we have other safes in the reception and a big secure storage on request.
Our breakfast starts at 7.00; but some times we have to serve the breakfast or the room-service before the opening, this creates delay.
However, we pointed to our staff the respect of the schedules.
The Stendhal and all the staff thanks you for noticing all of our work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Hasharon, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

We have spent 8 nights in Stendhal hotel in Rome.
We had a perfect experience. The hotel is intimate, very elegant, clean, designed, the service is very good and friendly.
Room service makes up the room every time you leave the room, even several times a day.
The people at the reception are very helpfull, recommanded on very good restaurants and places.
It was a very positive experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalit L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HtlStendhal, Responsabile reception at Hotel Stendhal, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Customer,
thank you very much for your travel experience in the Stendhal.
You had a long stay here, so your description is total guarantee of the Stendhal and of our services.
All the staff thanks you.
We look forward to welcome for your next stay in Rome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Hotel Stendhal Dependance Luxury Suite
Trevi
Hotel Dei Borgognoni
Hotel Dei Borgognoni
#92 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#18 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
White Hotel
White Hotel
#150 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Trevi
Hotel delle Nazioni
Hotel delle Nazioni
#233 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Colonna
Albergo Ottocento
Albergo Ottocento
#263 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stendhal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stendhal

Property: Hotel Stendhal
Address: Via del Tritone 113, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#91 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#196 Business Hotel in Rome
#217 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#286 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Stendhal 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel was opened several years ago and has maintained its reputation as one of Rome's hippest and trendiest hotels. The location in the city centre within a short few minutes walk from Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, The Pantheon and ALL of Rome's most important monuments. Our rooms are maintained regularly and a rich buffet breakfast is included in the room rate.Finally, FREE WI FI internet throughout the hotel's public areas and rooms complete the services on offer at the Boutique Hotel Stendhal in Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Stendhal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stendhal Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing