We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Ranked #112 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Minsk, Belarus
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed for 4 nights and really enjoyed our stay. My vote is for the great service, cleanliness and very good breakfast in this hotel. Be prepared to spend some time getting to the attractions (it usually took us about 20-30 minutes), but the hotel is a walking distance to the r/w station.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ulia_Dega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    594
    313
    79
    25
    9
See reviews for
195
451
76
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stanstead Abbotts, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed here for 1 night on our way to the south of Italy. We managed to park outside, no problem. This isn't in the 'best' area, but we had absolutely no problems. The staff were very friendly and when we lost our sat nav they printed instructions for us!! We caught a bus into the city centre which was close by. We went to an authentic pasta restaurant which was the best pasta we have ever had- forgot the name sorry! Have a fab time in Rome!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJAbazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cincinnati oh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights with our young adult daughter. The best thing about this hotel was the staff, especially Antonio and Gianfranco. They were very helpful in recommending restaurants and in giving us directions to various tourist attractions. They didn't wait for us to ask them for help but were genuine in their interest in our plans for the day and how they could assist us. They made us feel welcome and like we had a friend in such a large city as Rome. The room was nice and comfortable. The really neat thing about the room was that we had a rooftop porch off of our room all to ourselves. The breakfast was plentiful, with a lot of choices, and was delicious. We liked the location of the hotel. At first glance it seemed a little iffy but we felt safe walking around at night. There were always a lot of people walking about. The good thing about the location was that it did not feel real touristy but felt like we were in an area where people lived and made their home There were a lot of young people and students around since it is by a college. We would definitely stay at this hotel again and highly recommend it if you are staying in Rome.

Room Tip: I can't remember the room number but it had a large private rooftop porch off of the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peg2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights in July, booking it based on other TA reviews. Well what can I say it did not disapppoint! I arrived in the early afternoon, hot and sweaty having walked from Termini station with a heavy backpack and after a very warm welcome with a smile the first thing the manager Antonio offered me was a nice cold drink and to take my bag. While I rested in the beautiful lobby, Antonio provided me with a map and pointed out all the major sights and how to get there - fairly easy with the bus that goes straight to the Colosseum and connecting Metro stations leaving from a stop less than 2 mins from the hotel. So location wise, yes it is a bit out of the centre but in a quiet university neighbourhood in Rome, with a supermarket just next door nd a few good cheap restaurants in the area. What really makes this hotel a stand out is the service of the staff - Antonio, Alessandro and all the staff really go out of their way to help you experience the best of Rome, from siting down with you at breakfast to map out the best route of what you want to see for the day, helping you buy train tickets etc to being warm and welcoming every time they see you. If I come back to Roma I would have no hesitation in staying here again, nor recommending it to others!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Saree_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

My husband & I recently returned from a wonderful European holiday. A few exceptional hotels come to mind after 5 weeks of travelling - Villa San Lorenzo Maria being one of them.

Due to travel difficulties that resulted in us missing our train to Rome, we arrived at the hotel one day late. Having booked for 2 nights & with us not able to contact the hotel at the time, we were charged for one night with the second night cancelled due to our no show (as per our agreement when booking). When we finally had phone access, I rang the hotel and apologized. They were excellent, they too apologizing for their necessity to charge for our no show & said that they would of course accommodate us for the second night at a reduced rate.

On arrival the staff were excellent, particularly the manager Antonio who served us coffee & cooled water and sat down with us outside in their lovely shady courtyard to show us the best way to get to the famous landmarks and the incidentals like supermarket and transport. He was fabulous. Our room was fresh and interior impeccable, the bed very comfortable with crisp white sheets. The foyer of the hotel is beautifully furnished with a sparkling chandelier hanging, all adding to its welcome and it was just lovely and relaxing to sit there & do any necessry internet work. Breakfast was enjoyable also with a good variety of food.

We had a lovely stay & were disappointed that it wasn't as long as it should have been. Thank you to the staff and particularly Antonio for being so helpful and giving us that wonderful old fashioned service. We'll definetly stay here again should we be back to see what we missed on this last holiday.

Paula & George Hatchman,
Sunshine Coast,QLD
Australia

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paula58_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed here when were first arrived in Roma at the beginning of June this year. We were travelling with our 10-month old daughter and my husband's parents and Roma was our first stop. A very large pack-and-play crib was provided for our daughter (it was ready in our room when we arrived.) They served a nice assorted breakfast and some of the best cappuccinos we had our entire trip. The rates were quite affordable and the neighbourhood was nice - there was a good selection of restaurants and even a grocery store just a few doors over! It's a little off the beaten tourist track but you can easily access the sights by hopping on a nearby streetcar that brings you right to the Colosseum.

We were so impressed by the quality of this hotel that we didn't hesitate to book it for our return to Roma a week later. The staff here was very friendly - our daughter quickly became friends with a few of the staff members. They were also helpful: they suggested good restaurants nearby, even calling them to make reservations for us.

Thank you for making our stay truly pleasant!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Wow!! How wonderfully understanding the hotel manager Antonio is, he absolutely went out of his way to ensure that i had enough to eat with the buffet breakfast, every day there was a new G/D free breakfast item to try. He just could not do enough for me, Truly appreciative of his kindness. When we arrived we were given the choice of rooms, after following the advice on TA to ask for a courtyard facing room (THANK YOU), we were taken to one and if it was up to our satisfaction we had the option to move immediately.

It was my fourth time in Italy and it appears to be very traditional Italian property, high ceilings, lots of cool marble, we stayed in a standard room and the bed was perfect. king size, lots of dark wooden furniture in the room.

Shower worked fine, the curtains let in no light, which is not to be understated how great that was for me as i am light and noise sensitive!

We came over for a Depeche Mode concert and the directions and travel advice was fabulous, on signing in we were advised to buy a three day travel pass at 16 euros 50...you need it...the tram at the bottom of the road takes you all the way to the Vatican city area...takes about 40 mins and and and you get a wonderful tour of the city...

Can't wait to go back and yes i would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for courtyard facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ibsmyley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Poggioverde
#104 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Villa Pirandello
#96 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#92 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Aventino
Hotel Aventino
#63 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#91 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel

Property: Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Address: Via dei Liguri 7, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#52 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#54 Family Hotel in Rome
#59 Business Hotel in Rome
#91 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Lorenzo Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing