We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good little hostel, friendly staff!”
Review of Friendship Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Friendship Place
Ranked #679 of 1,166 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Well located hostel close to Termini's train station and bus stops.

Rooms are clean and comfortable, with enough space for luggage and other stuff. Bathrooms are clean and rooms have air/con and t.v.

Miss Barbara is a lovely lady that is interested in providing a good service.

However, don't trust on the "included brekky", it's just a small croissant and a box juice!! lol.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MariaPerez84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2013

Tight room with hardly any leg room.

Toilets are disgusting and floods easily (bad pipe drainage). Beware of massive patches of mould!

Beautifully Italian with its window sills and views onto streets, but you'd notice how incredibly dusty the place is when the morning light shines through. The room definitely requires more cleaning and the bed sheets gave both me and my partner severe itches.

Breakfast served in bed = 50ml of delicious cappuccino + over-sugared, supermarket croissant.


Positives: cheap price & conveniently located next to Rome's filthy train station.

The madam is indeed, quite friendly, though I'm not sure that it maintained throughout the whole 7 nights of our travel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoupleOfBears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

So first off, hotel friendship or whatever is the same thing as hotel beautiful. When you walk down the street you will not see a sign for hotel friendship, but only one for hotel beautiful. When you sign in, they will ask you though and we got located in the side of the hallway for friendship hotel. It was so cute. Small 6 bedroom dos but the rooms were super clean and so were the bathrooms. The wager was hot and they had soap in both the sink and shower. Major plus having long hair. It was my first time in hostel and my boyfriend convinced me to go since it would save us money and it was so worth it. The reception guy was really nice and knowledgable and although the common room was really small, it did the trick. Great 3 nights in my first hostel!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed at friendship place for one night as we had plans for the other nights in Rome, if we hadn't we definitely would have stayed for longer! We were greeted with a warm welcome from Andrea and made to feel at home, a bright airy room with AC was ready hours before the official check in. No complaints at all, immaculately clean and breakfast included in the price! Good value for money and great location! We think it must have changed since the reviews on here as only just read them and strongly disagree with the negative ones! In 2012 Friendship Place double room is a great place!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honeybadgerbees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I stayed here with 2 friends in July 2012. Unlike some of the other reviewers, we had a great time! This place is definitely geared toward young travelers, but I would most certainly recommend it to any of my friends visiting Rome.

The elevator was a bit cramped and old, but the insides of the hotel were nice, air-conditioned, and clean. We had perfectly working wifi and hot water, and our room even had a TV! We were greeted at the elevator by a nice lady who took our information and we paid up front (€25/night/person in our case). She even remembered our names when we checked out! Breakfast is included and is located at a small cafe around the corner.

I definitely recommend this hotel for young travelers and those on a budget.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VittoFresco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Stayed here with 5 friends so had a six bed dorm to ourselves. Asked for extra bedding etc and it was no problem to the guys at reception-they were really friendly, and although you have to pay upfront they gave us a really good rate compared to other hostels around the area. The bathroom/shower is seperate from the rooms, but clean and did the job.
The hostel is relatively loud-although admittedly our group did contribute to the noise a fair bit! This hostel is great for a group who wants to party but even still the night security guys were absolutely lovely, and made sure that nobody sleeping was disturbed while allowing everybody to have some fun.
The location is one of my favourite for bargain trips in Rome-not a fancy area but in walking distance to all the main sites!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandrabailey_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

I would not recommend this place to anyone. We stayed at this place for 2 nights in May 2011 and unfortunately could not leave after the first night because we had to pay the full amount at check-in (we quickly knew why). The only positive is the location close to Termini. A first mild negative point are the stairs: rooms are on 4th floor with the elevator much too small and not working most of the time. A more negative point is the bathroom: the shower floods, and there is no hot water. Based on other reviews (also at other websites), there seems to be no hot water in this place for months (and it is not being fixed, contrary to what staff keeps saying). Although the website says there is free wireless internet, it has never worked during our stay either. Although one staff member was friendly, most other staff members were arrogant to say the least, did not care about their guest's comfort, made ill-placed jokes and even plainly lied to new guests about the amenities (as we witnessed at checkout). Given the above, the price for a room (about 100 euro/night for 3 people) is ridiculous; if you are with a group, you can get a budget hotel room for the same amount of money.
Additionally, the hostel has a lot of different names, such as Friendship Palace, Friendship Place, Beautiful Hotel, Beautiful Accommodation (as shown outside on a sign) etc. The different names are probably used for different websites on purpose, in order to reduce the chance that (negative) reviews are seen by potential guests. This confusion tactique is used by several hostels in the Termini area.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChegaDeSaudade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Palma Residence
Palma Residence
#3,099 of 3,734 in Rome
231 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#448 of 1,271 in Rome
297 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Domidea Hotel
#216 of 1,271 in Rome
661 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#110 of 1,271 in Rome
1,228 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#345 of 1,271 in Rome
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friendship Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friendship Place

Address: Interno 18 Via Dei Mille 41/A | Scala A, Piano Sesto, Interno 18, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #679 of 1,166 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range: £33 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Friendship Place 1*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 200 metres from Termini Train Station, Friendship Place is a family-run property. It offers colourful rooms with wood floors, air conditioning and free Wi-Fi access.Rooms at Friendship Place all come with a minibar and a private bathroom with hairdryer.An Italian breakfast is available each morning from the café 20 metres away, one of many in a neighbourhood packed with small restaurants and bars.Being so close to Termini means you have excellent public transport links around Rome. With easy access to both Metro lines, the Coliseum and Trevi Fountain are only 2 stops away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Friendship Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing