We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 out of 10.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Vesta Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vesta Residence
Ranked #3,240 of 3,755 Rome B&B and Inns
england
Level Contributor
205 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“5 out of 10.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2008

we booked for 2 nights but only stayed for 1. the hotel itself was okay with clean, basic rooms with nice crisp clean towels, but the staff could not speak english. the shared facilities were okay and cleaned regularly.
some of the rooms are used for private residence, and the night we stayed a couple of the residents had a noisy fight from about 11pm to 5am, so we got no sleep at all!!!! then just when we thought it was over, they got locked out so rang the bell for about half hour to be let back in!!! also another couple were in a room at the front and the loud, busy road kept them awake.
we called our travel company who arranged for us to move to another hotel.
my advice would be to check out all the hotel deals and not opt for the cheapest......i would'nt stay here again,

  • Liked — it was fairly clean, the staff were nice
  • Disliked — the noisy residents who actually live there
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cher24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    2
    5
    6
    22
See reviews for
4
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California-IE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2007

Vesta Residence is located right next to Termini Station which is great for carrying luggage but this is not a hotel it was a hostel and in the US would be a 1*. The place was not that bad except after taking a shower and getting ready for bed we discovered bed bugs. We rang for the girl who was working the hostel and she had a guest and would not answer her door so we left and rode the bus for hours looking for another hotel with no luck so we went back and I had my husband stand at the front door and ring the bell as I stood at her door. She put us in another room without bed bugs where we spent the night and next evening as we had to pay in cash upfront and could not get a refund.

When we left they put 2 Spanish Backpackers in the same room without cleaning it or telling them.

Spend a little more and go to another hotel or be prepared and know this is a hostel not a hotel

Stayed April 2005
Helpful?
Thank TRLCRITIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2007

This place isn't a hotel in the normal sense of the word. The owner has merely leased some rooms on the second floor of a large apartment block, thus there is no lobby/reception area or bar/dining room. 3 of us arrived having booked a double and a single room for 2 nights at 80 euros per room per night. The girl told us that she has 'misread' our reservation and thought that we only required one room. I'm sure she reads dozens of these reservation forms a week, so her inability to read something in plain black and white was not particularly believable. We were then made to wait in a corridor for half an hour without being told what was going on. Finally. a spare bed was put into a double room and we were told we would have to share (our group being a couple and a single man). We were offered 20 euros per night refund. When we pointed out that we were effectively paying 140 euros a night for a triple room and asked what the true price of a triple was, she got on the phone and offered us 40 euros per night refund, thus the room was costing us 120 euros per night. When I got home a few days later, I investigated the cost of a triple room and found it was 105 euros, so we were ripped off on our refund, although not as much as we might have been. Our arrival had been delayed by taking the hotel website map too literally. This consists of a detailed street plan showing the precise location of the hotel... except that there is an office block at the position indicated. The hotel is a few hundred metres away, off the top of the map! In the morning, the breakfast arrived on a tray - a meagre offering of a croissant, a cup of tea and a glass of fruit juice. Don't expect to go for an evening stroll, taking in local bars and restaurants - there aren't any. Your best bet is a stroll under the concrete flyover to take the Metro into town at Tiburtina station. In fact, the proximity to the Metro is about the only thing that this place has in its favour. Find somewhere else.

  • Liked — Easy to get away from on the Metro
  • Disliked — Having one of our 2 rooms given away before we got there
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daytripper1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2007

The personnel was very friendly and helpful,due to some problems with the bathroom they arranged another hotel for me.
They even brought us to that hotel by car.

  • Liked — the personnel
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prague
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2006

We had a very clean and simple double room with private bath. The hotel's 2 mins walk from the Tibertina metro, which takes u to Coloseum in 10 mins, or a little longer to Spanish Steps with a change at Termini. To find Vesta, just turn right at the McDonalds exit and walk along the street a few hundred metres past the API gas station. The hotel overlooks a flyover so there's plenty of traffic noise. We were in rome in october so it was ok to close window at night but could be problematic in high summer. The area's grotty but seems safe enough and becomes more residential as u move away from the metro/rail station. When u arrive just buzz on Vesta on the door entrance and when someone answers, give the door a good push! Otherwise, the apartment building is real busy with residents coming and going, so u should get in soon enough. Bring your own towel and soap, weren't provided. All in all, for EUR 44, Vesta is possibly the cheapest deal in Rome. You'll pay twice the price in the centre for similar accomm, so if you're on a budget, don't hesitate to stay there. Just don't expect the Ritz!

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — location
  • Tips/Secrets — no
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nattydress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2005

Having comfortably booked a double room in Vesta Residence through the internet before leaving on holidays, and being promised a place in the centre of Rome, we were quite surprised that the hotel was located in an uncheerful suburb next to a noisy highway. Having arrived at the indicated housenumber, there was no trace to be seen from a hotel. Thinking we got ripped-off (having been obliged to make an advance payment), a nice neighbour informed us there actually was a hotel and he helped us getting in (without that I don't know if we would have). A non-english speaking and quite rude girl made a fuss over our internetreservations, which appeared to have never got through. The girl disappeared for a considerable time and finally got back and grumpily said it was ok after all. We had to pay the rest of the money right away, and she showed us our room. The room was fine, simply furnished with ikea-stuff. But as one opened the window, one got almost blown away by the noise of the highway underneath the window. Sleeping was therefore difficult; with the Roman summer heat there is no way you sleep with the window shut. The strangest thing was that our key to the frontdoor didn't work. We asked for another one, and were being treated as if we asked for some extraordinarily big favor. In the end we got one.
Our conclusion about the hostel so far was very negative already, through the behaviour of the staff, the malfunctioning key, the noise and the location.
To finish it up we probably lost some of our clothes and a small backpack in here. Though we are not completely certain, we think they might have been stolen here. For as we checked out, we double-checked the room and there was nothing to be found. Then, when only afterwards we discovered the loss, we've send email and made telephone calls to the Vesta Residence. No answer so far...
Certainly a no-go place!!!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2005

We shared a triple room with our son at the Vesta residence. It was easy to find and very close to Tiburtina railway and metro station. First impression was good and very pleasant young lady showed us to our room at the front of the building. The room appeared to be clean and well furnished and perfectly suitable for our needs. Unfortunately when retiring to bed that night the bed collapsed as I lay down. It was the slat type so after reassembling it we tried again with the same problem. I tried to contact the staff but no one was there only a mobile number to ring but I had no phone and did not want to go out to find one as the area was a bit dubious with lots of drunks hanging around. In the end we placed the mattress on the floor and spent the night ON THE TILES. Next morning we told the young lady what had occurred and she was very apologetic and moved us to another much better room right away. We shared a bathroom just across the corridor this was clean and well maintained but was in constant use in the morning so we had to wait our turn which was an inconvenince. The other downside was the room overlooked the main road at the front of the building so was too noisy to allow the window to be opened for fresh air to come in. The residence would probably not be suitable for anyone with mobility problems as there are quite a few steps to the first floor where the lift is. We did not bother with breakfast at the residence, so I can not rate it and none was actually offered. On leaving I asked about booking a room for our return trip through Rome and was surprised it would cost considerably more to book direct at the time than on the Net. All in all not a bad place to stay if you are travelling on a budget and just want to see the sights.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,590 of 3,755 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,461 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#374 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel des Artistes
Hotel des Artistes
#278 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vesta Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vesta Residence

Property: Vesta Residence
Address: Circonvallazione Nomentana 251, 00162 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3,240 of 3,755 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Hotel Class:2 star — Vesta Residence 2*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Vesta Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vesta Residence Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing