We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Lady with a Beautiful Bed and Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Roman and Italian Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2,370 of 3,644 Rome B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lady with a Beautiful Bed and Breakfast”
Reviewed 6 April 2011

Alessandra was just the sweetest person you can meet at Customer Service lobby. We stayed at the new Roman and Italian II which just open this year 2011.
The rooms was tastefully and beautifully decorated, it was big and spacious and the ceilings was so high, i was taken pleasantly surprised at how beatiful the place was especially for the economical prices. There were many storage spaces, a 3 chest drawer, a cupboard and a couch.
The bathrooms was a good comfy size and super clean, the heater was working perfect as i am terrified of the cold. We took the shared bathrooms which was not a problem at all as we are just sharing with 1 more other couple only.

Its a historical looking apartment buidling, once you enter the big wooden frame door, you will be greeted by a very pretty landscape courtyard, find Scalla B entrance on your left then you take a quaint lift up to second floor (or u can easily take the stairs) which where the bed and breakfast is. A great place for a getaway from the eternal noise and hustle and bustle, its super quiet and so serene. Would not reccommend if your group is a bunch of noisy party fellas though... as the place is really quite quiet, so you would need be consientious about the other guests staying there as well.

Breakfast is also included, simple crossiants and jam but i love love the coffee she makes!!

As we check in during evening time, we did not want to waste any moment of our time in the city and we took "an evening stroll out to the Colosseum to see the sunset" ( i never thought i will ever say that in my lifetime) which is about 10-15mins stroll away from the B&B. Supermarket (Conad) is nearby, which is one of the cheaper of the supermarkets. There is also an Asian sundry shop nearby, if your missing the Asian food already.

Its simply a Fantastic location nearby to all the great must see tourist location around the Rome City. All you need to do is to get a Roma Pass and your set for a perfect Roman Holiday!!.

If your looking for a beautiful, romantic, cosy spacious room with nice bathrooms, serene and quiet but fantastic strategic location... look no more ... and book this place!!.

Thanks Alessandra for your hospitality

Hugs

J-son and Esther
(from Malaysia)

Room Tip: Middle room is bigger but is shared bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esthercraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    29
    11
    3
    4
See reviews for
6
29
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, Dorset
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2010

My partner and I arrived at Roman Italian after a very long journey overnight from the south of england. Although we couldn't quite find the entrance at first (Note- you need to ring the buzzer for Roman Italian by the big gold doors next to the steps to Manzoni metro station) once we were in we were warmly welcomed. Although the owner did not speak much English, we were shown our rooms, and given details of times for breakfast (fresh coffee and delicious fresh croissants) and after filling out a small form with our names etc, and left for a nap before exploring. We were aware Rome was small, but we were so surprised to find how close we could walk to everywhere, and Roman Italian was trully the perfect base as you could walk everywhere for for the Vatican, the metro was on our door stop! We were asked if we wanted our room cleaned and asked to leave the room unlocked if we did. We didnt do this however, as there was no safety depoisit box, and were carrying cash. As for sleeping, Rome is a noisy city, but the windows are double glased and as long as they are closed overnight the noise was not a problem, even my light sleeper fiance (who proposed in Rome!) slept fine with some ear plugs.
I can safely say that when I return to Rome, Roman Italian will be the first place I look to stay! Its the home of my Roman Holiday!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serbia
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2010

Very nice and clean hostel! Suitable for couples. It is a family run hostel with three rooms. Location is great for sightseeing, it is on the main road, beside the metro line. Breakfast is regular italian: croissant, coffee and juice. Hosts were very nice and helpful. We had a great time. It is a little noisy due to traffic on the main road. If we again plan a trip to Rome, Roman and Italian would be our choice. Have a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanja83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2008

There must be nicer places in Rome for the money. Road outside was noisey, room was shabby and all felt a bit disorganised.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank Choolay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2007

We stayed at this bed and breakfast for 2 nights and found it to be an average or an 'OK' place. We were picked up from the airport by an impatient driver (this was arranged through the B & B) who seemed 'put off' that our plane was 20 min. late. He charged us 10 Euro more than the agreed upon price of 40 Euros. He waited for a tip. This put us off a bit. (We opted to take the train back to the airport.)
The property does have a very convenient location. We were able to walk everywhere. As two female travellers, we did feel safe here. The room was very clean. And the courtyard that our room looked into was very pretty.
Breakfasts were decent. A cup of coffee. A piece of bread wtih jam or butter. A glass of juice. A bowl of cereal.
Our main concern was amount of noise in our room. On both nights, we were kept awake by other guests. On our last night, we could hear (like they were standing next to us!) a bunch of girls heading out on the town. They were loud until after 2 am, and returned back to the property at 6 am. For tired travellers, it was a bit much. Another guest came out and asked them to be quiet. So, as a bit of advice---don't necessairly expect a quiet night's sleep! The walls are very, very thin!
Overall, though we were pleased. But, we probably wouldn't stay there again.

  • Liked — Very clean
  • Disliked — Noisy!
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CdnTravellerCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2007

This was a clean, safe, secure, and cozy bed "and breakfast" which is in a great location. The owners are very friendly and welcoming. They provided us with a map, tips and directions for Rome's biggest attractions. It is called a "bed and breakfast" however, breakfast is not provided unless you pay an extra fee. We didn't mind since there are many little coffee shops around the area. The main attractions are within walking distance (15 minute walk to the colliseum)...if you don't want to walk, there are bus stops all around that will take you to the centre area (probably a 5 minute bus ride). I would recommend this B & B to others who are looking for somewhere clean and safe to sleep while they are exploring Rome. I do not recommend this B & B to "light" sleepers, since there is a lot of traffic noise that carries on day and night. Overall, I liked this B & B and thought it was offered at a reasonable price.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
Thank Lucky1BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2006

We just arrived back after four nights at Roman and Italian B&B. The B&B is on the first floor of a fairly typical Roman residential building (a bit scruffy, but no major problems) right next to Manzoni tube station, to the east of the city centre.

Unfortunately, Manzoni station is currently closed for improvements, so the nearest station is San Giovanni, about 5-10 mins walk away.

However, due to the good weather, we decided to walk to the sites most of the time. The colosseum is the closest of the main attractions, about 10-15 minutes walk away; the Vatican is the furthest - about an hour away on foot.
There are plenty of small shops, bars etc near to the B&B.

The B&B consists of an office room surrounded by the 3 bedrooms. 2 of the rooms share a bathroom - we were quoted 50 euros per night for one of these. The room we stayed in had its own bathroom. We paid 70 euro per night. This did not include breakfast, which for 5 euro per person per day can be taken in the bar / cafe next door. This is very good value for a pretty central spot in Rome.

The office room has a computer in it, with free internet access for guests. Unfortunately, for at least 3 of the 4 days we were there, either the computer would not switch on, or the wireless internet connection was not working. This was no problem for us as we didn't go to Rome to sit at a computer, but it was lucky that we were not relying on it for reservations etc.

The room itself was spacious and clean, and Marco (owner) was kind enough to lend us an iron (no board) for the duration of our stay.

The only slight difficulty we had was making arrangements before our arrival. Having confirmed our booking by email, Marco offered to pick us up from the airport for 45 euro (one way). However, I had read somewhere that the Italian government had set limits on taxi fares from Ciampino airport at 30 euro.
So I emailed Marco back, assuming that he thought we were arriving at Fiumicino airport (a bit further away), to check if it would still be 45 euro from Ciampino. He seemed to take offence at this, and I fear that there was a bit of a language barrier between us, so I decided that we would just take our chances with a taxi from the airport.

In the end we paid 57 euro for the taxi, so opted for Marco's offer on the return journey.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — no bath
  • Tips/Secrets — don't forget you need to pay cash on arrival
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank multipurpose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Best Western Hotel President
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#390 of 1,257 in Rome
408 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,228 of 3,644 in Rome
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
6,622 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#95 of 1,257 in Rome
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roman and Italian Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman and Italian Bed and Breakfast

Property: Roman and Italian Bed and Breakfast
Address: Via Emanuele Filiberto 161, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,370 of 3,644 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Roman and Italian Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roman And Italian b&b
Roman And Italian Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing