We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Ranked #119 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Location was great. Easy access to all the sites. Out of the hustle and bustle of the big city. A real gem. Staff were pleasant and very helpful. It was great to relax in the courtyard after a busy day touring. Would definitely recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miranda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 1,122 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I've stayed in 5 star hotels and the service at this small place was better than at those. The location is not ideal but the price and wonderful staff make up for it. Very close to the tram and short cab ride to all main attractions. Rooms are small and simple but it's a great place to just crash on the cheap. Would gladly stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dv44321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The hotel was lovely. As a solo female traveler, on this occasion I heartily recommend it to anyone. Breakfast was great. A short step to the newspaper stand to buy a metro ticket and then you're on the tram into town with all of Roma to explore. Fantastic :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank slicedbread441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Villa San Lorenzo Maria is a wonderful place to stay in Rome. Great rooms, adorable courtyard with a wall of fragrant flowers, very good food, and above all, outstanding service.
I even received a bottle of wine when I checked out because the manager saw that it was my birthday. How nice is that?

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Very nice small hotel for the reasonable price. You can expect good breakfast, good and friendly staff…
Mediterranean-style garden where you can have breakfast, nice furnished rooms…but thin walls and small bathroom. For one night stay it was very pleasant. It is not far from bus station from where you can reach to city center easily. The hotel is in very interesting neighborhood, on the edge of San Lorenzo which is full of bars, restaurants, pizzerias and night clubs. It is non tourist area but very friendly for youngsters and everybody who feel young. Two years ago we spent there 7 nights and had a good time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GdeStePosli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My wife and I stayed 3 nights at this hotel during the middle of our European vacation. At first, a couple of things threw us off. The neighborhood was not what we first expected upon arriving. Then, the decoration theme of our particular room was also not what we were expecting. But both first impressions quickly gave way to a good appreciation for the quality of the hotel and its service. I agree with the review that says it does not look like the hotel belongs in the neighborhood. But we quickly found that the neighborhood was very convenient for us. A grocery store is right next door. We also had a laundromat very close by. The metro station is a short walk away, from which we could easily travel to the major attractions in the center of Rome, and also to the Vatican by taking another tram. A few blocks away we also found a wonderful little restaurant where we enjoyed dinner very much, recommended by one of the hotel staff members. The staff itself, headed by the manager Antonio, was extremely friendly and helpful. Antonio routinely goes out of his way to make everyone's stay at the hotel as great as possible. The reviews we had read were totally correct in this regard. The room itself was very spacious, among the biggest we experienced while in Europe. The shower was a bit strange, another bathtub with a folded shower door adapted to it. But it was adequate enough. The room had a nice little balcony overlooking the front of the hotel. The breakfast buffet was wonderful, with the best cappuccino we had while in Italy. All in all a wonderful stay, and we would not hesitate in staying here once again on a future vacation to Rome.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LuquilloRey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stay for 3 days a great experience, 5 stars service in a small hotel.
Antonio and his staff are always available to help you with any needs, great breakfast and comfortable rooms. Located on university neighbor is not fancy but very convenient with a mini market next door, tram and bus stop one block away. The train station and the Hop On Hop Off City Bus just a few blocks away. This Hotels offers free parking too, small but usually available.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc0usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Re di Roma
#158 of 1,272 in Rome
1,337 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#453 of 1,272 in Rome
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#228 of 1,272 in Rome
1,083 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#76 of 1,272 in Rome
1,455 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#217 of 1,272 in Rome
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel

Address: Via dei Liguri 7, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#59 Business Hotel in Rome
#91 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £33 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Lorenzo Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing