We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
River Chateau Hotel
Ranked #313 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We arrived at the hotel and we checked in.This didn't take as long as we thought it would of.The rooms are very clean and also very spacious.However in the junior suite there is no tea and coffee making facilites as it says there is on SOME websites. The hotel is close to a bus stop which goes pass a few metro dtations on the way.I'd reccomend taking the bus instead of the tram as the buses are frequent amd quicker.The food in the hotels restaraunt is disapointing (EVENING MEALS) In the restaraunt where you eat at night the service is a bit poor and the atmosphere is also a little boring. The other restaraunt next door (Brandos) is far better and cheaper.There is a mini bar in the rooms but these are expensive.Instead
you can go to a small supermarket just around the corner.The breakfast is more pleasing than the evening meals but it's continental only.The staff are very helpful and friendly and i would definetly come back.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliver1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 54 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel during the 6 nations rugby match. The hotel was a superb, all the staff were very friendly and helpful at all times. We were offered an upgrade on the room, it was a mini suite with a lovely terrace well worth it. The pictures on the internet of the hotel is exactly the same. This hotel was near the stadium however only a 40 min walk to the centre of Rome. We would highly recommend this hotel to our friends and plan to return during the summer month.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Casalucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Before booking, I read great reviews of this hotel, which swayed me to book it. But we found it to be disappointing.
Good points were it's location in relation to stadio Olympico, as we had gone to watch the England match there. But we had booked a triple room and were given a very small double with a trundle bed scrunched into a corner, the room was far too small.
The breakfast that everyone raves about is a very average continental breakfast with really terrible coffee and the hot food ran out every morning and was not replaced. The breakfast room was also not large enough to accommodate the guests, which caused long waits.
There was no hot water for 3 out of the 4 days we stayed and our complaints about this were treated with contempt.
The bar was shut at midnight on Saturday and they would not serve as room service, since they show a rating as four star, this is unacceptable.
The staff were pretty nice, but ineffectual, overall I could not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: didn't se one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAXXYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This is a fantastic hotel that is ideal if you are visiting a sporting or concert event at Stadio Olympico. The staff here are fantastic and nothing is a chore and they took the time to tell you how to get about the city and provided a complimentary map marked with all the attractions and artefacts to go and see. The hotel is kept spotless and the room we had was superb (room 409) with a stupendously large double bed, huge TV and a private balcony overlooking the road and a marble bathroom. For security there was a digital safe in the room. Breakfast was taken in the Terrace Restaurant which is on the first floor and is very good with both the expected continental fayre and fried breakfast available. Its a 45 minute walk down to Piazzo del Populo on the edge of the city but this can be reached by the tram service just over Ponte Milvio (famous for the lovers padlocks). Within the area there are many restaurants and bars to keep you well fed and watered. There is even a supermarket just around the corner if you want to buy some of your own provisions. We took a taxi from the hotel to St Peters Square and it cost 15Euros (Mar 14) which if you can afford it is more direct than the trams and buses. The hotel itself if 45 mins from Fiumicino Airport, we opted for the hotel transport but most taxis were advertising a flat rate of 40Euros for the journey. Highly Recommended.

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe room with a balcony, ours was Room 409
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 905philt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

A great little hotel. Staff are friendly and super-efficient in sorting out small problems (like a light on a dimmer switch that, at night, we found particularly bright). Breakfasts are good, served in a well appointed room without the hassle often experienced in larger hotels. It is a little way from the tourist parts of Rome but the No.2 tram quickly got you to Piazza del Popolo from where everything is walkable. It is also near to the Stadio Olympico for any rugby union (or Italian football) fans

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davedhud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Very nice small hotel with full facilities in the via Flaminia area (a little outside the centre). Ideal for business or visits in this district. Friendly and efficient. Good breakfast. Free wifi. Very comfortable bedrooms and bathrooms.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank pbru54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My wife, teenage daughter and I stayed here for 4 nights. We had a Junior Suite, room 405. Our stay was more than we expected. Spacious room with a large balcony, great breakfasts and friendly outstanding service from all staff. It may be a little out of the city but transport was no problem and we got around very easily on buses and the metro.
My only recommendation is for a kettle or coffee/tea in the room.
I highly recommend this hotel. And the price was very reasonable.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms facing the street are great. They have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lawrence T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Farnesina Hotel
#1,050 of 1,272 in Rome
186 reviews
Flaminio
Residence Sacconi
Residence Sacconi
#757 of 1,272 in Rome
65 reviews
Grand Hotel Fleming
#449 of 1,272 in Rome
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Flaminio
Villa Glori Hotel
Villa Glori Hotel
#235 of 1,272 in Rome
793 reviews
Villa Maria Regina
#643 of 1,272 in Rome
353 reviews
Flaminio
Best Western Hotel Astrid
Best Western Hotel Astrid
#195 of 1,272 in Rome
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Chateau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Chateau Hotel

Address: Via Flaminia 520, 00191 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Business Hotel in Rome
#147 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#172 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £83 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — River Chateau Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Fastbooking, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your River Chateau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Chateau Rome
Hotel River Chateau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing