We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love love love the room!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Ranked #125 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Yes the location is not in a very fancy neighbourhood but once u enter this property, you will be amaze by the decoration and most important cleanliness!!! The room is not that big but very romantically beautiful.Yes its quite dangerous for you to walk alone at night from the tram station because its a bit dark. But you will forgive all that once you reach the hotel room. Not much choice of breakfast, but enough for the price that we pay. Alessandro has been a great help for us. We can never thank him enough. Overall, we enjoyed our stay here and definitely will come back and stay here if we come to Rome.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mimszainal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 1,104 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

We spent 3 nights at Villa San Lorenzo, after arriving to Rome Terimini station we decided to walk to the hotel as our navigation told us it is only 1,5 km far from the hotel. The way was not very nice, because we were passing dirty streets full of strange people. I would say that person do not feel comfortable and do not expect a lot from hotel in this part of Rome, but when we saw Villa San Lorenzi we were amazed by nice, calm place in the middle of this wilderness.
The hotel staff especially receptionists were very professional ( I would say the standard of 4 star hotel ), they could smile a bit more, so they would not seem so stricit and cold. Our room was tiny, but clean and cozy, housekeeping did very good job, and help us anytime we needed. Breakfast was good but what I did miss was some vegetable.

There was one confusing thing and it was the board next to the entrance where was written Happy Hours from 6 - 11 PM ( but it was thought the opening time, Happy Hour is only from 6-8 PM so then it could happen that you pay twice more than you suppose.

The only negative thing was that at the day of leaving tha receptionist ( even though he was nice) was not able to help us to book our airport shuttle - suprisingly he did not know much about different possibilities than Terravision bus, only thing he could recommend us was to use hotel taxi for 60 EUR ( we used the public taxi which he called and it cost 30 EUR to the airport ) which I did not find very fair.

But anyway I can kindly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Fantastic staff, clean room, lovely buffet breakfast and great coffee. We had a beautiful start to our honeymoon. Thank you to all the friendly staff who helped us plan our daily itinerary. We will definitely return to re-live the wonderful experience.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Natalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

It's easier to write about things we didn't like as there was none. However, I believe that we shouldn't write only we have something to complain about but make an effort when we find something good as well, it comes back to all of us several fold.

The staff was excellent, as it has been pointed out by many previous reviews, and we expected it, but they really outdid themselves. Even at a small family-run business, it's hard to find such kind people all across the board, regardless of the shift. However, this place was more than that, though just for that professionalism and kindness, it was more than enough to choose them without looking back!

But they were more: Location was perfect not only because it was close for the business we're conducting in Rome but also close to the center and accessible by bus, tram or you can even walk to Termini. There are many tram lines (maybe 3-4) that pass through the nearby station and that many bus lines so you are never waiting. (you need to use Google maps and public transportation mode or ATAC, the official site of public transportation in Rome, for more info on lines tables and public transport maps, which is in English as well. Even if some trams or buses stop working after a certain time at night, you are still 20-30 min walking from Termini, so if you came from a long trip by bus or train, say after 22.00, or if you stayed longer at some restaurant or bar close to the center, you don't need to worry if there is no public transportation at that late time as you can just walk from Termini if you don't want to pay for a taxi. This was a big issue for us and we took this into consideration before we chose this place. (http://www.atac.roma.it/index.asp?lingua=ENG ). If you wanted a rental car, you had all the main rental car companies in Termini so another big plus. To get an Italian SIM card, you had all the main mobile companies in Termini as well where you could compare prices, so more reasons to appreciate the place.

Though in the center of busy Rome, it still gave you the feeling of being a cozy home like in the outskirts of Rome. The rooms were big and clean, bathroom was big. It had a balcony looking over the entrance and the courtyard giving you a great feeling in the morning. Having breakfast in the courtyard was very nice, very soothing, especially with so many flowers around. There was parking spaces in the premises, if you had a rental car or you could park by the street. The breakfast was continental and not simply sweet and, considering that many hotels in Rome have only sweet stuff for breakfast, this was very rich. They had waitresses that served you coffee outside and that was nice too. Last but not least was the price, it's hard to find the 15th ranked hotel in Rome, located right in the center, with prices so competitive. And more, we had an emergency and needed to go a day earlier and they didn't say a thing though the check out time had well passed. Finally, one more thing that impressed me is that, a day before a general strike, they had put notices of that in the elevator and told us orally as well at the reception of the strike. Now, how many big hotels where you pay big bucks do that? This gave us enough time to wake up earlier and plan our day better (going early to get a rental car), actually saving the day for us. Don't look back but grab this hidden Roman pearl, it will be the best hotel choice you have made in a while!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToniAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Perfect hotel with friendly staff, very good location with fast connection to the city center, amazing service and lovely restaurants close by, free WiFi and clean rooms. Cappuccino is the best. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tod0r_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here during July, after arriving into Roma termini it was a short 5 cab ride (make sure you tell the cab driver not to take the tourist route!!). We were greeted with an amazing Italian reception the staff could not do enough to assist us. We were served complimentary coffee & shown to our rooms, given maps and explained how to escape the tourist traps and skip the lines for the colosseum and Vatican City. There is a tram (€6that leaves directly outside and heads straight into Rome. Happy 2 for 1, great continental breakfast with plenty of coffee. Also offer power adapters also. The rooms were very tidy, clean and the air conditioning was quiet for a great nights sleep. I would highly recommend to anyone visiting Rome.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Justinm83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We have just spent a week in Rome to meet up with family from Canada. We all agree that we could not have found anywhere better suited to our needs. Typically Italian in style, the rooms are spotless and there is plenty of space to enjoy a drink and a chat. The manager and staff were amazing and made us feel so much at home, but also like honoured guests. Nothing was too much trouble and their sound advice on getting around Rome and their recommendations for eating out made our holiday all the more enjoyable. We highly recommend Villa San Lorenzo Maria and it will will definitely be the first number we call the next time we plan a trip to Rome.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#76 of 1,269 in Rome
1,420 reviews
Hotel Re di Roma
#155 of 1,269 in Rome
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#451 of 1,269 in Rome
295 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Giuliana
Hotel Giuliana
#164 of 1,269 in Rome
1,293 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#196 of 1,269 in Rome
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel

Address: Via dei Liguri 7, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#54 Family Hotel in Rome
#59 Business Hotel in Rome
#63 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#91 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £42 - £434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Lorenzo Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing