We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, safe area”
Review of Hotel San Pietrino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel San Pietrino
Ranked #554 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Orlando,Fl
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Location, safe area”
Reviewed 1 November 2012

The hotel was a 15 minute walk to the vatican, there are many restaurants in the area, but I deff recommend to eat breakfast at the cafe in front of the hotel. It is very cheap and the food is great. The reason we stayed at this hotel is because we found it the most economic in rome, but when we arrive we realized that it was a bit to expensive for what it has. The WiFi works perfectly, the signal it's strong, the room was very clean. The only down side was that we stayed in room #1 and when you open the window you realize is a patio, so you can't leave your window open at night, when it's hot. The staff was ok, they weren't that rude or friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelicaJ07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    58
    18
    2
    1
See reviews for
36
55
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

San Pietrino was conveniently located about a 15 minute walk from the Vatican. The best part about this little hotel is the food places around it. Across the street, there is a tiny cafe owned by Alfredo and Lia - so adorable and cheap! Also across the street is the Osteria de Angelo, where we had our first meal in Rome. It remained the best Carbonara we had on our trip. There was also a fantastic bakery about a block away (kind of underground) with everything you could hope for - yum. The staff was not particularly friendly, but one of the two ladies we met was at least helpful. The place was clean and quiet, with comfy beds and good A/C. Good wireless signal. We chose to take the discounted taxi service which was nice. Elevator was quaint and difficult to get in to - but that wasn't a major problem.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Efrat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Based on Lonely Planet and Tripadvisor's recommendations, we decided to stay at this budget hotel near the Vatican.

Upon our arrival, the receptionist -- without introducing herself or welcoming us -- aggressively grabbed our luggage and told us to sit down while they finished cleaning our room (it was already after 2pm at this point).

When we enquired where the cups for the coffee were, the receptionist sarcastically replied "I already told you!" My mom and I could not believe what we were hearing. In short, the receptionist that afternoon gave us the rudest welcome we had ever experienced in our lives.

That said, the hotel is in a convenient location if you are planning to visit the Vatican and it's very clean. At about 100 euros/night, it offers good value for a budget hotel in Rome.

If the hotel owner could get rid of the grumpy, impolite staff, we would consider staying here again. Until then, this place should be avoided!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mylesmck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanpietrino, Responsabile reception at Hotel San Pietrino, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Dear Ladies,

I would like to apologyse for the behavior that I had to you, because wasn’t a professional one.
It was a very busy day and certainly without realizing I answered in an uncivilized manner.
I am sorry that you had a bad impression about me, because it’s not my way so..
All I can say is that you are always wellcome in our hotel and for sure next time won’t be any inconvenience.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pine Bush, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Stayed here over the summer. Loved the staff. Henry was very accommodating. Drove us to the airport and to our cruise ship Very clean and quaint. Quiet neighborhood. Close to the Vatican Great place to eat across street osteria del Angelo. Would stay here again most definitely.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Creidy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yonkers, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

The San Pietrino hotel in Prati is a wonderful small hotel. There are no food services but the cafe directly across the street is all you need, plus there are many small restaurants, cafes etc in this family neighborhood which is like the upper west side in NYC only the buildings are only 5 stories tall. The hotel has free wifi throughout with a strong signal, great for watching online movies, it also has cable tv but most of the stations are Italian. The rooms are clean, orderly and well maintained, but appointed simply. No fancy bed linens or furnishings, however, it is very clean and the staff is very helpful and accommodating. I have stayed here 4 times so far and have been in different rooms, the one thing they all have in common are nice bathrooms. I am a travel bathroom freak, so this was enough to get me back again and again. The shower stalls (if you don't get a tub) are big enough to actually take a shower in. The pricing is very reasonable and varies throughout the seasons. San Pietrino is located about a walking mile from the Rome city center. Some people like the hustle and bustle of the center, but if you want a quiet neighborhood that's connected to all the bus lines and subway, this is the right place to be. The staff watches out for you and I mean that literally. My eyeglass case fell out the window accidentally and landed on a roof below. It was quite unreachable. I said nothing, I just figured that. I had lost my case. The next morning the desk manager hands me the case, which he had retrieved after noticing it under my window. How he figured it was mine or why he went through such trouble, I don't know, but his effort was appreciated. I will continue to return to this great hidden treasure.

Room Tip: The new side has better wifi, the older side has bigger rooms and bathrooms, usually with tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bleujolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Free wifi, parking problem, small rooms. Rooms are not big - just 1 double bed, table and chair. After 1 day of walking in Rome I came to hotel and decided to take shower. At 11 pm somebody started knocking to my door. I was very surprised, but that was woman who lives in the nearest room. She said that my shower is working too loudly and she can't fall a sleep because of this. So... probably walls are very thin.

Hotel is situated 15 min from Vatican and it's quite convenient.

I don't know, but probably I won't return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Oktogo.ru

Helpful?
3 Thank ncknm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

This is the second time in the past three summers that I've stayed at Hotel San Pietrino and I'm even more convinced that it's a great location.The rooms are small (think Manhattan) but they are meticulously clean. The hotel is just 3 blocks from the Ottaviano metro station and less than a mile to The Vatican. With a metro ticket, and/or some good walking shoes, it's possible to see nearly every sight in Rome from this hotel. Note that they have rooms for a family of 4 and although all rooms are on the 3rd floor they do have a vintage elevator some might find quaint and others scary. We used it. It worked flawlessly.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pixystyx7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
The Flower
#715 of 1,256 in Rome
27 reviews
Prati
Hotel Silla
Hotel Silla
#539 of 1,256 in Rome
131 reviews
Relais San Pietro
#696 of 1,256 in Rome
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Residence Prati
#589 of 1,256 in Rome
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Pietrino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Pietrino

Property: Hotel San Pietrino
Address: Via Giovanni Bettolo 43, 00195 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#101 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#188 Business Hotel in Rome
#304 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is beautifully decorated with terracotta floors and tasteful wood furniture. The extras such as TV/DVD/ADSL - are unusual for a place in this category. Housed in a 19th-century palazzo, it's a simple and cosy place, run by young and service-oriented staff providing 24/7 full support to the guests. No breakfast is provided - no great loss as it's surrounded by convenient cafes and restaurants. Some guides consider it the best value for money in Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel San Pietrino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Pietrino Hotel
San Pietrino Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing