We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Roma”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Ranked #122 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Roma”
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights in July, booking it based on other TA reviews. Well what can I say it did not disapppoint! I arrived in the early afternoon, hot and sweaty having walked from Termini station with a heavy backpack and after a very warm welcome with a smile the first thing the manager Antonio offered me was a nice cold drink and to take my bag. While I rested in the beautiful lobby, Antonio provided me with a map and pointed out all the major sights and how to get there - fairly easy with the bus that goes straight to the Colosseum and connecting Metro stations leaving from a stop less than 2 mins from the hotel. So location wise, yes it is a bit out of the centre but in a quiet university neighbourhood in Rome, with a supermarket just next door nd a few good cheap restaurants in the area. What really makes this hotel a stand out is the service of the staff - Antonio, Alessandro and all the staff really go out of their way to help you experience the best of Rome, from siting down with you at breakfast to map out the best route of what you want to see for the day, helping you buy train tickets etc to being warm and welcoming every time they see you. If I come back to Roma I would have no hesitation in staying here again, nor recommending it to others!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    612
    324
    85
    25
    11
See reviews for
207
465
79
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

My husband & I recently returned from a wonderful European holiday. A few exceptional hotels come to mind after 5 weeks of travelling - Villa San Lorenzo Maria being one of them.

Due to travel difficulties that resulted in us missing our train to Rome, we arrived at the hotel one day late. Having booked for 2 nights & with us not able to contact the hotel at the time, we were charged for one night with the second night cancelled due to our no show (as per our agreement when booking). When we finally had phone access, I rang the hotel and apologized. They were excellent, they too apologizing for their necessity to charge for our no show & said that they would of course accommodate us for the second night at a reduced rate.

On arrival the staff were excellent, particularly the manager Antonio who served us coffee & cooled water and sat down with us outside in their lovely shady courtyard to show us the best way to get to the famous landmarks and the incidentals like supermarket and transport. He was fabulous. Our room was fresh and interior impeccable, the bed very comfortable with crisp white sheets. The foyer of the hotel is beautifully furnished with a sparkling chandelier hanging, all adding to its welcome and it was just lovely and relaxing to sit there & do any necessry internet work. Breakfast was enjoyable also with a good variety of food.

We had a lovely stay & were disappointed that it wasn't as long as it should have been. Thank you to the staff and particularly Antonio for being so helpful and giving us that wonderful old fashioned service. We'll definetly stay here again should we be back to see what we missed on this last holiday.

Paula & George Hatchman,
Sunshine Coast,QLD
Australia

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed here when were first arrived in Roma at the beginning of June this year. We were travelling with our 10-month old daughter and my husband's parents and Roma was our first stop. A very large pack-and-play crib was provided for our daughter (it was ready in our room when we arrived.) They served a nice assorted breakfast and some of the best cappuccinos we had our entire trip. The rates were quite affordable and the neighbourhood was nice - there was a good selection of restaurants and even a grocery store just a few doors over! It's a little off the beaten tourist track but you can easily access the sights by hopping on a nearby streetcar that brings you right to the Colosseum.

We were so impressed by the quality of this hotel that we didn't hesitate to book it for our return to Roma a week later. The staff here was very friendly - our daughter quickly became friends with a few of the staff members. They were also helpful: they suggested good restaurants nearby, even calling them to make reservations for us.

Thank you for making our stay truly pleasant!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Wow!! How wonderfully understanding the hotel manager Antonio is, he absolutely went out of his way to ensure that i had enough to eat with the buffet breakfast, every day there was a new G/D free breakfast item to try. He just could not do enough for me, Truly appreciative of his kindness. When we arrived we were given the choice of rooms, after following the advice on TA to ask for a courtyard facing room (THANK YOU), we were taken to one and if it was up to our satisfaction we had the option to move immediately.

It was my fourth time in Italy and it appears to be very traditional Italian property, high ceilings, lots of cool marble, we stayed in a standard room and the bed was perfect. king size, lots of dark wooden furniture in the room.

Shower worked fine, the curtains let in no light, which is not to be understated how great that was for me as i am light and noise sensitive!

We came over for a Depeche Mode concert and the directions and travel advice was fabulous, on signing in we were advised to buy a three day travel pass at 16 euros 50...you need it...the tram at the bottom of the road takes you all the way to the Vatican city area...takes about 40 mins and and and you get a wonderful tour of the city...

Can't wait to go back and yes i would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for courtyard facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budva, Montenegro
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

If you are trying to choose a hotel that would be suitable for a holiday in Rome, I think it was him. '' Wake up to the chirping of birds and the night likewise go to sleep'' 
For breakfast enjoy the operatic arias, and so you begin the day. 
The staff was helpful, they give you a city map and advised that transportation funding is to come as fast.Perhaps the only downside is that the hotel is away from the city and you need more time and sometimes two transportation funding is to take it to a desired location.Greetings to Paul, Gianfranco and Antonia.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Chose this hotel from a travel website for its price and its proximity to rome's main train station and transport hub, termini.

Ill describe location later, let me start with the hotel itself.

CUTE CUTE CUTE is how i would describe this place. It really is completely italian from the room decor, entrance, courtyards and of course the over friendly staff who were completely genuine and willing to help out with all our requests with plenty of details and options.

Arriving at 9pm , the hotel was not able to give us 2 single beds as requested via the travel website we booked it with but we were satisfied with our king sized bed in our room on level 1. The receptionist carried our suitcases up the stairs which was the first time in europe someone did this for us!

The room was fine, air con nice and cold which was perfect for europe's heat wave and bathroom quite large for the room size. It was quiet, had plenty of hanging space and wifi which worked fine for most of the time.

Breakfast was included in the price and I would agree that the coffee at this hotel was just lovely as was the italian breakfast , pastries, fruits and all that jazz.

So, the location, this is the only negative i have about this hotel. IT is more like a 2 km walk from termini or a 30 euro taxi ride which we considered ridiculous for 3 blocks so decided to walk. We dragged our suitcases across a series of cobble stone roads which was like hell on earth at 8pm and was made worse by the loads of homeless and scary looking people who were walking the dark streets on our trip to this hotel. We did arrive hot bothered and frustrated. We found out that to get to termini you have to take 2 different buses which again is annoying so we decided when we checked out the next morning to walk back to termini which again was painful given the cobblestone road but at least the scary people were less scary in the day.

Overall, a great , cute little hotel that was great value but due to the location and the annoyance of having to take 2 different buses or a 30 euro cab to get there i wouldn't stay again unless there was some miracle! I honestly think this is a shame as everything else was perfect

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Dorado Hills, California
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My husband, daughter and I stayed at the Villa San Lorenzo recently while visiting Rome. We couldn't get over how friendly and helpful the staff was. That goes for all the staff from the maids, to the guys who ran the breakfast and especially the front desk staff. I wish I could remember their names, but when we walked in hot and tired from walking from Termini station to check in the first thing we were offered was cold water - you have no idea how wonderful that was to us at the time. They gave us very helpful information as to how to get around the city from the hotel and advised us not to go to near the Vatican because they were having a special blessing that day. We would definitely stay here again on our next trip! Our room was beautiful and clean.

Room Tip: We had a small triple and had a wonderful garden porch off our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#84 of 1,258 in Rome
1,364 reviews
Villa Pirandello
#88 of 1,258 in Rome
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#137 of 1,258 in Rome
1,273 reviews
San Lorenzo
Dock Suites Hotel
Dock Suites Hotel
#182 of 1,258 in Rome
257 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#100 of 1,258 in Rome
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel

Property: Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Address: Via dei Liguri 7, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#54 Family Hotel in Rome
#59 Business Hotel in Rome
#91 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#102 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Lorenzo Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing