We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Returned yesterday, worst schooltrip ever.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Acropoli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Acropoli
Ranked #1,157 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Wickford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Returned yesterday, worst schooltrip ever.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

The worst hotel I never had in Italy.
At the arrival in your room you have the impression that the bed has not be changed for a decade. Spots on the matrasses, don't want to know.
No service in the room. Room not cleaned, towels only changed every 3 or 4 days.
Many times I had no hot water in the bathroom. After 2 claims at the reception, they finally send somebody to repair it. No soap, no shampoo. Breakfast is at the limit comestible. Do not take any other meal at the restaurant unless you want to get ill, like 2 classmates did. I spotted a dead cockroach under my bed, close to the wall, not joking, wish I was. Building looks very unsafe, big cracks in walls and ceiling, floors sound weird, moistured wallpaper with black fungi growing on it. Hotel applies a very high price for the offered "quality" and "service". Wouldn't send a streetdog to this "hotel". Only one comment: Don't go there.

Room Tip: Please, find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Benjamin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    81
    151
    98
    297
See reviews for
122
236
44
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

Went in the spring for a city break, and it does what it says on the tin. The hotel is in walking distance to most of the citys attractions, and for the Vatican its next to the main terminal which is easy to use and fairly priced. In the area there are plenty of restaurants, coffee shops and snack food outlets. Not as posh as in the city centre, but perfectly alright.
The rooms weren't huge or plush, but the beds were comfortable and the bathroom clean.
The double glazing helped with the street noise but remember your in the centre of a city.
The welcome, breakfast and everything outside of the room was poor. But your in Rome and you'll have better things to do than stay in your hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joannelathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

Nice, not really spacious for a family with small children. We had a 5 beds room with a tiny bathroom, the shower has only a small curtain but doesn't stop to wet the floor and become a pond. It is nicer for groups or backpackers to stay over. Every day the room is well cleaned, not very quiet as I could hear our neighbour chatting. Small but nice breakfast, no juices only coffee or water with bread and jam. Nice and really helpful staff who can speak several languages as French, Spanish and of course English. Well situated in only 15 min. To the Coliseum and Mouth of Truth and many other touristic sites.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with patio view, very quiet and calm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed here in April (2 adults and 3 boys aged 8-12). We had a family room with 5 beds. It was clean and quiet. If you are looking for a place to sleep and have a hot shower after a day of sightseeing then this hotel is perfect. There is no TV or mini bar but it is absolutely fine if you are in Rome to see the sights and just want a place to collapse at the end of the day. The breakfast was fine - not loads but enough to get you going in the morning! We have no regrets about staying here - it was central, clean and perfect for us.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickiB357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yerevan, Armenia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

My sisters and I visited this hotel last August - 3 people. Before booking we were told that there is Air Conditioning in the room. Once we walked upstairs we saw that the room did not have any form of AC. I went back downstairs to the receptionist (who spoke perfect English when I was booking) to ask if there was a mistake and he said no there is no air conditioning in the room but he can just give me a fan by charging me 10 Euros a day for it. I told him I was not going to pay that 10 Euros because just minutes ago before I booked he promised me there is AC in the room. At this point he just forgot to speak English altogether. No cleaning in the room while we were there, had to go downstairs to ask for toilet paper. The towels were like paper-towels. Breakfast was a joke. The shower was a mess. To top it all off, on our last the cleaning crew came and kicked us out of the room before the check out time. If you can avoid it! Do it!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HyeJan247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Galati, Romania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

The hotel is not spectacular but from my point of view has some perks. The location is great - close to the Termini Train Station so you can make full use of that. We stayed for 2 nights (July 2011) - exploring the city so we stayed in the room just for shower and rest. The breakfast was OK...something warm to put in your belly. And for all these ...the price I think that reflected the quality. It was a cheap stay....and we made full use of it. We didn't go to Rome to stay and whine about the hotel room! After the Vatican and Trevi who cares about the lack of TV?!?!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucian12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

This place needs a good clean up. I did not want to take off my shoes in my room because the carpet was filthy! The ensuite was small and the beds were not comfortable. I understand that this is a cheap place to stay; however, there are still standards and this falls below those standards. The place needs a good renovation and upkeep. The staff at the reception counter can be helpful. The wifi access was terrible. You can only get wifi in the reception lobby.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCfromBNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
San Lorenzo
Athena Hotel
Athena Hotel
#1,005 of 1,291 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#941 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Hotel Jonico
#624 of 1,291 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Testaccio
Hotel Pyramid
Hotel Pyramid
#874 of 1,291 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Monti
Hotel Santa Prassede
Hotel Santa Prassede
#646 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Hotel Giotto
#1,104 of 1,291 in Rome
2.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acropoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acropoli

Property: Hotel Acropoli
Address: Via Principe Amedeo 63-67, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,157 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Acropoli 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Acropoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acropoli Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing