We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic and Clean - Rude staff!”
Review of Stargate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stargate Hotel
Ranked #573 of 1,093 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Basic and Clean - Rude staff!”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed at this hostel for 2 nights in mid July. The room, although basic, was clean and comfortable making for a good nights sleep.

However, we found the customer service to be abysmal! Upon arrival we were greeted by the receptionist Farid, who proceeded to fire off the details of the hotel as quickly as possible and when asked to repeat, because we were unable to understand what he was saying, he became hostile. When booking this hostel we noted the advertised 'free wifi', when we asked for the password we were told that it was only possible to use the wifi for one hour a day - we were then treated to a lecture about why we should be grateful for an hour of wifi and towels in the room as the price we paid was so cheap - and to be honest the amount we paid was far from 'cheap' compared with other accommodation available in Rome.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rtownsend148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    23
    27
    19
    33
See reviews for
11
27
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The hostel was kind of ugly from outside, but the room is very clean and confort. For the price it was very good. There is no elevator from the front door to the reception, and it has like 6 steps. But to the room there is one, but not very nice.
The location is good, 3 blocks from the Termini. At night there is not much people, but it's safe I think.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

The hotels location close to Termini is major advantage, easy to go visit . I found the rooms modest and the cleanliness too, average . We did get breakfast but quite ordinary. In the street opposite market set up from 6 am and gets quite noisy though if u need to pick up somrthing in a hurry it s good. Also at night number of revellers roam the area.
I found the proprieters quite helpful and they understood english. They helped me with freezerboards etc.
All said its just okay.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the street as far i know and its quite noisy so not much choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruchira K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Late rating I was there in 2010 , but at that time place was honest , clean , we used just to sleep not big deal , close to Termini Station and we can walk up from there to every place even to City Center and most attractions in Rome .
Staff was friendly at that time we dont use them much and also we keep at minimum our presence on the hostel only to sleep ....

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mgoular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2012 via mobile

After trudging around the strips north of the Rome termini, stargate was a haven above the rather dodgy part of the city... The frontmen who we spoke to were friendly enough, sorting us out at about 11:00pm, arriving dust covered from Firenze!!
The room was pretty much what we came to expect for a 'budget' room in Rome. We had been to all hostels, b&bs and hotels in that district and the stargate was our last, and best (for budget), stop!
It's no ritz but if you are travelling on a tight budget, it's pretty good considering the hefty pricing of Rome.
It did not include breakfast and the only way to keep cool was via the window...looking over a bit of a dodgy section of town.

In summary, decent budget place, not more than 2 star (if that), but good enough for a backpacker hunting for a cheap place to hide out, away from 'party hostels', which seem to populate Rome!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackadder24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

This was one of the worst experiences in Rome as the room was cheap but the staff were very rude and understood english however they acted as they couldnt. This made it very hard to communicate. Furthermore, they had promised breakfast but then went back on their word which was very annoying. The beds were quite hard and we asked for a double toom but got two single beds joined together :|. This is alright if you want a quick play to stay for a small price.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bilal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Yes this is cheap and good location.

However, general manners cost nothing. I could go on and have a rant but there is no customer service at this establishment and the receptionist was just rude. We put it down to a bad day as he shouted at us for not have the right amount of cash (due to the fact we could not pay by card) as he ordered us to the train station to collect the cash (even though 11pm at night). However, this did not get any better during our visit.

Services are basic but ok but there are lots of other places I would try at similar prices than this one in nearby locations and even in the same building. I would even pay more not to be treated in such a disrespectful manner......even the owner was a litle aggressive.

Shocking just shocking.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Anakin Stargate
Hotel Anakin Stargate
#940 of 1,257 in Rome
33 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Gabriella
Hotel Gabriella
#918 of 1,257 in Rome
424 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Sol Levante
Hotel Sol Levante
#629 of 1,257 in Rome
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Donatello
Hotel Donatello
#350 of 1,257 in Rome
624 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel il Papavero
Hotel il Papavero
#991 of 1,257 in Rome
364 reviews
Esquilino
Mosaic Hostel
Mosaic Hostel
#60 of 1,093 in Rome
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stargate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stargate Hotel

Property: Stargate Hotel
Address: Via Palestro 88, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #573 of 1,093 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stargate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stargate Hotel at Rome is a comfortable 3 star hotel, with great experience in receiving groups of students and adults. Every room has it's own private bathroom, Wi-Fi connection, air conditioner and minibar. Located at the Historic Centre of the Eternal City, it's proximity (about 300 meters) to the main rail hub of Rome (Termini train, bus and metro station) makes it very comfortable. It only takes a few steps in order to arrive to the famous Trevi's Fountain, to the Santa Maria Maggiore basilica, the Colosseum, the Imperial Forums and the Baths of Diocleziano. By taking a walk, it is very easy to arrive to the National Library, Sapienza Rome University and the Hospital Policlinico Umberto I. The Hotel is placed in an elegant palace of the early '900, the entrance is at the ground floor, where you can find the 24 hour reception, the inside bar, the breakfast room and the elevator. We have a kind, available and multilingual staff that can provide you with free information of the city. The Stargate Hotel brings together conviviality, comfort and functionality, and can offer the clients high level technology, a warm welcome and an enviable position at the center of the. Because of this, the hotel provides an ideal solution for vacations and pleasure trips. How to arrive: The Stargate Hotel is located at only 300 meters away (4 minute walk) to Termini Station, in Via Palestro, 88. From Termini Station, take the right exit and walk along Via Marghera, walk 4 blocks and turn right, walk about 60 meters and at the gate number 88 is located Stargate Hotel. Services: Internet Wi-Fi Free 24 hours baggage deposit Free city maps Information Rack Shuttle (on demand) to and from the Ciampino and Fiumicino airports. Laundry service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Stargate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing