We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, Bargain Hotel”
Review of Villa Porpora

Villa Porpora
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Porpora
Ranked #808 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 3 January 2006

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Villa Porpora immediately before christmas 2005. We'd read some negative reviews, but hadn't been expecting much more than basic in the first place.

We were pleasantly surprised! Yes, the building is old-fashioned (this is part of its charm!) but the staff were exceedingly friendly and helpful, and the rooms very clean. They are decorated in old mismatched furniture, but this is a small price to pay for cleaners who do their job thoroughly and provide fresh towels daily (whether you need them or not). Our room also overlooked the lovely shared courtyard below.

The hotel is located in a quiet, surburban area only minutes walk from the fantastic Borghese Gardens. Staff were very helpful in providing details of bus routes, where to buy tickets, maps etc. though we walked everywhere anyway. You can walk from the hotel through the park into the Piazza del Popollo in 30-40 mins.

I might also add that on emailing the hotel, they were happy to arrange a private taxi to collect us from the airport. This worked out cheaper than getting a licensed cab and despite the flight being delayed, the driver was waiting for us when we arrived to take us straight there.

For anyone looking for clean, friendly, budget accommodation, who is happy to either use their legs or take public transport, I definitely recommend this hotel. If you want to pay more for the sake of being right in the thick of the city, then this isn't for you!

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LuluSurrey_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2005

We stayed in this hotel in Aug 05...It is in a nice area, we felt safe walking around at night. Easy for bus into the main area Termani...Where underground or buses can be easily used to get around all the tourist stops. Rooms are clean and quiet. Our room (403) had the biggest balcony I have ever seen. Staff helpful and breakfast was ok. If you want a bargin...this is for you.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SALLYSLAPCABBAGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2005

A very decent 2 star, with excellent restaurant within 5 min walk. No need to taxi back - use the public transport - you know BUSES !! Large room with balcony, the only thing I would say is try and get a room at the front as the back road is very busy/noisy. Lovely sitting out area for breakfast too which was fine, off a pretty road and with a unique bar, old style decor but that's what I loved about it, it was different, don't go away to look at 'travel lodge' decor that's so boring. 8/10 for a 2 star.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Noonoobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2005

After reading other reviews about this hotel, I was a little concerned about going here. However, this hotel for a 2 star hotel was very acceptable. Clean tidy rooms, cleaned daily. clean bedding and fresh towels are provided every day. The breakfast is very enjoyable before a days sightseeing. Coffee and a pastry is enough for me for breakfast We are going back to Rome next year and would definitely consider the Villa Porpora as our hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank gbrownrigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Wolverhampton England
117
Reviewed 13 April 2005

My sister and I stayed at the Villa Porpora from 9th to 12th April 2005. The hotel was very tired and badly in need of refurbishment. The room was large and fairly clean but the bathroom which had an overbath shower of sorts did not have a shower cutain or screen and could have been cleaner. The breakfast room which was located in the basement was old and dingy and the tableclothes were very stained could not have been changed for days. The crockery was old and chipped, the rolls were stale needless to say we did not eat there again. The bar, if you could call it that, served only coke or beer and could not provide us with a glass for our can of coke but after searching managed to find a straw. The hotel was descibed as central but was in fact quite far from the major attractions approx 2-3 kms about 45mins brisk walk therefore after a days sightseeing a taxi back was needed which costs betwwen 7-10 Euro and then another to go out again in the evening. We did not think this hotel deserved the 2 stars and could not recommend it.

17  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MAINO999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank fred6905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
Best Western Hotel Rivoli
Best Western Hotel Rivoli
#533 of 1,271 in Rome
435 reviews
Parioli
Paisiello Parioli Hotel
Paisiello Parioli Hotel
#1,062 of 1,271 in Rome
77 reviews
Parioli
Parco dei Principi Grand Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parioli
Aldrovandi Residence City Suites
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#448 of 1,271 in Rome
297 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Porpora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Porpora

Address: Via Nicolo' Porpora 15, 00198 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #808 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £98 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa Porpora 2*
Number of rooms: 239
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Porpora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porpora Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing