We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really liked it!”
Review of Villa Porpora

Villa Porpora
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Porpora
Ranked #813 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 9 January 2008

Stayed there with my partner for 4 nights in April 2005. Took a bit of finding and is definitely further from the city centre than the websites claim! Nonetheless, the room was incredibly spacious, bed very comfortable. Metal shutters on the windows for those of us unfortunate enough to be unaccustomed to sunlight. A corridor between door of room and door of bedroom, so two doors to block out noise. And the area was very quiet.

The staff were friendly (in that faintly amused Roman way, which usually annoys me). The breakfasts were poor at best, but I would think they were standard fare for a 2-star. Outside the main door of the hotel were a few metal tables and chairs, and wonderful flowering bushes and trees. It was really pleasant to sit there at night, sip a beer and read a book.

It is a stone's throw from the Villa Porpora, and perhaps a 20 minute walk from the Via Veneto. There is a bus stop just around the corner.

Extremely good value, and I would go back any time!

  • Stayed: April 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mjmcork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 29 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
West London
1
Reviewed 12 April 2006

Booked four day stay quite pleasant. Breakfast not too bad if you like ice-coated crossiants! A bit surprised by the lack of spoken english, especially for such a major city in the world. So make sure you have a map on your travels as the one given by this hotel is pretty unless, because the hotel doesn't even appear on it! However, once you do get a map, it's pretty easy to get around and if like us you enjoy museums/galleries, then you are in the right spot. Plus it's only 20mins away by bus/tram to the Vatican City.

Stayed: April 2006
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2006

Well, picture the scene, 2 Brits, not one word of Italian turn up after a days travelling at this hotel in one of the busiest Capitals in Europe! Ring the bell and are told by a geezer who speaks little english that OUR hotel is closed for works! WHAT? are they mad? He tells us us some crappy directions to another one and shuts the door. Panic? you ain't seen nothing!
So apart from our other review on the very cool PAISIELLO PARIOLI we ain't got nothing to say on our booked hotel!
Oh, apart from the hotel websites "alleged" distances to touristy places. Don't believe the hype!!!
Thank you and goodnght

Stayed: February 2006
Thank hippypunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2006

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Villa Porpora immediately before christmas 2005. We'd read some negative reviews, but hadn't been expecting much more than basic in the first place.

We were pleasantly surprised! Yes, the building is old-fashioned (this is part of its charm!) but the staff were exceedingly friendly and helpful, and the rooms very clean. They are decorated in old mismatched furniture, but this is a small price to pay for cleaners who do their job thoroughly and provide fresh towels daily (whether you need them or not). Our room also overlooked the lovely shared courtyard below.

The hotel is located in a quiet, surburban area only minutes walk from the fantastic Borghese Gardens. Staff were very helpful in providing details of bus routes, where to buy tickets, maps etc. though we walked everywhere anyway. You can walk from the hotel through the park into the Piazza del Popollo in 30-40 mins.

I might also add that on emailing the hotel, they were happy to arrange a private taxi to collect us from the airport. This worked out cheaper than getting a licensed cab and despite the flight being delayed, the driver was waiting for us when we arrived to take us straight there.

For anyone looking for clean, friendly, budget accommodation, who is happy to either use their legs or take public transport, I definitely recommend this hotel. If you want to pay more for the sake of being right in the thick of the city, then this isn't for you!

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LuluSurrey_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2005

We stayed in this hotel in Aug 05...It is in a nice area, we felt safe walking around at night. Easy for bus into the main area Termani...Where underground or buses can be easily used to get around all the tourist stops. Rooms are clean and quiet. Our room (403) had the biggest balcony I have ever seen. Staff helpful and breakfast was ok. If you want a bargin...this is for you.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SALLYSLAPCABBAGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2005

A very decent 2 star, with excellent restaurant within 5 min walk. No need to taxi back - use the public transport - you know BUSES !! Large room with balcony, the only thing I would say is try and get a room at the front as the back road is very busy/noisy. Lovely sitting out area for breakfast too which was fine, off a pretty road and with a unique bar, old style decor but that's what I loved about it, it was different, don't go away to look at 'travel lodge' decor that's so boring. 8/10 for a 2 star.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Noonoobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2005

After reading other reviews about this hotel, I was a little concerned about going here. However, this hotel for a 2 star hotel was very acceptable. Clean tidy rooms, cleaned daily. clean bedding and fresh towels are provided every day. The breakfast is very enjoyable before a days sightseeing. Coffee and a pastry is enough for me for breakfast We are going back to Rome next year and would definitely consider the Villa Porpora as our hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank gbrownrigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
7,113 reviews
Abemus in San Pietro
#1,547 of 3,782 in Rome
16 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#221 of 1,271 in Rome
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#67 of 1,271 in Rome
1,484 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#459 of 1,271 in Rome
303 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#100 of 1,271 in Rome
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Porpora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Porpora

Address: Via Nicolo' Porpora 15, 00198 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #813 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £85 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa Porpora 2*
Number of rooms: 239
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Porpora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porpora Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing