We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were lucky”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carlito Hotel and Hostel
Ranked #646 of 1,259 Hotels in Rome
Chester
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We were lucky”
Reviewed 31 July 2012 via mobile

We had a good room, though it could have been cleaner, however from what I could gather, we were lucky, some rooms were much worse. The bathroom window was simply a hole in the wall with no curtain, which was slightly off-putting, especially as the shower faced the "window". The staff were not overly helpful and there was no kitchen! However, it is a good location and the price was very reasonable! Plus you get to be in Rome!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danidawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    66
    21
    15
    4
See reviews for
5
23
57
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at Carlito's Way. Stayed here for two nights in the building next door to the embassy. The rooms are old but very spacey. Shared the bathrooms which were clean and tidy. Handy location, only a short walk to Roma Termini or there's a metro line just at the end of the street. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keels13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We stayed for 10 days while we roamed around Rome, Fantastic value and nice room. really enjoyed our stay. would highly recommend. Very close to Termini train station and metro...excellent connections.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

This hostel wasn't that bad, but it had its problems. First, you check-in at one place and they tell you that your room is in a building 3 blocks away.... It isn't very well situated but it isn't that bad either (30 mins of walking to the city center). The beds were uncomfortable, it gave my friend sore neck. The bathrooms were okay, cleaner than the rooms which is not very common! It is a very quiet hostel so if you need to sleep, this is the right place. There is no kitchen or computers.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank emiliebolduc11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

We stayed here in August 2009 and August 2010. The staff were friendly and the room was clean although not very modern. You'll have to check in at Hotel Des Artistes and then they'll show you to the hostel which is a 3 minute walk away. It's a great location as there is a metro station just around the corner. It's also really close to many restaurants, internet cafes and the Termini Station. I would definitely recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LemonHair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

We booked through hostelworld.com and thought we would be staying in a central location near the train station in Roma. However, when we checked in, they said they were out of room in that particular building and tried to have us stay in a building much farther away, down a questionable alley right near an embassy with lots of soldiers walking around with machine guns! I would have felt more safe if my friend and I (2 single females) weren't the ONLY two people staying in the building. I quickly contacted the front desk and told them that our new placement was unacceptable, and they somehow found an open room in the building we originally booked.

The place was clean, be be careful when you book that you know for sure where you are staying!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iwander711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2010

Service was very good. Very helpful and friendly staff.
The rooms were basic but comfortable.
Location wasn't bad, close to metro station and some sights.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodgoose610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#460 of 1,259 in Rome
290 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Il Papavero
Hotel Il Papavero
#988 of 1,259 in Rome
366 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cressy
Hotel Cressy
#782 of 1,259 in Rome
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B&B Trastevere Resort
#949 of 1,259 in Rome
99 reviews
Resort la Rocchetta
#233 of 1,259 in Rome
187 reviews
Hotel Lodi
#271 of 1,259 in Rome
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlito Hotel and Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlito Hotel and Hostel

Property: Carlito Hotel and Hostel
Address: Via Villafranca 18/a, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Carlitos Way Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing