We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, OK breakfast, staff could be friendlier”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Ranked #116 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2012

I stayed at Villa San Lorenzo Maria with a friend in a twin room. Got the train from Termini and metro to manzoni and walked the 30 mins or so to the hotel. Good first impressions but staff were slightly unfriendly. Room was quite small and stuffy but OK. Bathroom was clean but had a slight smell of sewerage. Breakfast was very samey to say the least but is your typical continental breakfast fare. Helpful kitchen staff though and kept place clean. The hotel is in a good location and is a 10 minute (very cramped!) bus journey to Colloseo, the Colloseum and near to Colloseo station with good links to the rest of Central Rome. Would recommend the hotel but if you can find better Id give them a try.

Room Tip: All rooms are decorated nicely but if its space you want, dont go for a Twin room, get a double as I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fullerface4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

535 - 541 of 1,122 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2012

Stayed at the Villa San Lorenzo Maria on 24-26 April as a surprise gift for my 50th birthday. We got off the bus at the termini and walked to the hotel which took 2 hours as we were in the right area just could not find the right street so take directions or grab a cab.
The hotel is on a quiet street set back with nice courtyard to the front of the hotel,the hotel is very clean and the reception staff very helpful they gave us a map and told us what bus to catch and where to get the metro, this advise was so helpful.
We had a bedroom facing the front of the hotel on the 4th floor, it was very clean with wardrobe dressing table and a very large comfy bed,TV with loads of channels, decor not to my taste but traditional Italian style . The en suite was well equipped with shower,bidet etc, plenty of hot water and shower caps, gel and towels supplied also a hairdryer.The only thing missing was tea/coffee making facility in the room.
The breakfast was very good bread rolls,warm croissants,meat and cheese,boiled eggs,cereal,yoghurt's etc , tea,coffee and juice. There was also a bar in the hotel any drinks bought were added to your bill.There is a Spar shop on the same road as hotel which was great for a bottle of red and a snack to relax with in your room after a hetic day.
The hotel was a little way out but a the end of the road you can get the number 3 bus which takes you to the Colosseum or you can get off earlier at Manzini to get the metro, bus and metro are really frequent and so cheap.
We saw most of the sites but will be going back again for a more relaxing time and will return to the Villa San Lorenzo Maria .

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeicesterRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This hotel is really good for the money you pay / you should book 2 - 3 months earlier/, especially if you are not used to live in 5-star hotels - it is a little bit old, like the area where it is and Rome itself - but nicely decorated' with good bathroom /new tiles and everything/' very clean, very good breakfast,' comfortable beds and pillows. Me and my daughter occupied the room on the 5th floor and the view out of windows was not great at all - some old shabby roofs but I really did not care about this because we came in the evening so tired we wanted only to have a rest and we were full of beauties we saw during the day so...But if you are lucky and get the room facing the small patio or the small garden at the entrance - still better of course. the personnel was also very friendly and polite, all of them know English and if you try to say something in Italian - they will be still more friendly. The only difficult thing is that the hotel is rather far from metro station, but you can take the bus 3 and go to Termini or Manzoni station and from there you go where ever you want. We sometimes walked in the morning but in the evening you will be too tired to do that.And something else - before travelling print a big map of the area near the hotel - to find it easily. And try a pizza in one place we discovered - it is in Tiburtina street -near the hotel. 5 minutes on foot- it is called somehow #pizza la economica# and they make it in front of you in an oven with woods. The prices are good. They also serve some appetizers as different types of salami with marinated vegetables and a lot of other things. Open in the evenings only. The area is OK and safe a little bit shabby because a lot of buildings need painting - but that is all. In the end you may like it more.

Room Tip: Ask rooms facing the patio or the garden at the entrance of the hotel? surely not 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tsarmuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An EasyToBook.com traveler
1
Reviewed 13 April 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank An EasyToBook.com traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 March 2012

my partner and I spent 2 nights in this hotel recently, and even if the rate was relatively low, we actually spent quite a lot of money for what we got. the hotel looks nice from the outside, but inside the rooms really need some fixing.
the first room we were given had a terrible smell when we stepped in: we realised it was the mould on the bathroom ceiling. we asked to change the room also because there was a dirty t-shirt left by some previous guests in one of the drawers.
the new room was better, but only one central light, no table lights near the bed (and one bedside table) so no chance to read in bed (the central light had to be switched off only from near the entrance, so you had to get out of the bed).
the bathroom was small and with some tiles to be fixed: the small window on the top of the wall difficult to open.
but the worst was the breakfast room: the first morning we were eating with ants running on our table. one of the waiters needs for sure some training: he hardly speaks Italian, and he lacks the rudiments of his job. tables are put in an incredible way: when you seat you may share your table with other gustes which is not a problem, but because the space is limited you will probably have to disturb the people sitting with you to go to the buffet.
as for the area, not too bed, but not so special...
we will not stay there again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marikendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Great little hotel in a quiet area. We had a couple of small problems on moving in but these were resolved quickly and without any fuss. Reception staff were very helpful but could have been a little more friendly. Don't worry about comments regarding the area. We had some good meals in some friendly local restaurants within a few minutes walk.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DTripper_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We were three families traveling in Rome and also nice cities in Tuscany, Umbria, Emilio-Romagna, Lombardy regions. Villa San Lorenzo was our base camp with reasonable price. It has good location for us ( we hired a Mercedes Vito for three family). Staffs were very polite and sincere. Almost every nights we drank our own vines and smoke cigars in the garden and we were given glasses, plates what ever we needs free of charge. Receptionists were very friendly and polite too. As a result, we liked hotel, staff, price (85 Euros for a family-three persons including breakfast) and all.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indianbungee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Re di Roma
#157 of 1,272 in Rome
1,337 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#226 of 1,272 in Rome
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#450 of 1,272 in Rome
300 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#76 of 1,272 in Rome
1,455 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#223 of 1,272 in Rome
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel

Address: Via dei Liguri 7, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#59 Business Hotel in Rome
#91 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £33 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Lorenzo Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing