We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,210)
Filter reviews
1,210 results
Traveller rating
686
368
104
34
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
686
368
104
34
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tram stop student area porta maggiore public transport pastries recommend this hotel trams and buses the hotel manager lovely hotel termini station restaurants in the area booked this hotel boiled eggs cold cuts tourist attractions vatican city visiting rome
Filter
Updating list...
386 - 391 of 1,210 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Rome was a shock to the system after a damp cool English early summer. 38 degrees in early June, way above average, dirty, smelly, noisy, grafitti ridden and very hot. The hotel is in the back streets out of the centre but close enough to be easily accessable to the main sites by public transport (trams are less than 5 minutes away on foot). It is an oasis with friendly faces and in particular Antonio who is the most helpful and friendly hotel worker I think I've ever met. Our room and shower were adequate and reflect the prices. The lounge and outside area were pleasant and the coffee is good. Breakfast is plentiful with the usual continental choices. Luckily we were in Rome for 7 days. You get used to things, the shock recedes and you grow into the place. I'm sure staying in this hotel was a factor. San Lorenzo as an area looks run down but is unthreatning and the restaurants around the hotel are very good and cheap in comparison with central Rome.
Rome is a walking city once you're in the centre. Use the churches to cool down if it becomes too hot (or the bars where we witnessed a pretty impressive thunderstorm with torrential rain). If you want to visit the Colosseum get a Roma Pass, it could save you a very long queue and likewise it is best to book tickets for the Vaticant Museums on line to avoid the same.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BKSPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

It's not the most luxurious hotel in Rome and it's not in the best location, but we felt there excellently. It's because the staff was very helpful. We needed to go to hospital. The staff was responsive. Antonio took us his car and helped communicate in hospital.
Location is fine. There is supermarket, several restaurants and many cafes. It is very easy to get to the centre of Rome. We felt very pleasant in the hotel.
P.S.: Antonio thank you very much again!!!

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daniken d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

August 10, 2013 Stayed at the San Lorenzo Hotel in Rome, Italy. It is our third six-day stop on our 17- day honeymoon. This hotel is an oasis from the crowds and the hustle and bustle of Rome. After a day of sightseeing and dealing with crowds, you can retreat to this hotel and actually get some rest. The decoration is incredible the staff is incredible, the manager is on premise in the morning and what a charming person he is. The rooms are great the caretakers are so helpful and the beds are great slept like a baby. They have free ice as much as you want, and whenever you want. When you go to Rome stay at the San Lorenzo you will love it.

Room tip: The only place to stop in Rome
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frltravelclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I stayed here with my mother and it was not in the best location. I would not stay here if walking is an issue since we had to walk to public transportation to get around. The beds were rock hard, I had to call for hot water to take a shower one morning becuase it was out and it was just too far off the beaten path. I would have liked to have felt safer walking to/from my hotel. For the price I paid (130 EU/night for a double room with breakfast), it was just not worth it. The breakfast left something to be desired as well.

Room tip: The room was super small and the shower was tiny!
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingMom78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Location was great. Easy access to all the sites. Out of the hustle and bustle of the big city. A real gem. Staff were pleasant and very helpful. It was great to relax in the courtyard after a busy day touring. Would definitely recommend to friends and family.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miranda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews