We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pros and cons”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Ranked #122 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
nyc
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pros and cons”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Overall, the hotel is in a great, off-the-beaten track neighborhood--however, while it easily connects to various parts of the city, expect to spend a decent part of your time traveling from hotel to areas for visiting, and back. The neighborhood is very local and there were lots of great dining/drink options within a five block radius. Staff was quite helpful and friendly. The hotel at first glance, appears to be very charming. Lovely little entrance from the street, and rooms facing a not-terribly-noisy courtyard. But after the initial impression, it became clear that the place is COVERED, and I mean, COVERED in mold. Now, it may be that this is a common issue given the age of many buildings in Rome. But I first noticed it in our room, with its charming details covered in black mold. The next place it was super obvious was in the breakfast room, where they have appeared to try and cover it with a fresh coat of paint, but alas, the mold is winning and popping out again all over the place! Just something to keep in mind for those who are sensitive to mold and those who don't necessarily want to breathe it in for too many nights in a row!

Room Tip: See above--Cleanliness rating based upon mold comments, not housekeeping, which was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytrailsnyc096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    601
    322
    83
    25
    10
See reviews for
199
460
79
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile


We stayed at the Villa San Lorenzo for 4 nights and had a great time. I always read the negative reviews before I go anywhere because I have found that if I am aware of any issues I can usually avoid them. With that in mind I emailed the hotel asking for a room with a court yard view. We got a coach from the airport to the termini station and walked from there to the hotel to get familiar with our new surroundings. On arrival to the hotel we received a friendly welcome and were shown our room which was compact, clean and had a courtyard view. Previous reviews have moaned that the shower is too small, I am a 6'2" body builder and I found it cozy but not too small so who knows how big these people are. The actual area the hotel is located is perfect, far enough from the centre to experience real Italy with all the restaurants that surround the hotel. There are also great transport links to the centre. The number 3 tram stop is right outside and will get you to the colleseum in under 10 mins. Special thanks to Antonio the hotel manager for all his advice, if you let him help you plan your days you will not need a guidebook. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and already have, hopefully we will be back soon :)

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TORONTO
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I am travelling through Italy for work, visiting family and to complete the Maritona di Roma. I am here for a few more days and have to say this hotel is incredible.
The reception/concierge staff are certainly one of the many highlights to my stay. They are wonderfully hospitable and kind to everyone, even some that may be slightly inconsiderate. They show care, humour and understanding to language barriers. Some of the most polite and professional staff I have seen in my career.
The rooms are spotless. I found this to be very impressive. The towels are linen and truly the finest. The decor is heritage themed but not tacky. No dirt, no bugs no dust etc.....SPOTLESS!
The breakfasts are large, full of variety as I am vegetarian and constantly refilled. Lots of fruit, pastries, cheese, cookies, cereal, cakes, eggs, and so much more.
The cappuccino's are some of the best I have ever had.
The location is close to all transportation and pizzerias.
I am excited to stay here for a few more days and am so pleased to this decision.
Maria

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariaelantra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The building is interesting; it helps to feel the Rome atmosphere. Near to the tram station, it is easy to go anywhere in the city. The staff is great, very sympathetic and friendly. The breakfast is very good.

Room Tip: Take the rooms with porchs, in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cleverson R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Read the reviews and looked at pictures, thought this hotel was perfect! And the hotel itself is really nice, great customer service, clean room, free breakfast, free wifi! It really was a lovely little place, however I walked there and it's clearly not in a good part of town!! I did a lot of walking on my trip and the surrounding area didn't give me warm fuzzies. Normally I try to find somewhere near my hotel to eat, in this case I was sure not too! Again, hotel is very nice, I just wish I had known it was in a seedy part of town!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank asiamurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2014

My lovely wife Iris and our two kids had a great and lovely time in Rome, sure due to the excellent hotel. From arrival to the last day, Antonio and his crew "served" us so to have an unforgettable experience. We sure recommend this place to all of our friends out there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xavier g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We arrived at the hotel about 1.00 pm greeted with smiles and a coffee. We started our trip at Ciampino airport from there we got the local bus at bus stop 2 that takes you just around the back of the airport to the Railway station, there we got the train on platform 2, into Rome termini the whole journey took about 1/2 an hour much better than the airport bus that we know took 55 mins. the cost of the journey 2.7 euros. one way well worth the slight detour. DO remember to activate your rail ticket before getting on the train. At the hotel we were given a map and good advise how to get around Rome, which bus or tram to get or if it was easy enough to walk. All the staff said 'Hello' with a smile. Our room was 307 yes it was small but we only slept there it was big enough for the weeks stay. We had LOADS of hot water every time we turn on the taps you needed a nice LONG hot shower after you have been walking the streets all day. Breakfast was very good plenty of coffee and tea lots of variety, juices and milk. There was a selection of meats, eggs, cereal, bread, yogurt cakes and cheeses. We could not of asked for anything more it was very good. our stay was for 4 nights and we would stay at this hotel again if we returned to Rome. The outside is cute with its shuttered windows and little garden which would of been nice to sit in if the weather had allowed.

Room Tip: We stayed in 307, we slept with the window open each night in feb and we were not disturbed by any t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank k r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Poggioverde
#120 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Villa Pirandello
#81 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#93 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#90 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Ostiense
Caravel Hotel
Caravel Hotel
#131 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel

Property: Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Address: Via dei Liguri 7, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#54 Family Hotel in Rome
#59 Business Hotel in Rome
#91 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#94 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Lorenzo Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing