We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So hospitable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Ranked #118 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Looking back at all the photographs brings back our stay at this lovely hotel. The pictures are true to life! We stayed 4 nights, March 29-April 2, 2014, and were very happy with our stay from the moment we arrived, until sadly having to say goodbye. The hotel itself is charmingly Italian, very clean and comfortable. The staff is super friendly and helpful; our few requests were promptly met with a smile. Breakfast was absolutely lovely, and plenty to choose from. Coffees/capucinos could have had me hang out in the breakfast room all day :) One of the things we loved so much was the terrace in the front. We sat together, or at times joining other guests. A very social, relaxing place to sit with drink in hand. Truly beautiful, especially lit up at night. Location wise, although not in old city centre, it is just steps from a frequently operating tram, getting us everywhere we needed to be very efficiently. I am a travel professional, and will be most happy to recommend this place to my clients. A special thanks to Antonio for all your kind help,

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 1,115 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights 2nd, 3rd and 4th of March 2014. Our room was larger than expected for us and our 9yr old son and was clean and quiet with a fridge, safe and fabulous wee balcony. The reception staff were awesome, always happy to give advise and tips which proved invaluable when visiting the tourist attractions. The breakfast was brilliant and one of the waiters went out of his way to look after our son, bringing him a special hot chocolate every morning and the morning we checked out he presented him with a special mug to have hot chocolate in once we were home. The staff here really made our stay memorable. There were plenty of places to eat close by and although we made the half hour walk to the main train station each day there is a tram which passes by at the end of the street, 5 mins walk.
We will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Small, comfortable hotel. Beautifully kept. Helpful staff. Short cab ride from Termini. Nearby super market and restaurants. We would definitely stay again and recommend to those like us who stay just one night before a cruise.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DubyaDubya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My wife and I were extremely pleased with our stay at this hotel. It is ways from the touristic places, which is both a gift and a curse. A gift because you can go out and eat and roam the streets as a local. However, the hotel is very close to a University, so if you do not mind seeing college kids being out and about whenever you are then this is a great location for you. We took the rail into the rest of the city everyday. It is very easy to get around and very easy to navigate the streets. In addition, the people at the front desk were awesome! They were extremely helpful in giving us information regarding what bus and what rail goes to where in the city. The map they gave us really went a long way as we used it everywhere we went. The room was very clean overall. There are several bars close to the hotel and at cheaper prices than in the touristic areas. Breakfast was very good. They had a variety of breads and yogurts.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jose L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed for 4 nights after a cruise. We took a shared transfer with Bobs limos from the port approx €80. Well worth the money for a stress free transfer. The hotel staff are extremely helpful. Even helped plan our trips and walked us to the tram stop on the first day. Found the area very safe and didn't encounter any problems. Walked to and from a local restaurant they recommended. There is a lot of graffiti (due to the fact that it is in the university area) which is initially off putting. We travelled by tram the number 3 to the colosseum and the number 19 to the Vatican. Room/bathroom clean. Breakfast excellent. Would definitely recommend this hotel for the money.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Piggy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The attitude was great. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was may be somehow old but nice and cozy. The breakfast was very good with a choice of ham, sausage, cheese, eggs, bakery, fresh fruit, juice, tea and coffee. It takes about fifteen minutes to get to Termini, the central railway station on foot. There are a couple tram and bus stops with 200-300 metres from where you can get to any place of interest in Rome. There are many bars, cafes and restaurants in the area. They are cheaper than in the centre.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank regaleks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Small and cozy, super clean, close to the Termini, romantic decor but the real treat is the amazing staff lead by Antonio the manager - always helpful and doing their best and a little extra!
Great value - we will certainly come back!

Room Tip: Some rooms have a small balcony facing the yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#453 of 1,270 in Rome
299 reviews
Hotel Re di Roma
#159 of 1,270 in Rome
1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#204 of 1,270 in Rome
1,075 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#78 of 1,270 in Rome
1,444 reviews
Esquilino
Suite Dreams
Suite Dreams
#106 of 1,270 in Rome
1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel

Address: Via dei Liguri 7, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#59 Business Hotel in Rome
#91 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £39 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Lorenzo Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing