We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold showers and no heating”
Review of Hotel Galeno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Galeno
Ranked #1,089 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I stayed one week in this hotel. It was terrible experience. The room itself was in a descent shape, however for two days had no hot water and it was 7 degrees outside. On top of that almost 2 days with no heating as well! I was freezing my arms in the room. Probably was warmer outside when inside. The guy in reception to every request was saying "No worry, no worry I will fix that", but I had to tell multiple times.
My room wasn't cleaned for 5 days (no towel change either) and probably good, since when it was cleaned the day before check-out all my towels were soaked in cigarettes (I don't smoke!) as all room was smelling as an ash tray too.
I could hear neighbors watching TV from 7am as well as in the evening.
The 24 hour reception is not open all the time, so if you come back at night you might have to climb over the fence or call random apartments and make people angry.
The hotel refused to deal with the complaint.

Room Tip: There are hotels near Termini which will charge you almost the same and you won't have to call r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gintaras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

Found this hotel good and with nice restaurants nearby also. The Hotel is a walk each day until you reach the main areas of Rome but not excessively.

The breakfast offered was good and the rooms ok also, however if you aren't spending a lot of time at the hotel this is more than fine.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
Thank musicjukebox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The staff was helpful.
The room was so small that it was a problem to move.
Location quite good, close to Porta Pia, about 15 min by walk to Villa Borghese, 20 min to Termini railway station.
The price was really low, but its better to pay a little more for a bigger room in another hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wioleta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel end of May for two nights. We very much regret now that we did not take seriously warnings in previous comments and feedbacks.
Every single negative comment is true, and they are:
-the photo of the room on hotel’s website is so called “show room”, and it is only one room that very few get. Photos of the Hotel are old (more than 15 years probably)
-All rooms, except that one, are of a bed size with a disgusting smell both in a room and in a bathroom (terrible smell that makes you feel like vomiting). Rooms have no chair and no place to put your suitcase, you can hardly walk around your bed, furniture is old, run down and ugly, walls are very dirty, as well as windows and curtains. Blankets are disgusting. There was no light in our room (except the light coming from the bathroom) as there were no bulbs. Even after mentioning to the reception, they did nothing to replace it.
-You are asked to make a full payment at the arrival (now we know why).
-Breakfast is poor (as in many Roma budget hotels). Don’t even try to ask for more! And what is funny is that for breakfast you have to fill out night before what you u want to eat, that is, to choose between coffee or tea, butter or marmalade, bread or croissant and at what time you want it to be served!!!
-Small garden is full of garbage and dirty chairs and tables
-Free Wi Fi is accessible only in a tiny lobby (where only one chair is provided for those wanting to use internet).
-Smelly, closet like bathroom, with rust all over the tap, has a shower bath that only 5 years old can use. It’s almost impossible to get in and out, and it gives you the impression that you will get out from it even dirtier. Towels in the bathroom also smell on mould.
-Staff (two girls) working at the reception are polite, but the older man working at night at the reception is behaving like he is the Governor of the bank, and don’t you dare by any chance to interrupt him while he is writing down your passport details! Very arrogant man.

It is a shame how the owner of the Hotel is cheating all of us that come to this place, and what is he offering for almost 80 Euros per night for a double room. Shame on him!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dayanand1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

To start with, this is not a hotel but a few rooms in the ground floor of a condominium. It could very well be a flat re-fitted as a hotel.

On the plus side:
- the reception staff is kind and helpful.
- the location is very good, with good connections to Termini via metro and the centre though a direct bus
- bathrooms are clean

On the minus side.
- the rooms are really, really small. I could not even lie my suitcase flat on the floor in my single room. My family was staying in a double room, where two other beds were set for no reason (we'd clearly asked for a double), eating up all the space
- rooms are also very run down
- you can hear any sigh, any cough, any knock from any other room around you
- breakfast is miserable by any standards
- Romanian staff shouting in the morning (see above) waking the whole floor up, no decent English, no decent Italian, no politeness at all

Rates are reasonable, but even so there are many better options in Rome. I only booked here because it was last minute and will surely never come back. Avoid at all costs.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Homme_Libre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

The room is pretty small. A bed and a bathroom, no room for a chair. Noises can be heard from all over the place. Its not the cleaniest hotel but one can stay there for the hours of sleep. Staff is very friendly and polite except the old man at the reception ( usually at night) who is weird and inpolite. The location is relatively close to the centre of the town.

Thank Theo L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We were there in march 2011, room was kinda small, bathroom also. Temperature in room could be higher. Continental breakfast was reeeallt basic and cant keep you full for more than 1-2h. However for room with bathroom and small breakfast price in my opinion was OK.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin120986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#450 of 1,271 in Rome
297 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,918 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#351 of 1,271 in Rome
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Domidea Hotel
#215 of 1,271 in Rome
661 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#110 of 1,271 in Rome
1,228 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#1,883 of 3,734 in Rome
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galeno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galeno

Address: Via Dei Villini 10, 00161 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,089 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £61 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Galeno 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Galeno is located in Via dei Villini in one of the oldest district in Rome, near to the historic Porta Pia, in a quiet and elegant zone, great location for those who travel for culture and for those who come for business ( close to the hotel we have Ministries , Embassies, the hospital Umberto I) or for study (La Sapienza University, American School, French School) but especially for those who are travelling for tourism, being close to Piazza Barberini, Villa Borghese. Suitable location for those who want to walk on the streets of Rome and for those who prefer to travel by public transport. Family management , basic standard rooms, good quality at a small price , staff assistance 24 hours on 24, full availability of the staff to assist you , as you can have a pleasant stay in the capital. Open to groups to families, ability to insert children cots, for up to three years, without charge. Small dogs or cats are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Galeno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galeno Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing