We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carlito Hotel and Hostel
Ranked #658 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 21 October 2009

Had a lovely time staying in Carlito's Way. Decent beds, excellent showers. No AC but a fan. Near Termini station, ok to find, make sure you take a map. Roof terrrace, friendly bar across the road. Supermarket round the corner. Good staff, breakfast vouchers. Luggage storage.
All round GOOD.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
2  Thank dichohecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2008

Very disappointed with Carlito's Way. I was trying to reserve rooms online using Hostelworld and through a website error that Hostelworld has already acknowledged, reserved rooms for three (instead of two). I called this hotel to cancel immediately and they have insisted on continuing to charge me for that web site error.

I am having to dispute it through my credit card company. Will report the results but I am not pleased with how I've been treated. They say they are concerned and that they care but refuse to acknowledge a simple website mistake (one that Hostelworld has already acknowledged and happily refunded my deposit).

My son and his friend did stay there earlier and reported a reasonable good experience but this places a shadow on their integrity.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JoeZeppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2006

This was a great hostel to stay in! It was dirt cheap but very safe and owned by a beautiful hotel (that's where you check in) The rooms were basic, but that's what my travel buddies were aiming for. We spent so much time out in Rome that the basicness of the room was all we needed. REALLY close to the main train station and the hotel that runs the property offers a reduced rate bus tour in most langauges. It was really good and a great afternoon overview of the area!

  • Stayed: December 2005, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BentleyTravelFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2006

Before I found out I was going to have an additional traveller on my trip, I had originally reserved a spot in the hostel portion of Hotel/Hostel des Artistes, which runs Carlito's Way. We ended up reserving a private double with shared bath, which at the time was significantly cheaper than the private ensuite. Upon arrival to a dark and rainy Rome, we made our way to Hotel des Artistes to check in (the check in/lobby area is on the fifth floor). During the check in process we offered a room with private ensuite bath for a discounted price for the second night of our stay, which we are glad we did. After checking in, we were led a couple blocks north to an annex which was located in one of the three buildings that house the Hotel des Artiste/Carlito's Way rooms. The room was sufficient, nothing luxurious, but it provided a place to sleep and the shared bath was directly across the hall and was usually never occupied which was nice.

During the day after our first night, our bags were moved by the staff to our new room in a building next to the main building and we found the new accomodations much more luxurious. A flat screen tv mounted on the wall at the foot of the bed, a spotlessly clean bathroom, and efficient air conditioner were welcomed.

The use of three buildings keeps the exact location of your room a secret until you arrive, but they are all within a few minutes walk of the main building. Each building has a lift, which makes lugging heavy bags much easier. The main building is a few blocks from Rome's Termini train station and metro, which makes travelling much more convenient, although Rome is better explored on foot. The staff were very welcoming and went out of their way to help us feel comfortable. Overall, the private ensuite rooms of Carlito's Way are Highly Recommended. However, if your main concern is your budget, the rooms with shared bath will serve you well as a base for showering and sleeping.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank socaljsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2006

We LOVED Carlito's Way, and would happily recommend it to friends. Carlito's Way is spacious and quite. With the Soviet Embassy next door, security is not an issue!
BJ,
Winnipeg, CANADA

Stayed: May 2006
4  Thank barbRev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
cape town, south africa
12
Reviewed 19 September 2005

It made us want to extend our stay in rome for a lot longer! comfortable, spacious, clean rooms and friendly staff - i couln't ask for more! we had just arrived from a disastrous stay in anacapri and it was your hospitality and romes amazing culture and history that made our trip all better again!
justin and melanie, cape town, south africa

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
City, State
11
Reviewed 3 September 2004

for the price, you can't beat this clean place to stay in rome. The staff is friendly and the maids are very curteous of my sleeping habits, they have free computers to use for online access in the reception area and even though the hostel had no a/c, the table fans were more than enough to keep me cool in the august heat. highly recommended. ~johann from NY, USA

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Cressy
Hotel Cressy
#854 of 1,269 in Rome
126 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel des Artistes
Hotel des Artistes
#251 of 1,269 in Rome
1,313 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#449 of 1,269 in Rome
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Pensione Giamaica
Pensione Giamaica
#697 of 1,269 in Rome
50 reviews
Hotel Lodi
#283 of 1,269 in Rome
523 reviews
Tempio di Apollo Hotel
#868 of 1,269 in Rome
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlito Hotel and Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlito Hotel and Hostel

Address: Via Villafranca 18/a, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £15 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Carlito Hotel and Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlitos Way Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing