We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendship indeed”
Review of Friendship Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Friendship Place
Ranked #563 of 1,098 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Vancouver, BC
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendship indeed”
Reviewed 19 June 2009

Free dinner and free wine every Friday - very nice gesture by the hostel that brings people together and makes you feel welcomed. Rooms are clean. Washrooms in rooms are new and clean. However, lock on the washroom door didn't work in my dorm room, so it would feel very insecure for the girls but didn't bother me. Staff is helpfull. Bangladesh cooking staff are just great. Breakfast is very bad but better than nothing. Excelent location - near Termini railway/metro station.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    20
    4
    6
    8
See reviews for
5
11
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2006

This place was unsanitary, the bathrooms reaked of urine constantly. I found a cockroach in my bed, I think that's enough said.
The indian dinner that they offer you for 3 nights stay is not great either, so don't let that tempt you!

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mirimum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 January 2006

This place was one of the worst places I have ever stayed it. While it was close to the train station and it appeared clean, the bathrooms smelled of urine and only one shower worked. The one staff member in the hostel continually would enter the dorm rooms at any and all hours and just stare at people in the room. It was very uncomfortable to stay here, I did not feel safe and I will never recommend this place to any travellers.

Stayed December 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 August 2005

Small place, friendly staff, very convenient to central train station. Rooms were clean, good showers, kitchen available, no common area. Felt at home.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, WA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2005

Our family of 4 (mom, dad, and two 20-somethings) stayed here for 5 days over New Year's. We rented all six beds in our room so we would have privacy and that worked out great. We shared 3 tiny bathrooms with over 20 people, but that also worked out fine. The location is terrific, very close to the train station and the subway. The owner has made arrangements with local businesses so each person staying in the hostel gets 30 minutes of free internet access at the local laundromat, you get half-price meals at the Indian fast food place around the corner, and you can get yummy pizzas delivered to the hostel if you don't feel like going out. Delicious pastries for breakfast come with the room rate, although the coffee isn't great. But then you just go half a block to the coffee house and get the best cappuccino so it all works out fine. For New Year's Eve, Francesco, the hostel owner, prepared a wonderful Italian feast for all of us (free, I might add), including champagne. It was so much fun to eat and visit with all the people staying in the hostel from all over the world. Then Francesco led everyone to the Piazza del Popolo for the fireworks ushering in the New Year. He and his staff work really hard to make your stay in Rome wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JLK9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Viennese
Hotel Viennese
#1,123 of 1,257 in Rome
235 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Ferrarese
Hotel Ferrarese
#1,031 of 1,257 in Rome
169 reviews
Hotel Lodi
#260 of 1,257 in Rome
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Carlito Hotel and Hostel
Carlito Hotel and Hostel
#642 of 1,257 in Rome
142 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel il Papavero
Hotel il Papavero
#984 of 1,257 in Rome
366 reviews
Esquilino
Sun Moon
Sun Moon
#2,774 of 3,664 in Rome
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friendship Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friendship Place

Property: Friendship Place
Address: Via Dei Mille 41/A | Scala A, Piano Sesto, Interno 18, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #563 of 1,098 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Friendship Place 1*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 200 metres from Termini Train Station, Friendship Place is a family-run property. It offers colourful rooms with wood floors, air conditioning and free Wi-Fi access.Rooms at Friendship Place all come with a minibar and a private bathroom with hairdryer.An Italian breakfast is available each morning from the café 20 metres away, one of many in a neighbourhood packed with small restaurants and bars.Being so close to Termini means you have excellent public transport links around Rome. With easy access to both Metro lines, the Coliseum and Trevi Fountain are only 2 stops away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Friendship Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing