We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Residenza A

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residenza A
Ranked #627 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2013

It's hotel is located in a great area and most of the sights are reasonably close by (we walked everywhere). The staff were extremely helpful and the rooms were great. Everything as clean and the decor was very sleek and modern. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Definitely get a ML or bigger. The S (small) room was a little to small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AllyLogan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

I researched a lot about hotels in Rome before I finally booked the Residenza A Boutique Art Hotel. My husband and I got the train to termini station from the airport & walked to the hotel from there. We really enjoyed the stroll through Rome, stopping for lunch & a coffee on the way at Josephine's (A great little find - 1 Euro for coffee & 3 Euro for a lovely ham & Cheese pannini). We saw locals sat outside so we knew it would not be expensive. The hotel was a further 5 minute walk from there and we found it quite easily having looked on Google maps before we went there. I would think if you had not done this - you may find it more difficult.

When we arrived at the hotel, we were warmly greeted by Fabrizio. He showed us to our room & went through everything with us. The hotel was very clean & high class. There are only 7 rooms in the hotel: all of which are located on the first floor of a building. There is a lovely little old fashioned lift which takes you up to the first floor. There is art work displayed along the corridor of the hotel, which was a nice touch.

The room had an apple mac in but the internet had a poor signal. We used our phones to log onto wifi but we had to stand right by the door for this to work, or sit in the reception.

The shower was honestly the best shower I have ever had. Large & powerful with 2 little built in seats each side of the shower. It was lovely. We stayed in ML room, which looked out onto Via Veneto and we often sat just looking out of the window as it was nice & relaxing.

Reception is manned from 7.30am - 3 pm by Fabrizio and from 3pm - 10pm by another man (not sure of his name) but he was also friendly. You have a key to get in after 10pm and it was never a problem. It felt like you had your own little apartment in Rome.

Overall, the hotel was clean, classy and personal, with an amazing shower, comfortable beds & ample wardrobe space. With sky TV, and mini bar.

Breakfast was served to your room, at a time of your choice and was ample although my husband said the coffee was quite cold. The tea was hot.

The only negatives would be:
1. The wifi signal was poor but was usable in some areas.
2. I would say it was maybe around a 5-10 minute walk a little too far out from the centre (which I would say is Trevi Fountain area). We walked a lot on the holiday - which was lovely but on the last night, we found the walk back to the hotel a little 5 minutes too long. Nothing major really but in case you want to be more central, I thought I would mention it. It takes around 20 minutes walk from Spanish steps back to the hotel. Not much mind you, considering all the walking that we did do on the holiday :)

We had an amazing time in Rome & got to see more or less everything in 3 days. We loved the city so much and would hope to return in the near future. I would stay in the hotel again for its clean personal rooms but may look for something nearer to Trevi Fountain next time.

If you choose this hotel, I'm sure you wont be disappointed. It really is a great lovely little find.

Room Tip: We stayed in ML and was facing the front, which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RESIDENZAA, Front Office Manager at Residenza A, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

We thank you very much for your kind review, to know you had a good stay with us is very important, we took your advice to heart to serve a perfect breakfast.
We just like to let you know that the problem you had with the wi-fi was depending by the provider, we had soon resolved, in all of our rooms it works perfectly.
We hope you will choose Residenza A again for your future trip to Rome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We had the pleasure of staying here for 2 nights. From the pick up service at the airport until the last morning, Residenza A and especially Antonio made our stay very enjoyable. First, their private driver charges a reasonable fee so definitely worth using. Upon arrival we were greeted and given a mac Ipad to use throughout our stay. The boutique hotel is walking distance to the Spanish steps, fountain of trevi, and metro stop. We were in a perfect location. The room was clean and spacious, the bathroom was modern, and the shower was perfect. We had the option to have breakfast in bed or for ten extra euros have a continental breakfast. We tried both and both experiences were great!! Antonio made sure of it. Everyone who worked there really were helpful and went out of there way to make our stay comfortable. I will recommend this hotel to friends and family and hope to return soon. Mille Grazie:)

Room Tip: Our room was by supply closet so in the morning it was a little nosy for light sleepers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lindarella24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

A wonderful small hotel near the American Embassy and just a short walk from the historic centre of Rome. The staff is enormously friendly. Every morning breakfast in the room with freshly made capuccino or espresso and Italian breakfast. The rooms and bathrooms are beautiful, everything is there. Free wifi. Staff goes out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as possible. As you get your own key to the front door you feel like a local.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JvBastenBatenburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Just as it was said before, the room is clean, simple and sufficient. We had a large baby stroller with us that didn't fit into the small elevator and we needed to fold it each time or to disassemble its back wheels. Not very comfortable when travelling with baby.
Regarding the breakfast we had 2 options: free one brought to our room or for 10 Euro per person in Doney restaurant. We tried each and continued with in-room breakfast. Breakfast in Doney was very disappointing: very small breakfast (smaller that than that served into the room), very bad service (2 waiters approached us, each making us wait for 7 minutes after we showed the voucher from hotel. total of 15 minutes spent for no reason and before getting the menu). In addition, this breakfast costs exactly the same in the menu of restaurant so this voucher that caused us to wait for 15 minutes didn't give us anything except that you pay for the breakfast in the hotel at the end of your trip instead of regular payment after the meal. This information wasn't supplied to us by hotel representative when this option was introduced to us. This is the reason for my negative rating of restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank natal101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RESIDENZAA, Front Office Manager at Residenza A, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

We regret to know that your memory of your stay with us in Rome has been spoiled by the negative experience you had at Doney. We just started to collaborate with them so maybe part of their staff were not well informed of the menu they have to offer to our guests. The price you mentioned is the cost we agreed with the restaurant management, which includes an hot drink, a fruit juice, a toast with jam, a croissant and an omelette or a fruit salad all served at the table, not buffet; it can not be the price price offered to the public in one of the historical Cafè of Via Veneto, where a single cappuccino served at the table costs € 6.00. €10 is the price listed on the Doney menu for an hot drink, a fruit juice and a croissant Breakfast offered at Doney want to be a special issue for our guests, without getting any earning from it, we think it is very convenient for our guests.
Thank you for your review anyway, it helped us to refine our collaboration with Doney and to explain this service to future clients to avoid misunderstanding about prices and inclusions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I had a fantastic stay with my wife in mid July 2013. Both Fabrizio & Francesco at the front desk were extremely helpful and courteous. The location was excellent and rooms were clean as expected. I can recommend if you are looking for an apartment (run like a botique hotel) with a helpful front desk

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Uwe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

The hotel is one of the best hotels in Rome. The staff is excellent and very helpful they helped us with the airlines that lost are luggage and are willing to answer any question.The rooms are small but have a comfortable bed the ac works good and the bathrooms have a good shower with lot of pressure. The hotel is very clean. The WI Fi is working good. This hotel is great for couples.

Room Tip: I don't know about the other rooms but XS is a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlackBear98292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Casa I Cappuccini
Casa I Cappuccini
#410 of 1,271 in Rome
119 reviews
Campo Marzio
Residenza Canova Tadolini
Residenza Canova Tadolini
#325 of 1,271 in Rome
502 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Eliseo
Hotel Eliseo
#705 of 1,271 in Rome
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Roma Boutique Hotel
Roma Boutique Hotel
#241 of 1,271 in Rome
644 reviews
Campo Marzio
iRooms Spanish Steps
iRooms Spanish Steps
#515 of 1,271 in Rome
274 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Imperiale
Hotel Imperiale
#254 of 1,271 in Rome
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza A? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza A

Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 183, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#205 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#296 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £71 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residenza A 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Rome in an early 20th century style building overlooking the famous Via Veneto, Residenza"A" The Boutique Art Hotel is a small and refined design hotel with an elegant atmosphere balancing the modernity of its architecture and city history.Stylishly minimalist furnished in a friendly ambient Residenza A hosts in common spaces and rooms works of contemporary artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residenza A reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza a Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing