We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carlo Alberto House Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
US$353
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$354
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$266
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
iQ Hotel Roma(Rome)
US$357
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$328
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Diocleziano(Rome)
US$244
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$206
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
US$198
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$204
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$384
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$272
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$953
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$469
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
46
46
13
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
46
13
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmetro stationelectric kettlewi fiprivate bathroombasic roomminutes walkingother guestspastriesmini fridgenear terminicomfortable bedsroman forumconvenient locationtwo nightsvittorioelevatorluggage
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 109 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We were really happy with our choice to stay at Carlo Alberto House. We were on a tight budget and so were very pleased with our comfortable, clean and airy room. We had our own bathroom even though it was off the entrance hall. Letizia was warm and friendly and really helped make our stay in Rome really memorable. It is close to the Metro but only a short walk from the Colloseum and other attractions.

Room Tip: Our room faced the street below so when the windows were open it was quite noisy (and it was very hot so we needed some fresh air) but the ceiling fan helped and we liked the hustle and bustle outside as it reminded us we were in Rome!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank SJ_SAlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

The Carlo Alberto House is located basically ON a metro stop, so while it wasn't very close to any attractions in Rome, it was easy to get around. The room was decent, and clean, although it was kind of odd because our double bed was actually just two twin beds shoved together, so in the night they would come apart slightly and it was easy to wake up partially in a hole.

We had one big problem with this hotel and it was that the wireless internet did not work for the entirety of our stay. It came in and out, and would maybe work for 5 minutes together if you were lucky. The management said that there was a problem with it, but I'm just not quite sure why it wasn't fixed in the 5 nights that we spent there. We needed it not for frivolous things, but to book accommodations for other parts of our trip. The part of staff who took care of breakfast could not speak English well, so when we tried to explain to her the situation she didn't know what we meant. She had me talk on the phone to another person who said she'd leave passes for the internet cafe in our room. When we got back for the day, there was absolutely nothing in our room, and we were leaving for our next location the following day with no accommodations! Finally the management (who only pops in now and then, so is not there anytime you need them) ended up walking us several blocks away to an internet point, and paying for 2 hours for us, which was nice, but very inconvenient.

The staff was very friendly and helpful except for in the situation mentioned above. The only other odd thing was that they moved things in our room when they would clean and then we'd have to search for where they were put.

We felt that the value was not good for the cost for us, simply because half the reason we booked this hotel was for the free wifi, and it didn't work! Breakfast was fine, but just a very simple toast and cereal kind of thing.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
5  Thank Lilian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letizia1221, Proprietario at Carlo Alberto House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Dear Mrs Liliana
only now we read his review we are truly sorry malfunction independent wi-fi from our will, i.e. the telephone company had a fault in a control unit electrical and we had to wait, I'm sorry I can't remember what nationality you are and maybe in your country are very rapid intervention, here in Italy is not always so!!!!!! Wi-fi is an additional service free and not may be subject to problems, we were there when you need us because we have brought us to the internet point and paid our pocket ben 6 Euro for 2 hours of internet, only to make a reservation for a Museum, I hope you've admired the gesture even though it doesn't seem to tell the truth.However, we have tried in our own small way to be helpful, remember that being a guest house has reception open only at certain times, and act only for emergencies. The double room is on request we have just five rooms and one double room. The customer is free to leave the luggage and all messy down in his room but we should move us to clean, or the customer can request expressly not cleaning the room. Last point, we're the new manager of Carlo Alberto and we are open to any advice, our breakfast are sorry that was not to his liking even though we are trying to take everybody, our breakfast includes toasts, butter, jam, cheese and Italian sausage, corn-flackes, croissants, homemade cakes, yogurt, fruit juices, hot drinks .... ... ...!!!!!
If we put in a position to know his tastes or if we say or say what is missing we will be happy to hear it, there are always real and constructive criticism to improve our work and customer service.Thanks to his review through which we will grow for sure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Great location only 8 mts walking distance from Roma Termini Train Station and close to many attractions. A Metro stop and a grocery store are just a few steps away. Letizia and the staff were very friendly, informative and helpful and they went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. The room was spacious, clean and had a refrigerator. Good breakfast to start our day and there was coffee, tea, juices and pastries available 24 hours. We highly recommend Carlo Alberto House. If we go back to Rome we will stay at CAH.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

First of all we had some trouble getting to the apartment. Since it is an apartment in a apartment building with little signs of it being where it is. When we found it and climbed the many stairs, we were greeted by one of the owners. You walk straight in to a barlikekitchen with 3 different coffee-makers, some plates, glasses and cutlery, a bottle of wine and a small fridge.

The owner gave us the keys to the apartment and to our room. When we got into our room we saw a small basket with pre-filled croissants. 6 of them since we were staying 3 nights. This was breakfast and if we wanted we could use the food in the main hall. She showed us the room which seemed rather comfy and off she was, never to be seen again.

Well the bed was nice, but all corners of the room were filled with haircloths of the people who stayed here before we did... When I took a shower, the shower flooded. Probably also from haircloths since there was hair everywhere. So the next morning I left a note asking for a proper vacuum and a check-up for the shower. As did I the morning after and the morning after. Nothing. Since we paid at arrival and did not see the owner any more, they apparently lived somewhere else in the city, we felt completely ripped.

The breakfast at the B&B was lousy. I know Italians aren't big breakfast people but we arrived on a Friday and the bread she told us to use, was the same bread available on the Monday we left.

I must own up it wasn't all that expensive, 60 Euro's a night per room, but being used to British prices (£ 50) and especially British service, this was a most disappointing experience!
In all honesty I must add that in December I received an e-mail that the B&B was transferred to a new owner, so it might have gotten better...

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stapou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letizia1221, Manager at Carlo Alberto House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Hello
we MUST to reply to you NOW soon you stay on Carlo Alberto house in October 2011 SEVEN MOUNTH later you remember to write some NOW in May 2012?????!!!!!!!
In seven month happened more think I am Letizia new manager in Carlo Alberto House from April 2012 we are unpleasent for everything and I can tell you nothing because
thank you
Letizia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Good location as it is near train station, convenient store and cafes nearby. The neighborhood seems like a side market but the bldg is secured which somehow made us feel safe. The elavator/lift is only good for 3pax, hence for a traveller couple with luggages, you would have to take 2 trips. But those were small matters, the comfortable room and friendly staff made the stay worthwhile. Beside you can eat breakfast (bread, cereal) all you want all day from the dining area.

I would definitely book again if I will go back to Rome. That is IF we would like to be a victim of Pickpocket in Rome again :p

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank zepolartim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews