We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel on a quiet street”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Oceania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Oceania
Ranked #129 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming hotel on a quiet street”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

Hotel Oceania was in a great location, close to the Termini train station but on a quiet side street. The service was excellent and the coffee was as good as Rick Steve's said it would be. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jewliweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    197
    49
    18
    5
See reviews for
149
232
25
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

The off-season rate of 100 Euros a night was good value for Rome. We were able to easily walk from the central station with suitcases. Very handy to walk to the Spanish steps, and good bus services nearby. Excellent affordable little cafe in same street. Breakfast basic but adequate, and free wifi in the comfortable common areas was fast and efficient. Good cable TV channels. Rooms were clean. Tiny bathroom but that's normal in this part of the world.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barnabusbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sisters, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

After staying at a hotel in Paris that was highly rated, we were afraid what might be in store for us at this hotel. We were pleasantly surprised. After being completely ripped off by the cab driver who charged us 50 Euros to get here from the airport (found out that it should have been closer to 30 Euro, so watch this) we arrived to a hotel that is on the 3rd floor. We took the small elevator up and entered the lobby. It was the first time we felt cool all day. Paradise already! We were greeted by a gentleman who was doing some repairs, but he quickly showed us where we could sit down. After a few minutes, Anna arrived. We had requested that we be able to check in early, and she informed us our room was ready. She took us there and showed us the beautifully decorated room and its amenities. She asked us if we needed anything else. We asked if she could make reservations for us at the Borghese Gallery. She did!! She also gave us a map, and marked out all the places we wanted to go. She advised us on her favorite place for dinner, which was wonderful. The entire staff was wonderful, especially Anna, Radu and Liliana. A few other things. I saw mentioned in other reviews that a few people were not happy about the "oversized kitchen towels" that were given as bath towels. I LOVED these towels. They are beautiful, high priced and top quality Italian linens. They are absorbent, and perfect for hot climates. They dry quickly. I think if people could go to another country and enjoy the differences (what has worked for hundreds, if not thousands of years) instead of trying to compare everything to what they are used to, they would find their trip a much better experience. I am thankful for all the new experiences. If I wanted it to be America, I could travel closer to home! One last thing, out internet service was spotty, and usually had to go out into the patio to have it work well,but again, adapt! The patio is a lovely place to sit outside and visit with others. Have a glass of wine and relax!

Room Tip: Mention Rick Steves!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mfranfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

Hotel Oceania is well located in Rome, with a short walk to just about everything a tourist would want to see. Our room was just as advertised. Air - conditioned, TV (with only 3 channels), very clean. The clientele is very American, mainly because of the endorsement by Rick Steves. If you are looking for a more international setting, I would say that this hotel is not for you.
It is interesting to note that that the breakfast is basically all pre-packaged food. No fruit or yogurt in sight. The towels are dish towels not bath towels. Also, we only had a floor (shower) mat for one day. I asked for one several times, to no avail. My friend and I were charged extra euros to have our morning coffee in our room. Additionally you only pay the 158 euros if you are paying cash, other wise it is 178 euros for the room we were using. Neither the coffee up charge or the credit card up charge were told to us by the hotel staff. Really, this explanation would be very helpful at check in.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pharmamama54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
440 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

We got this hotel from Rick Steves' guide to Rome, and stayed for 3 nights, then left for Tuscany and came back for our last night before returning home. Our first stay was fine because we stayed in the newer area of the hotel. The hotel itself is just the 3rd floor of a random building. The staff was very helpful and the owner, Stefano, made us feel welcome. They serve a nice continental breakfast in the mornings. Free WiFi is available in the public areas (and apparently some rooms, but not ours). Drawbacks: the towels were like small or large tablecloths, although they did absorb water. On our second one-day visit, we were in one of the older rooms--they gave us a bigger room with an extra bed (which we didn't need), but the shower was just a curtained off area of the tiny bathroom. If you weren't careful, the shower was pouring down on the toilet (more like a being on a boat than in a modern hotel). Again, however, the staff was extremely helpful when we had a problem. I would stay there again but I would make sure we had a newer room. By the way, there is no restaurant, spa, room service or swimming pool, but the review keeps getting rejected when I mark those things "not sure."

Room Tip: Ask for a newer room & Rick Steves' rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Myrna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago Suburbs
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

We spent two nights here in May, 2011 and really enjoyed it. The location is excellent, on a quiet side street just off the Piazza della Repubblica, close to the metro and a step-on, step-off city tour bus stop. We were able to easily reach the principal city sights from there. Our room was large and very well appointed (and I love that 1940s style elevator to get you there!) The staff was excellent, very helpful. (I had trouble backing up some photos from my camera to a flash drive and they assisted me.) There are a number of very good restaurants nearby so you don’t have to fight the tourist hordes around the Spanish Steps or the Fountain of Trevi. We’ll go back when we’re in Rome.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RetiredSpanishProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

There are many reviews with nice things to say about this hotel (quaint, friendly staff, clean, nice rooms). We chose this hotel based on these reviews and also Rick Steve's recommendation. The nice things are all true, but the reason I cannot recommend this hotel is because of the horrible bathrooms. We stayed in this hotel on two different periods (these were pre-booked, otherwise I would have canceled after the first stay). On both occasions, the room was nice, large, and airy, but the bathroom was tiny. The shower is just enclosed by a curtain and there is no pan. The shower space encroaches on the toilet. During showering the whole bathroom floor is flooded with water and takes forever to drain out and dry up! All faucets drip constantly. The towels are tissue paper thin. For 220 Euro/night, such sub-par bathrooms are unacceptable.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank bdatl_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#122 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Esquilino
Aberdeen Hotel
Aberdeen Hotel
#267 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#64 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#121 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
Esquilino
Residenza Cellini
Residenza Cellini
#27 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#98 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oceania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oceania

Property: Hotel Oceania
Address: Via Firenze 38, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#188 Family Hotel in Rome
#196 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Oceania 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Oceania since 1975 is located in an 19th century building in the historic and commercial heart of Rome, within walking distance from the Trevi Fountain, the Quirinale Palace, the Spanish Steps, the Colosseum, the Roman Forum, Piazza Barberini and Via Veneto. Anna, Kira and Roberto, leaded by Stefano, work hard to maintain a caring family atmosphere, provides lots of thoughtful extra touches and lead the guest to a true travel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Oceania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceania Hotel Rome
Hotel Oceania Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing