We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, but not much else to recommend it” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Oceania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Oceania
Ranked #115 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice staff, but not much else to recommend it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night post-cruise since it was near the train station and we had a flight the next morning. Walk from station wasn't bad but wouldn't do it again with a suitcase, especially once you get there and have to carry it up the stairs to get to the elevator. Room was ready when we arrived around 1pm, which was great. Room itself was fine, but spare. Safe didn't work, needed to move furniture & unplug a lamp to use an outlet. Bed was comfortable. Lots of street noise. Bathroom is very tiny, tiled room with shower curtain in the corner to create a shower. As other reviewers have mentioned, it is very slippery & gets the bathroom all wet. We had to leave before breakfast, so they brought us a bag of processed cheese & crackers that we could have for breakfast the next morning. Staff was very nice and helpful.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dksd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    195
    49
    18
    5
See reviews for
147
230
25
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairhope, Alabama
Level Contributor
245 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

What a wonderful experience we had here! In the lobby, they have a signed book from Rick Steves, and I can see why. The staff was incredibly knowledgeable and informative. Everyone we encountered was dedicated to outstanding customer service. The breakfast, included in the price, was modest but good. The location is near several cool attractions and a subway station. Prices were very reasonable. A great Rome option!

Room Tip: Be aware that the elevator can be a challenge. It is very small and shared with another hotel one fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Oceania. They had a great breakfast every morning. Easy walk to subway. We walked all around the city and when we got tired it was easy to grab the subway back. Chose to climb the stairs or take the elevator up to the hotel main floor. The staff was so much help, giving us suggestions for restaurants, directions, etc. Comfortable rooms with A/C

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Loved the Hotel Oceania!! We stayed there for three nights the beginning of April. Great location to train station and metro stop. The room was very clean and comfortable. They have a great outdoor terrace to have drinks. The breakfast was good with lots of variety. The staff was extremely welcoming and helpful!! This was a great start to our Italy vacation. I would definitely recommend the Hotel Oceania for anyone staying in Rome!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jscrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed for three nights at Hotel Oceania in late April. The building was old and charming with a huge stairway and old elevator. The room itself was great. It was very clean, comfortable, and had a big window facing the courtyard. Breakfast was included and consisted of pastries, fruit, yogurt, and amazing coffee. The staff were so welcoming and willing to help with any directions and information we needed. The location was also ideal. Very close to shopping and a convenient metro stop. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sflower123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Point, NC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have stayed for two consecutive years in Rome at the Oceania. A great staff and the rooms are clean and efficient. I also like the location near the Repubblica Metro stop. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank pikerscott2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at hotel oceania for 3 nights in May, it was charming, incredibly clean and all the staff were so kind and helpful. The breakfast was nice and varied with fruit, freshly made cakes, cereal, yoghurt, juices and coffee. They have a lovely courtyard to relax in with a drinks menu, they made us feel so welcome and seemed to be always around if you needed anything. This hotel made the last leg of our Italian holiday really enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabethbret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#129 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#126 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Esquilino
SuiteDreams Hotel
SuiteDreams Hotel
#76 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#91 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Esquilino
Aberdeen Hotel
Aberdeen Hotel
#278 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#64 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oceania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oceania

Property: Hotel Oceania
Address: Via Firenze 38, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#188 Family Hotel in Rome
#196 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Oceania 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Oceania since 1975 is located in an 19th century building in the historic and commercial heart of Rome, within walking distance from the Trevi Fountain, the Quirinale Palace, the Spanish Steps, the Colosseum, the Roman Forum, Piazza Barberini and Via Veneto. Anna, Kira and Roberto, leaded by Stefano, work hard to maintain a caring family atmosphere, provides lots of thoughtful extra touches and lead the guest to a true travel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Oceania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceania Hotel Rome
Hotel Oceania Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing