We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of Villa della Fonte

Villa della Fonte
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa della Fonte
Ranked #532 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Somerset, England
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed here in May for 4 nights. The hotel's strongest plus is its location as you are in the heart of a lovely area of Rome where there is plenty of life and character. It was slightly noisy in the square nearby at night but that didn't bother us. It was more than made up for by the number of places to eat nearby and the ability to walk to many of the major sights.We walked to the Vatican, the Coloseum, Piazza Novona, Trevi etc from here.We are happy little wanderers!

The hotel tself is small, only 5 rooms, so you don't get public areas and much contact with other guests apart from breakfast on the terrace, which is very pleasant if the weather is good enough. The breakfast itself is a little basic, like many in Italy, and needs to be chosen the previous night but that is a minor niggle from someone who likes a big and varied breakfast-and I know that many others aren't so bothered.

Everything is clean and comfortable and the staff are helpful. All in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merriott-Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    47
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
21
76
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This was my first trip to the Eternal City, and I couldn't have wished for a better place to stay. Villa della Fonte is tucked away in a little alleyway off the piazza, and whilst Trastevere is full of tourists, there are plenty of well-priced little restaurants and hidden corners to discover that feel as if they haven't changed for centuries. The staff were very friendly, willing to share great restaurant recommendations and help with anything we needed. Breakfast is varied, with plenty of options that you can select from the day before (cereals, croissants, juices, bread rolls, coffees, etc.), and can be eaten outside on the beautiful little terrace in summer. We stayed in Rooms 4+5, which were fairly spacious and had air-conditioning and double-glazing on the windows, which meant that noise was never a problem for us. Trastevere was a welcome home-from-home after hours of traipsing through busy Roman streets, and after a simple supper and some gelati, Villa della Fonte was a fitting place to rest our weary feet - I cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: Rooms 4+5 appear to be quieter than the others, and are in a separate wing - perfect for 3-4 people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillerød
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The location at Santa Maria Square is excelent, especially the evening atmosphere is fantastic. The room, the beds and the bathroom were very good. The cleaning and maintenance of the room was perfect. The service in general was very friendly and very helpful. The terrace is gordious both for breakfast and for relaxacation at afternoon and evening. It would be nice if it was still unlocked after 22 o'clock. We also recommend some comfortable chairs for afternoon use. Breakfast was ok except that the coffee was not hot. We recommend thermobottles for the coffee. We had a perfect vacation: Starting the days with the highlights in Rome, then back to Villa della Fonte to relax for a couple of hours and finally have the dinner in Transtevere.
Best Regards, Kirsten, Amanda and Niels Jørgensen

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niels J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordentown, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I am a frequent visitor to the Eternal City. My family is from the Trastevere neighborhood so I try to stay there as much as possible. I had tried several hotels/B&B's in an attempt to immerse myself in Roman lifestyle while at the same time giving myself the American comforts I have (unfortunately) become accustomed to. After years of hit or misses I have finally found my home away from home. Villa della Fonte is as close to perfect as it gets. The rooms were modest but spotless, comfortable, cool (a not so small miracle in July) and charming. The staff was unbelievable. From the front desk to the maids to the delightful old woman who made us our cappuccino and cornetti. They were truly magnificent. On top of all this, the hotel was just off of Piazza Santa Maria in Trastevere. For those of you who want to be within walking distance of the major attractions, but want to experience la dolce vita of the old Roman neighborhoods, this is the location for you. My home may be in the United States, but my heart will forever and always remain in Trastevere. I have only one bit of advice....do not hesitate, don't think about it, stop questioning, and BOOK THIS PLACE.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
So. Calif.
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

well if you like comfortable beds and clean outside surroundings, this is not a place for you. We were already tired travelers and these beds are like sleeping on the floor. While it's a cute small "villa", it's in a plaza that is so busy and crowded that it's hard to enjoy b/c it's so overwhelming. Too many people doing nothing in the piazza and while you are just around the corner from the action, you can sometimes hear it all night long along with the hourly church bell rings. The rooms look like décor was bought at the goodwill (used) and the patio is cute but has little shade and no service (no cold drinks or anything to help cool down and relax). The people are nice and helpful and they do give you whatever you want to eat for breakfast with declicious coffee but you must order it the night before. The outside area is filthy b/c of so many people living, touring there so be careful.
If you walk to the right away from the plaza, just around the corner there are very inexpensive restaurants with very good food and I think it's where the locals go. If you exist to the left to the Sta Maria piazza it will be pricey and touristy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelpnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villafonte, Proprietario at Villa della Fonte, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for choosing Villa della Fonte for you stay in Rome, and for your positive comment on our home-made coffee.

We are very sorry that you didn’t enjoy our furniture's, because, due to the antiquity of the building (XVII century), our furniture is made by specialize craftsmen.

Regarding the noise during the night, Villa della Fonte is located close by one of the most important historical square in Roma, Piazza Santa Maria in Trastevere(pedestrian area), one of the principal meetting point for turist and italian people.

For this reason, our beautiful neighborhood has been chosen by many foreigners as a residence or point of reference, because Trastevere with its narrow streets, its squares, and its varied colors always gives magical atmosphere.

Our Best Rgard,
Villa della Fonte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

My wife, mother-in-law, and I stayed here for 5 days and we loved it. From the quaint rooms to the amazing breakfast on the terrace, it was a little slice of quiet in a busy city.

We like staying in Trastevere because it is away from many tourists and more Roman than the tourist traps. Good local food is nearby. Rooms are small, but not cramped.

Laundry can be done around the corner.

Don't be put off by the entry of this place. Graffiti does not indicate a bad area. This holds true for many areas of Europe.

Room Tip: Room 1 will give you a view of the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoedspruit
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

A fantastic little hotel very well located on a quaint side street in Trastevere. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast on the rooftop terrace was truly memorable, especially the generous chocolate croissants!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobynK_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
No photo provided
Trastevere
No photo provided
Hotel San Francesco
#288 of 1,258 in Rome
681 reviews
Trastevere
Sonnino Suite B&B
Sonnino Suite B&B
#485 of 1,258 in Rome
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Hotel Locanda Carmel
Hotel Locanda Carmel
#645 of 1,258 in Rome
170 reviews
Trastevere
VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Trastevere
Hotel Domus Tiberina
Hotel Domus Tiberina
#510 of 1,258 in Rome
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa della Fonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa della Fonte

Property: Villa della Fonte
Address: Via della Fonte d'Olio 8 | Trastevere, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#158 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa della Fonte awaits for you in a typical eighteenth century palace, with a fabulous terrace and its breathtaking view and with all the best services you can wish for. Johann Wolfgang Goethe once said: For only in Rome can one prepare oneself for Rome: and he was right. Even better if done at Trastevere – we dare to add – the most authentic neighborhood of this city. With its wonderful squares and typical alleys, it has always been the true beating heart of the city and not only because of its central location. From craft shops to charming squares and fountains, masterpieces of the finest art, till you reach the typical Roman “Trattorie”. Surrounded by all this is Via della Fonte d’Olio, typical alley in Trastevere not far from the fascinating Piazza Santa Maria in Trastevere. Within all the Hotels and the Guest Houses of Rome, Villa della Fonte has an enchanting and privileged location. In the heart of Trastevere it’s only a two minute walk from Trams and Buses that will easily take you to the most beautiful and famous places of our city: Colosseo, Fori Imperiali, Piazza di Spagna, Piazza Navona, Via Veneto, Fontana di Trevi and many others. All places are within reach even on foot. Staying at Villa della Fonte is no doubt the best oportunity to explore this magical and historical roman world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Villa della Fonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Della Fonte Guest House Hotel Rome
Hotel Della Fonte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing