We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Off tourist trail, near LUISS (Law School), and embassies”
Review of Hotel Fenix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Fenix
Ranked #411 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Huntingdon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Off tourist trail, near LUISS (Law School), and embassies”
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Comfortable room, with heat controls, well presented, (504 had bath with shower, balcony overlooking garden and side street,) wifi via a password (ask for the code), good range of breakfast choices, with TV on wall.
We arrived by shuttle bus booked at kiosk with English-speaking staff just to right side of train station lobby. This took us to the door of the hotel with a running commentary from the driver on the sights as we passed them.
Viale Gorizia has a bookshop serving coffee and an organic mini-supermarket serving light refreshments.
One evening just before 10pm we expressed a wish for some soup. Within 15 minutes freshly prepared vegetable soup, beautifully presented with toast, was served to us in the bar area.
We used the Roma Pass (3 day) for travelling and visiting sights.
With Italian friends, we enjoyed obelisk spotting for a school project. (More obelisks in Rome than Egypt.)
Away from tourist bustle. Nearest metro is Bologna (10 minute walk). Buses much closer. We will doubtless return to this pleasant spot.
(One cleanliness mark removed as light fitting in one room was full of dead flies and dust - and in the second room the grout around the tiles and the sealant needed replacing.) The cleaning done by the daily cleaner was first class. The bed linen and towels were excellent.

Room Tip: Fifth floor accessed by stairs from fourth floor. Lift small but very fast. Some rooms overlook V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goslingwatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francesca v, Direttore at Hotel Fenix, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Dear Sir,
We loved your review so detailed hence useful for all the TripAdvisor community. We thank you for the compliments spent about our all our services , including the cleanliness and the staff ,and that you have appreciated the facility of the connections to reach our Hotel and our Snack Service , always available 24 hours a day. Thanks you also for having put some marks, they are so useful to us to improve and make pleasant the stays of our Guests. We are looking forward to see you soon.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    208
    68
    11
    8
See reviews for
55
122
39
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 7 nights Our room was very clean and the bed comfortable We were in the old part of the building as I asked for a room with a bath which does not seem to be usual. We know Rome well so the location suited us there is a bus stop a short distance from hotel with a choice of very regular buses to Termini Station the journey takes about 10 minutes I walked it in about 25 minutes The only problem we had was an inability to turn off or lower the heat in the room. The management were aware of the problem and the answer was to turn on the air conditioner!

Room Tip: Higher floors are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francesca v, Direttore at Hotel Fenix, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Dear Madame,
Many thanks for your lovely review.
We have appreciated your compliments and your detailed mention of the connection to our Hotel.
Sorry for the problems you have had about the heat in the room. And we are really sorry for the wrong information we have given during your stay. Our staff is always available to help solving such difficulties and, when you reported the problem to the reception desk, they would have given you another solution. We do hope to have you again as our Guests with the promise to offer you a better service and assistance. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
Level Contributor
79 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

this is a good hotel but far away from the centre of rome, it was however very close to our meeting location and this is the reason why i stayed there. it feels like a home rather than a hotel which was its added advantage.the room was ok, it had a good breakfast. it would be a good choice to see rome as romans live rather than the tourists. all in all, it is a good choice if you have been to rome couple of times, did the sights and historical rome. the hotel was spacious, had a nice little garden and the rooms are large but a bit worn out.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank businesstraveler036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrews, TX
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at this hotel and loved it. There is a bus stop just out front of the hotel. A ten minute bus ride to Stazione Termini which has the Metro subway, the train and the bus station. From there you can get anywhere. The hotel restaurant had a wonderful breakfast each morning: coffee or cappucino, scrambled eggs, sliced pruiscutto(ham), pastries, juice, cereal, fruit. We had dinner one night and it was wonderful. For those ih the know it is a Michelin rated restaurant the last five years. The hotel is locally owned and smaller but wonderfully done. The desk clerks speak some english and were very helpful. There is a computer in the lobby if you need to print out travel vouchers, tickets or boarding passes. The hotel was very clean with marble baths. There were two english TV channels BBC and CNN. The A/C unit worked pretty well. The hotel was a very good value.

Room Tip: We had a triple room which had a king bed plus a single bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Friendly spacious and relaxing. Generous breakfast. Excellent value if a little far from the sights. Plan on doing some walking but there are some good restaurants which may be a little hard to find. Did not eat at the in house one but it looked good.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeripateticTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

The hotel is a bus ride away from all major sites. I was there is mid-June and it had an amazing garden to sit and relax. The biggest bonus for me was that I could be in the city centre in 10 minutes but had the feeling that I was in a beautiful, peaceful hideaway away from the noise and buildings. The rooms are large and very clean and staff were pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was also exceptional with a nice variet of organic options. As I was there for business, I had two dinners in the hotel's restaurant. The food, while not exceptional by Italian standards, was very good for a hotel.

Whenever I go to Rome for business or pleasure I will surely return to the Fenix.

Room Tip: Ideal to book a room facing the garden. Also, purchase a bus pass to avoid worrying about buying ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Fenix for six days. we booked 2 rooms for our family of five - 2 adults and 3 teenagers. Very friendly staff at main desk and through out the hotel. Our room was cleaned every day - good sized rooms - we had the larger suites with one single bed and a good kingsize bed in separate room in each suite - fresh towels and bedding every day. The only down side was the rooms had old wooden wardrobes - I'm not a fan of these so that is my gripe. We stayed in the block of rooms nearest to the main road so you could hear the traffic but after a day you got used to it - the A/C hum covered the noise most of the time. There are lovely places to eat nearby and an excellent gelato shop within walking distance. The breakfast buffet was good - the toaster was not working properly the first day - it was not toasting but the staff made sure every one got toast by using another toaster in the main kitchen and the next day there was another toaster to use. The breakfast is served outside in the lovely garden area. The hotel restaurant was not open due to the August Holidays- we were looking forward to using the Nini restaurant but will know for next time we visit . We bought bus tickets every morning from the reception - The bus stop was just around the corner on Via Nometana.

Room Tip: save money and take the bus - we only used taxi for airport transfer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank calmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Giolli Nazionale
Hotel Giolli Nazionale
#343 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel delle Province
Hotel delle Province
#279 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Exe Domus Aurea
Exe Domus Aurea
#266 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Corallo
Hotel Corallo
#697 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Hotel Principe Torlonia
#361 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fenix

Property: Hotel Fenix
Address: Viale Gorizia 5-7 | quartiere Trieste, 00198 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#180 Business Hotel in Rome
#219 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#226 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fenix 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fenix Hotel is a peaceful oasis with a green heart in the historic residential Trieste area, perfectly and shortly connected with the center of Rome.Located in Viale Gorizia into Trieste district just one step from the elegant Parioli area, Hotel Fenix is renowned for its excellent private and quiet location easy reachable from the historical center also for the closer area of Via Veneto and Villa Borghese.The place is known for the nearby historical presence of picturesque parks like Villa Torlonia and Villa Paganini and many early twentieth-century roman buildings, now home to embassies. Nearby are the Universities “Luiss Guido Carli” and “La Sapienza”.The connections with the urban center and the suburbs are easy and frequent; from Termini station, infact, you can easily reach the hotel in 15 minutes and in only 5 from the underground station “Bologna”.The Hotel combines the warm, relaxed and friendly environment with the excellent service that meets the most demanding customers.It’s a well-established tradition, infact, to offer cordiality, discretion, accuracy and professionalis.Hotel services include: Reception 24/7, Bar, Nini Restaurant, Room service 24/7, Garden, Private Garage, access for disabled people, Lift, safe-deposit box, minibar, air conditioning and heating, satellite TV, laundry service, business meeting room, Internet point, Wi-Fi available throughout the whole hotel. Transfers and excursions booking on request, information about events, museums and theaters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Fenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenix Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing