We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Continually exceptional"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Ranked #113 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Casoli, Abruzzi, Italy
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Continually exceptional"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

This was our third stay at the San Lorenzo Maria, the last was in 2010. The hospitality shown by all the staff was even more friendly and helpful than the previously exceptional standard.
For Value for your money look no further. Despite its location in the university district and all the attractions that brings, good and indifferent, but always interesting.
Very good cheap eateries near by and handy to transport.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stellucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Proprietario at Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2012
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, thank you for posting your review.
We appreciate your comments and feel very proud that the team at The Villa San Lorenzo were able to meet you expectations and that you loved the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Villa San Lorenzo.

Kind Regards
Famiglia Piroli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    592
    312
    79
    25
    9
See reviews for
194
451
76
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

Hotel San Lorenzo Maria is perfect place to rest and enjoy holidays. We have been there 1 week and hotel staff make their best to make us feel special, we never needed to ask help, everyday they were asking us how can they help and explaining city attractions on map. I would like to thank also their manager Lorenzo AND DESK ATTENDANT Jan Franko who is hospitable and good person. As about hotel it has cute rooms with shampoo, soap and towels in bathroom, housekeeping is replacing towels everyday, rooms are clean and ordered. they have adorable little patio outside. Breakfast also was with rich variety of food. Location was perfect, there was bus which drove us to the main places. Maybe Hotel has 3 star but they surely have 5 star service, I worked in five star hotel and I know every little detail about everything and I am amazed how this little hotel staff is doing their job. I will defenately recommend his hotel to everyone who wants to rest in comfortable place with good quality of food and service. I want to thank staff for the great job they made during our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tiko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Proprietario at Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience of us with the travelling community. We greatly appreciate your wonderful words, regarding our team in particular. We work very hard to ensure your time with us is memorable so we were delighted to read you and your mother enjoyed your time with us.

Lastly we thank you choosing to stay with us at The Villa San Lorenzo, we hope to welcome you back on your next visit in Rome!

Kind Regards,
Famiglia Piroli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

6 of us stayed here for 1 night following a cruise. From the minute we walked through the door the staff could not have been more welcoming and helpful. Having arrived at 10.30am and put our luggage in hotel storeroom, we decided to have a coffee outside in the lovely peaceful courtyard whilst we planned our day. Not only was the coffee 'compliments of the house' but we were also brought a plate of warm, buttery croissants - delicious! The staff not only told us how to get around Rome easily and cheaply - the trolley bus stop is only a few minutes walk from the hotel - but also recommended a wonderful, family run restaurant within walking distance which was ideal as one of our party has mobility problems. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Rome and looking for a very good value for money hotel near the centre.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukiriguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Proprietario at Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Dear Guest,

What a delightful read your comments make. Thank you very much for your generous appreciation of your experience. The staff work very hard, and I am heartened to learn that they look happy in their work. They certainly take a lot of pride in what they do and I will encourage them to read of your gratitude. I hope you will choose to return to Villa San Lorenzo on another occasion and that we can surpass the high standards we have set ourselves. With renewed thanks.

Regards
Famiglia Piroli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Germain-sur-Vienne, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

You know what they say about the best things being in small packages ... this hotel is a shining example of that, small but perfectly formed. It's a haven of peace in that magical but very hectic city. A lovely garden and courtyard to sit and enjoy a coffee, a glass of wine or just to put your feet up and relax.

Using the nearby bus/tram you're within easy access of the historical sites, shops etc and the local family restaurants offer real Italian food at very sensible prices.

My friends and I had rooms overlooking the coutyard and the garden, we even had a balcony with a lovely view. Comfortable beds, great shower, delicious breakfast and service that was second to none.

My thanks and best wishes to Anthonio, Allessandro, Gianfranco and all the other lovely people who looked after us. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Room 406 is on the top floor but has a balcony and a view over the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fr3nchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Proprietario at Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
What a wonderful appraisal from your stay with us. I am so pleased that we got everything right for you and hope that we will indeed be able to live up to such high praise on your next visit. Thank you so much for your words of appreciation - I will personally pass on your comments via the staff bulletin board.

Best Regards
Famiglia Piroli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

My Wife and I stayed at the Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel a couple of weeks ago while on a visit to Rome to celebrate my 40th Birthday. From the moment we arrived the staff were warm and welcoming and were more than helpful throughout our 3 night stay. We stayed in Room 404 and it overlooked the courtyard at the front of the Hotel. It was a double room while not big in size it was more than adequate for our needs. The Hotel is quaint and full of character right down to the quirky lift and safety deposit boxes in the walls. This is not your typical Chain Hotel so don't go looking for the English TV channels etc. as they're not there and not required in my opinion. When we arrived we were greeted by Gean Franca (hope I've spelt his name right.) a really friendly Guy who couldn't do enough for us and was very helpful with public transport, where to buy tickets and generally the easy way around the Roman sights.

My Wife told the Manager before we arrived about my birthday and we were greeted with a bottle of Chianti on the house. We were delighted!

The Hotel is very close to the Tram stop. Take Tram 3 to Manzoni Stop, Get off here and change to the Underground and you are about 4 stops from the Spanish Steps and about 10 or so stops to close the Vatican City. Stay on the Tram 3 and you will pass the Coliseum and Circus Maximus. Get off here and jump on the 87 bus and this will take you up close to Pantheon. Go the other route via Tram 19 and this will take you to Villa Borghese and the North of Rome etc. All the Staff were great including the night porter (although stern) was polite and pleasant. Right man on the door at night. Breakfast was a continental affair but was adequate for our needs. You could have pastries, croissants, toast, yoghurt etc. along with tea, coffee and juice. All of reasonable standard and set you up for the day. The hotel is close although not easy walking distance from the Termini station in Rome. Don't book a taxi back to Termini if you are travelling via here back to the airport. Get out on the street, hail a taxi and save yourself €8. The Hotel is very good to call one for you but as soon as the Taxi receives the call he starts charging you even though you are not even in the cab :-(

Overall a great stay and we'll return and stay here again no problem. If you want value for money, reasonably central but not in the Tourist trap, this is the place for you. Mind you lots of graffiti in the immediate area which may put some people off. We looked beyond it and came home late most evenings on public transport encountering no problems. Supermarket on corner just down the road is ideal for the missing bits and bobs.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimbo-Jambini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Proprietario at Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your most appreciative feedback - the positive energy is leaping out of my PC! It gives me enormous pleasure to read this sort of review as it describes exactly how we aim for every visitor to feel when they stay at Villa San Lorenzo. Everyone who walks through the doors of the Hotel is very important to us and the team works amazingly hard to ensure that VIP status is bestowed upon each guest. I hope that you will indeed chose to make your visit an annual one and we shall look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you again for your very kind words.

Regards
Famiglia Piroli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Velez-Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

We are both disabled and we found the staff helpful freindly and acommadating ,breakfast was continental so nothing hot and no dinner in the hotel so walking to resturants was not easy.
Service was good ,reseption would call a taxi and they were allways ontime and reasonably priced , we enjoyed our 4 night stay , access to the train termini and historic sites was good.
So thank you all

D and C

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Proprietario at Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Dear Christine,
A big thank you for your review, it is great to hear you had such a good time! We surprise a lot of people with our standards, we work very hard to achieve the best we can, so thank you for your acknowledgement!

Thanks again, we hope to see you soon!
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

I highly recommend this hotel. It is In the perfect location, not right in the tourist areas, so food and things in the surrounding areas are not grossly expensive. It is quite close to Rome Termimi, which makes this hotel easily accessible. The staff are very genuine and friendly and really do go the extra mile for guests. The breakfast was great also- probably one of the best hotel breakfasts I have encontered. Finally, this hotel has a very typical 'Italian' vibe to it, which is nice, as many hotels i have stayed in usually have little to no feeling of the culture they exist in. If I was to return to Rome, i would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roamer92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Proprietario at Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Our deepest gratitude for your review, we are very proud when people believe us to be one of the best, its a huge achievement in a business so dedicated!
You are definately more than welcome to stay again, we would love to have you!

Best Regards
Famiglia Piroli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Poggioverde
#106 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Villa Pirandello
#90 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#92 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Aventino
Hotel Aventino
#62 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#91 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel

Property: Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Address: Via dei Liguri 7, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#54 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#54 Family Hotel in Rome
#59 Business Hotel in Rome
#91 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Lorenzo Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing