We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quiet hotel, short commute into the centre.”
Review of Hotel Fenix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Fenix
Ranked #371 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good quiet hotel, short commute into the centre.”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The centre of Rome is roughly 10 minutes of walking and another 10 minutes on the tube however it means that the hotel is situated in a nice, clean and quiet neighbourhood so it's a pretty good trade. The room was nice and the AC was excellent; greatly valued in the August heat. Though the bathroom was modern and had it's own bath, it looked as though the shower was added as an after thought i.e. there was no way to shower without the curtains and wood paneling getting soaked consequently there was a bit of black mold on these. Overall it was a very nice room except that the wifi reception was atrocious in the room.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    217
    70
    11
    8
See reviews for
58
128
40
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Fenix between 10-14th August. As soon as I checked in I was upgraded to a double room for free - that was a really nice surprise! The hotel is itself is clean with good amenities and is situated in a lovely, quiet and very safe neighbourhood in Rome. The breakfast is a yummy spread of pastries, bread, cereal, fresh fruit, yoghurts as well as tea and coffee. There is a metro station about 7 minutes away and the bus stop is a few steps away, you can get into town in about 10 minutes to view all the wonderful sights Rome has to offer. The staff at the hotel are absolutely lovely and are incredibly kind and helpful. I was really worried about losing my camera and the staff were really kind as to let me back up all my files using the hotel computer. If you want a nice and relaxed stay in Rome then this a great hotel. Awww, enjoy your visit to Rome it is an incredibly beautiful city with lots of wonderful history!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorient, France
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently located, close to Via Tiburtina.
I didńt get a chance to try reaching Rome with tube or bus from there, but by car you're only 5 minutes away from downtown Rome (Piazza del popolo, Piazza di Spagnia...) which makes sightseeing very easy.
The staff is extremely friendly, breakfast served outside in summer, which is extremely enjoyable.
Conveniently located in a quiet street. Indoor car park available but not free, not so many parking placés are available though.
The bedroom was a bit old (with the exception of the very modern bathroom) but it is not a problem for a stay of 3 or 4 days.
Last minute booking (room booked in the morning) was really cheap considering the location of the place.
Includes free Wifi connection with good coverage.
Definitely recommended.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed here from July 6-10. It was great value. Rooms were very nice and clean, staff helpful and kind and breakfast was very adequate with great servers. There is a metro about 7 min walk away and once you figure out the shortcut it's great. Metro to all the sights about 10 min away.Very safe neighborhood, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Rome

Cliff
Vancouver, BC

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jags33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

My boss and two other colleagues were in Rome for a short course on regulatory impact analysis at Luis's University. Fenix is a two minute walk from the university, so we were basically staying in the right place. The breakfast was huge and filling, and the dinners were never short of wine! My room was very big and spacious, and unlike most hotels in Europe, Fenix has large rooms fitted with both shower and bath tub. The Internet Was super fast! I loved taking walks around the neighborhood which is safe and quiet. The hotel has a garden outback which was great for relaxing.

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Penias C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We had a lovely four day stay in this hotel. The staff were very helpful and courteous. We booked a room for a family of 4 which proved to be a tight squeeze with not enough storage. Breakfast was lovely, quite varied and fresh. We loved the location as it was not too noisy but only a 10 min bus ride into the centre. There are a couple of lovely restaurants only a short walk away which was ideal in the evening if you didn't want to go into the centre. In all, a lovely hotel but looking a little tired.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MAF64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

I share and confirm the views of many other reviews !
the hotel is located in a nice area, small houses, almost in front of Villa Torlonia and at the side of a park; a few blocks down, many diplomatic residences; not by chance !
of course, it is not city centre, but with a bus you can get there in 10 minutes;
the hotel itself is quite nice, quiet; the rooms are large enough (I had a double .... I understand from a friend that the single ones are really tiny)
the bathroom was not big, just enough;
bed large and good;
breakfast room comfortable, the food varied and good; on the whole a correct breakfast in a nice location; in summer, it seems, breakfast is served also in the garden (I have been told);
I did not check the air conditioning;
the price was competitive;
I saw both business travelers and tourists;
I could consider coming back again

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arzillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel delle Province
Hotel delle Province
#271 of 1,261 in Rome
1,641 reviews
Monti
Hotel Giolli Nazionale
Hotel Giolli Nazionale
#372 of 1,261 in Rome
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Exe Domus Aurea
Exe Domus Aurea
#272 of 1,261 in Rome
598 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#452 of 1,261 in Rome
292 reviews
San Lorenzo
Dock Suites Hotel
Dock Suites Hotel
#220 of 1,261 in Rome
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fenix

Property: Hotel Fenix
Address: Viale Gorizia 5-7 | quartiere Trieste, 00198 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#180 Business Hotel in Rome
#201 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#226 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fenix 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fenix Hotel is a peaceful oasis with a green heart in the historic residential Trieste area, perfectly and shortly connected with the center of Rome.Located in Viale Gorizia into Trieste district just one step from the elegant Parioli area, Hotel Fenix is renowned for its excellent private and quiet location easy reachable from the historical center also for the closer area of Via Veneto and Villa Borghese.The place is known for the nearby historical presence of picturesque parks like Villa Torlonia and Villa Paganini and many early twentieth-century roman buildings, now home to embassies. Nearby are the Universities “Luiss Guido Carli” and “La Sapienza”.The connections with the urban center and the suburbs are easy and frequent; from Termini station, infact, you can easily reach the hotel in 15 minutes and in only 5 from the underground station “Bologna”.The Hotel combines the warm, relaxed and friendly environment with the excellent service that meets the most demanding customers.It’s a well-established tradition, infact, to offer cordiality, discretion, accuracy and professionalis.Hotel services include: Reception 24/7, Bar, Nini Restaurant, Room service 24/7, Garden, Private Garage, access for disabled people, Lift, safe-deposit box, minibar, air conditioning and heating, satellite TV, laundry service, business meeting room, Internet point, Wi-Fi available throughout the whole hotel. Transfers and excursions booking on request, information about events, museums and theaters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Fenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenix Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing