We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint, quiet, quality and value: all you need as a base to crash in when visiting Rome!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roman and Italian Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Roman and Italian Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2,312 of 3,736 Rome B&B and Inns
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Quaint, quiet, quality and value: all you need as a base to crash in when visiting Rome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012 via mobile

Visited twice, exactly 2 years apart in May 2010 & 2012, and we used the hotel in a way most probably do when coming to Rome: we slept here, we showered here and we spent nearly every other minute living the Roman life outside.

Firstly, this is a wonderful location literally outside a metro (subway) station (which only costs £1 a ticket each time) and is only 10 minutes walk from the colosseum. The hotel itself is in a beautiful roman city apartment house which is so authentic and charming, there are just a couple of rooms but you get a very warm welcome and are told everything you need to know when you arrive.

Both visits we had the same double bedroom with en-suite bathroom, everything worked as it should, it was clean, modern looking (the bathroom). The room itself has all amenities you require; wardrobe, tv, fridge etc. If you are up for 8am you will get a coffee and a croissant (they are amazing!) Outside the door.

You get a key for the secure door (good as it certainly makes you feel that!) And you can hear all the hustle and bustle of the city cone ans go past the window- not too much mind, as you can close the window and it blocks out the noise.

You will find downstairs there is a little shop that does fresh espresso coffee and snacks of great quality so if your feet are exhausted from walking Rome all day you don't have far to go to get refreshments.

This place isn't the grandest of places, but its quaint, quiet and quality and above all, amazing value for the price. A travelers dream.

I git engaged on my first trip to Rome and it says a lot that when we returned, there was only one place we wanted to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    29
    11
    3
    4
See reviews for
6
29
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

My girlfriend and me had a really nice stay in this hostel. The staff was very friendly, the rooms nice and clean, we have no complaints. The metro station is round the corner, so you can arrive in the city centre very quickly.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vuchkoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

Very convenient location as the Manzoni metro station is just right at the doorstep. We walked to the Colosseum 15 minutes away and we took the Metro to everywhere else. The area is more residential but the rooms face the road cross junction outside which can be noisy during the day. There's a vending kiosk round the corner where we bought water. We bought take-away lunch from the cafe downstairs but dined elsewhere. We were told that there's an Internet cafe nearby but we did not make use of it (no Internet at B&B).

We stayed for 3 nights in the largest room with attached bathroom. The B&B only has 3 rooms, a narrow entrance where breakfast is served and a shared bathroom. We were greeted by George, friendly guy but speaks very little English. Our room was very basic but clean. The room we stayed in is very spacious, has a comfy double bed, many drawers and shelves, and an adequate size bathroom (no toiletries). Temperature of shower is not consistent though and our air conditioning unit was leaking water that caused a large pool of water at our door and the breakfast area outside. The air conditioning unit was fixed before we left Rome.

Breakfast was a croissant or bun, a small slice of store bought toast with jam and butter, and coffee or tea. Very basic but sufficient for us as we were looking forward to eating out more often. All in all it was a value for money basic stay in a convenient location. It is a nice contrast to a hotel stay as we experienced how locals live in the city, although it was not exactly a family home.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doopy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lublin, Poland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

Me and my wife were in Rome from 11st to 17th October, and I must say that it was a very good idea to stay in Roman & Italian B&B. The location is very attractive (nearby Manzoni metro station). The room and bath is clean. Tasty breakfast every day and very friendly staff. I can honestly recommend this B&B.

Marek from Poland

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarekHac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

We stayed at #2 and it was close enough to the train station for convenience, but I would have rather stayed at #1. #2 is in a very shady area that an American might feel very uncomfortable with. The rooms were clean and spacious and the girl working there was very nice but you have to call her when you arrive. That is very inconvenient and then you ahve to wait for her to come. No employees stay the night or hang around so your screwed if you have a question. They have a light breakfast for you if you hang around for it, but I found it to not be early enough for a tourist and it wasn't on time one day. PS One article said it was a chinese town but it was more a muslim area.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lacey c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed at Roman and Italian 2 for one week in August. First of all it is not very easy to find as there is only a tiny sign on the door and nothing else. The area is a typical "Chinese town" (at first we thought "Are we really in Rome?") but quite conveniently located: 10 minutes to Termini train station, 15 minutes Colosseum.
The room was clean but the shower is very small, water doesn't drain properly and keeps changing temperature. Needlees to say there is no Internet or WI-Fi connection and no air conditioning.
The staff can't really advise you on anything about the city but otherwise quite friendly. There is usually no one at B&B during the day and the evening.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anutka_milashka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

Reading previous reviews again, i was annoyed at people not knowing about roman tax as everywhere has it in rome and it aint much so dont worry, We stayed 8th to 10th of august, we stayed in the ensuite which was spacious, clean, had aircon, fridge, numerous chests and drawers and wardrobe. We got there and the woman was waiting for us, gave us keys, took money, the 2euro tax par person per night staying and left... We got changed and left ourselves, arrived back at 10:30pm, up next morning at 7, breakfast which consisted of a crossiant and coffee, out at 8.30am..back again at 11pm...left the next morning.. Now why im saying this is that if you want to have a hotel and plan on staying there alot during your visit to Rome go ahead but dont book here, but if you only resting your head at night book here and you wont be disappointed.. It is cheap, clean, safe, perfect location for the tourists..we spent 98 euros for two people two nights in an ensuite with breakfast with lovely coffee which was very reasonable. Little coffee shop at corner of street you can get some water and sandwiches in from as the kitchen in the bed and breakfast is locked. Defo worth the stay:-)

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ant2010Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
AMM Suite
AMM Suite
#451 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Esquilino
BEST WESTERN Hotel President
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#27 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#12 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,796 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roman and Italian Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman and Italian Bed and Breakfast

Property: Roman and Italian Bed and Breakfast
Address: Via Emanuele Filiberto 161, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,312 of 3,736 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Roman and Italian Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roman And Italian Hotel Rome
Roman And Italian b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing