We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of River Chateau Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
River Chateau Hotel
Ranked #338 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Porsgrunn, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

This hotel is just outside the heart of Rome.
We where 5 people and we asked for the hotelminibus to pick us up at the airport. That was the same cost as the train to the city. And easy!

From the hotel to the city we used the tram, route 2 Mancini - Flaminio. Its a 10 min walk from the hotel. The hotelstaff pointed it out on a citymap we got in the hotel.

The staf was very helpfull, the rooms great, cleaned every day and the breakfast superb. The stay was easy.

Room Tip: We had a juniorsuite - good space. Quiet place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HansE73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    135
    22
    8
    7
See reviews for
49
103
9
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Sauveur des Monts, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We were in Rome for five days before boarding a cruise. Our choice of hotel was based on very good reviews from other travelers and we were not disappointed.

The hotel is European style with the elegance of the 1900s but featuring modern facilities. It is about seven kilometers from Rome centre but easily accessible via tram or bus services which are available at a 10-minute walk from the hotel. Buffet breakfast is included and is very well suited for anyone who needs energy to walk the city of Rome for most of the day. Rooms with balcony are very much appreciated and provide additional space for resting and enjoying a glass of wine.

Personnel at the hotel is amazingly helpful with all clients' needs and go out of their way to assist with any request. Special thanks to Giuseppe and Alessio who provided exceptional services.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony offer more space where you can relax and enjoy a glass of wine
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CruiseNut2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

A wonderful, comfortable hotel in a very pleasant neighbourhood, just outside of the city centre but very well connected.

When we arrived, we were given a twin room, as opposed to the double we had asked for. By the time we returned from having a wonder around for the afternoon this had been resolved by them pushing the beds together, making a large double. The staff were always very warm, friendly and helpful.

We found this to be a very clean pleasant hotel. Enjoying the good selection available for breakfast. There are also a number of nice places to stop for a drink or dinner just along the street.

The nightlife is quieter and more mature around the immediate vicinity of the hotel, this became a younger and more lively crowd further down the road towards and around Piazalle di Ponte Milvio, however, they kept to themselves and did not bother us.

Altogether a very pleasant 9 days and nights, I would recommend this hotel and would certainly go back there if I was to visit Rome again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

We had six nights here and found it very comfortable and clean. The staff are very polite and friendly, nothing seems to be too much trouble. The position of the hotel is a bit out of the City but links in and out are very good. There are some great places to eat nearby. We hired a car which was garaged in the basement making it very easy to get in and out.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanF669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

This hotel is clean, updated and in a nice area. The rooms are a decent size, the beds are extremely comfortable and the washroom is large. The staff is friendly and breakfast is included. Wifi was easily accessible and the staff is very helpful. The location is a bit outside the tourist area which is nice. You need to be comfortable navigating the transit to get here but it is worth it. There are many restaurants and shops/boutiques to browse through and the Colosseum and other attractions are approx 20 mins away by transit. My husband and I had an enjoyable stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amhudders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Initially I was very happy with this hotel, the rooms are small but lovely. The included breakfast was excellent. I stayed here 5 nights and it was initially a problem figuring out the transit system to get down town. A couple blocks down the hill and to the right is a tobacco shop where they sell bus tickets. The bus system is designed for local people and a little difficult to understand and use. Its best to get a map at the hotel, find a street where you want to go, then find a bus that will service that street. Coming home its best to take the Metro to Flamingo and then catch the near-by via Flamilia train service to a bridge that is near the hotel. Total ride on this train is about 4 miles.

During the 3rd and 4th day I was exhausted, didn't feel good and tried to sleep. The hotel, however, had someone drilling on the walls and that went on all day long, it was horrible, totally miserable with my headache, and impossible to sleep. On the 4th evening I lined out my airport transfer with the manager for the next morning. However, the desk lady made a mistake the next morning and called a taxi instead. There was no time to correct the mistake and it cost me $126 for that ride, plus I lost $28 that I had previously paid for the shuttle service. I had spent all my money since I was going home so the taxi driver and I had to drive to several different terminals to find a working ATM machine. The whole experience was stressful, and I barely made my flight. When I got home I contacted the hotel for compensation but they would only offer a two step upgrade on a room the next time I was in Rome. I would have to stay for ~ 5 or 6 days to break even on the monetary loss that I incurred. I wasn't impressed with there rather self serving offer. I ended up paying $154 for the airport transfer instead of $28 and it was because of their mistake.

In closing, I had a perfect 1 month vacation in Spain, France, and Italy, but this was a miserable and costly ending to my trip. The hotel is nice but out of the way of main attractions, the staff is friendly but could improve their service, and the drilling noise was totally unacceptable and miserable. I would not stay here again, they were not helpful in remedying their mistake.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelincouple027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Very good hotel in a fantastic location in Rome. Staff is really helpful and the quality of service is far beyond the average of Italian hotels. Clean and silent rooms, proactive approach on additional service. I believe that for businessmen today it's crucial to have a internet working in all rooms and apparently the entire first floor had no coverage.

Room Tip: Better not to choose rooms on the ground floor (internet might not work)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renato28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Farnesina Hotel
#863 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Flaminio
Residence Sacconi
Residence Sacconi
#937 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Villa Maria Regina
#669 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Flaminio
Villa Glori Hotel
Villa Glori Hotel
#242 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Grand Hotel Fleming
#419 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Flaminio
BEST WESTERN Hotel Astrid
BEST WESTERN Hotel Astrid
#262 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Chateau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Chateau Hotel

Property: River Chateau Hotel
Address: Via Flaminia 520, 00191 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Business Hotel in Rome
#147 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#164 Family Hotel in Rome
#181 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — River Chateau Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Fastbooking, Expedia, TravelUp and LoveHolidays so you can book your River Chateau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Chateau Rome
Hotel River Chateau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing