We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We certainly seized the Day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carpediem Roma Golf Club
Ranked #732 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We certainly seized the Day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Lovely self catering units. The hotel is a little out of town. About 30 minutes by car. The hotel is quite far from the train station, and there are no maxi cabs or taxis. You will have to rely on the daily morning shuttle to the station. You miss the shuttle, and you will have to come up with another plan. The Hotel does have a very friendly caretaker, who also does shuttles. Those are however extra. There is a beautiful castle on the property. Excellent spa facilities. The units are MASSIVE!!We stayed in a 3 bedroom, and it felt like we never saw some of the rooms. The Housekeeping was discreet and they ensured that your unit was neat and tidy. Many options for television. Apparently, it is also idea for travelling a day into Tivolli. We unfortunately didn't have enough time to do so. Loved the stay. Note that at the time of travelling, there was no restaurant at the resort.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank clemkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    46
    19
    13
    17
See reviews for
45
41
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
282 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

This resort is located outside of Rome and you really need a car and not rely on their shuttle service for 6 people at a cost of $3E each way per person. We had a three bedroom unit, one very small bedroom downstairs with a full bathroom right off the small kitchen and livingroom, a winding stairway that took you to another small bedroom, another small bathroom, a table with chairs, and a master bedroom that was larger with a king sized bed but a sloping ceiling that you couldn't help but hit your head on. We stayed downstairs and there was barely room to move around the room. The shower in the bathroom was so small that I knocked my elbows on the walls all the time and the shower massager took up 1/3 of the shower space (I'm only 5'2" so I can't imagine a much larger person being able to even take a shower in this unit. The desk staff was fabulous, especially Maja who helped us out more than once. The parking garage is below the units but have posts that are impossible to maneuver around unless you want to scrape them; thank goodness most people didn't have cars. There is a small café across the little road within the complex for coffee or a pastry but we didn't use it very often. And their coffee machines require special coffee packets that you have to purchase from them. We had a beautiful view off our balcony onto the golf course and it was very peaceful and a nice place to come home to after being in the city. Before you go, be sure to ask for very specific directions as done were provided by RCI and the resort didn't list an address to put in the GPS.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

This resort or residence is perfect for those travelling to Italy who are looking for a peaceful relaxing getaway with good facilities and recreation. The rooms are clean and spacious with living room, kitchen area and bedroom. Has everything you need for self - catering except a frying pan / skillet. Transportation is every morning except on Saturdays at 9.30am to Rebbibia Metro station (price for members is €3 each way per person or €6 for non members of their club membership programme). Pickup is 7 pm from the station back to the hotel. Other times are charged according depending where you want to go but are from €35 to Rebbibia station and €75 to the airport. Service is very helpful and has English speaking driver. There are not many restaurants in the area but the restaurant staff are able to pick you and take you to their restaurant and return at no extra cost. The Internet at the club is below average based on speed and cost. €10 for 3 hrs Internet usage or €20 for 10hrs. Better to buy a sim card with 4G. I stayed here at the begining of March 2014 and this my review. Thank you.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
12 Thank andyj76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
129 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We just returned from our trip to Rome where we stayed at the Carpediem Roma Golf Club. The room was comfortable and had a great, countryside view from our balcony. It was fully equipped and comfortable. It was always good to get back out of the chaos of the city in the evening and relax in this quiet place. The desk staff were very friendly and helpful. We used the shuttle to get in and out of town. Not only was this a convenient service, it provided us opportunity to interact with other guests of the resort, exchanging daily stories about our daily adventures. We also joined a group dinner organized by the resort. The food was delicious and it also helped cultivate that sense of community among the guests. The resort offered free transportation to 2 local restaurants. This was very convenient and we enjoyed the Rustico restaurant very much. My only suggestion is that when you make reservations ahead of time in the city, plan plenty of time to get there. We had Vatican reservations at 10:00, not realizing that would catch us in the rush hour of Rome. This required us to catch an early taxi (8:30) to the Metro to the Vatican. We made it fine, this rush hour experience, however, helped us understand why the shuttle running at 9:30 is a much better plan! In general, I'd say that if you enjoy the high energy of the city, then this place might not be for you. But I would surely recommend this resort if you, like me, find it worth the time shuttling in/out of town to relax in a more quiet, congenial setting.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank larhee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paranaque, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Carpediem is only about 30 mins. away by car from Roma Termini. The closest Metro station is Rebibbia which is about 15 mins. away. Rooms weren't that bad; the bathroom actually had a big jacuzzi tub but the mattresses were a little hard. Housekeeping also visited everyday. For 10 euros you get 3 hours of wifi, but when we asked for more we were given extra hours for free. All in all it's not a bad place to stay in as long as you have a car, otherwise you should definitely find a place closer to the city.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hitomi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

We stayed here because of our timeshare with RCI. Big mistake. We drove 11 + hours and get there to have to separate into two rooms. Not happy about that but were told it was RCIs fault. Rooms were clean and staff was nice but the location was terrible. It took us 30 minutes to an hour to get to the subway stop. Traffic was awful and construction didn't help. Stay in the city or walking distance to a train.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We found this resort easily, knowing that it is beside Marco Simone Golf Course and were quickly admitted to the grounds by the gate keeper. Check in was speedy and welcoming, with an escort to our suite. The staff in reception were consistently pleasant and helpful, responding to our various needs cheerfully, including translation, researching online events, and providing suggestions.

The unit we were assigned was clean, cool and comfortable. We had a ground floor unit overlooking the golf course and enjoyed sitting on our patio to admire the tranquil view at breakfast and lunch when we were in the resort. The daily cleaning (covered apparently by the mandatory club fee) included linen changes several times a week, and was offered largely at our convenience. The unit was compact and nicely appointed and we were able to prepare a number of meals there. The queen-sized bed seemed overly firm on the first night, but we quickly adapted. There was also a pull-out sofa which we did not use in addition to an upholstered chair and coffee table in the living area. The bathroom included a Jacuzzi style bathtub with both 'fixed' and 'hand held' shower options.

There was a group dinner at a local restaurant on Sunday night, with good food, which was well priced and served in a lovely outdoor dining area. This gave us an opportunity to meet our neighbours, who came quite literally from around the world. The following day, several of the men played golf at the resort next door, although they only managed 9 holes as it was very hot.

We were notified ahead of time that this resort is located well outside of Rome, which suited us nicely. We did get into Rome several times, but also enjoyed touring the countryside and many small, pretty villages. The shuttle bus does make two trips a day to the subway for those who do not arrange for their own transportation. A number of our fellow travelers also used the train system to go on Day trips to Naples and Capri which apparently worked well.

There is a good restaurant on the grounds, with several delicious menu options available each day, and we had dinner there several nights with our new friends. There are also laundry facilities (which we did not use) and a parking garage on site. An elevator provides access to the upper floor units. We visited a nearby grocery store several times to purchase a good assortment of groceries.

We enjoyed ourselves at Carpe Diem Romana, but we were happy to have our own transportation so we could explore independently. Given the heat, we would have liked to have access to an outdoor pool - we did not bother with the indoor pool. There is Internet available, but at an extraordinary expense.

Room Tip: We liked our ground floor unit with a view of the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Canadiansky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
OC Hotel
#466 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Al Casaletto
#729 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
The Building Hotel
The Building Hotel
#219 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Grand Hotel Tiberio
#269 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Parioli
Aldrovandi Residence City Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carpediem Roma Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carpediem Roma Golf Club

Property: Carpediem Roma Golf Club
Address: Via Marco di Simone 80 | Guidonia Montecelio, 00012 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#312 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Carpediem Roma Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carpediem Roma Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carpediem Roma Golf Club Hotel Rome
Carpediem Roma Hotel
Carpediem Roma Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing