We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wake up to birdsong 10 minutes walk from the center of Rome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa San Pio
Ranked #91 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wake up to birdsong 10 minutes walk from the center of Rome”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

If you stay at the Aventine Hill, you can relax in a beautiful residential area away from the traffic and crowded streets, only a short walk from Forum Romanum, Coloseum, Trastevere, Pantheon and the Corso. We prefer to stay at Hotel Villa San Pio, where you can sit on your balcony and enjoy a wiew over the city and to the Abruzzi mountains.in the distance. Our room was clean and large, and the marble bathroom was nice.The staff in the reception was very helpful. The delicious breakfast is served in a conservatory in the nice and well kept garden, which is full of camelias, palms, lemon trees and Roman Pine trees, so you wake up in the morning by birdsong.The best area in Rome for restaurants with typical Roman food is just down the hill in the Testaccio area. We were the only tourists in every restaurant we visited there. Also visit the Testaccio food marked and go to the Parco Savello next to Santa Sabina church and enjoy the sunset and the wiew across town to Sct Peters Basilika. Ask the reception for map and directions and watch out when you walk in the evenings, as the pavement is very uneven due to the roots of the trees breaking it up. The free WiFi worked well, also on the top floor. The TV channels are all in Italian, but who cares, when it is so nice to sit and enjoy the view at the balcony.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bente I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Mrs. Bente,
Thank you so much for your positive comment on our property and for thinking us once back home.!
What a great pleasure for all of us to learn how much you enjoyed your roman days especially in our oasis of calm in our Hotel Villa San Pio.!!
We are so glad you appreciated your large room with the balcony and the delicious breakfast served in our beautiful conservatory.
Thank you so much for your generous comment and we are really looking forward to your next visit in the Eternal city!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    766
    442
    69
    16
    12
See reviews for
264
554
48
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We’re a young couple that went for a romantic city getaway for 3 nights and were left feeling very satisfied. The décor of the room is quite rustic Italian and is kept in good condition, our room was contrasted with a modern stylish en-suite which was very practical. The breakfast was good and served near the conservatory within the beautiful gardens that are very well maintained (a very nice feature to this hotel). We were fortunate to have good weather so we chose to eat outside though did notice that people had the option to eat in their rooms though should they wish.

I must commend the excellent service that the staff delivered, everyone that we encountered from check-in until check-out was incredibly friendly and helpful, the staff were very accommodating with every request.

It is located a little bit out of town, however there is a bus stop at the bottom of the road just a few minutes walk away or the piramide metro station that is a 10-minute walk away. It wasn’t a problem for us but it is something to bear in mind that you may have to walk a bit and get some form of transport to see the attractions of Rome but we covered everything we wanted to see within 3 days leaving no stone unturned whilst staying at this hotel.

The biggest drawback from this hotel for us had to be the mattress of the bed. The bed itself was a lovely size but we found that we didn’t sleep that well on it because we couldn’t get comfy, the bed was a little too hard for us both. This could very well be a one off or a personal preference but it did take away from the experience of what is a lovely hotel. It’s clean, spacious, had good wi-fi. It was a small blip on what otherwise was a great hotel.

Would I recommend this hotel to someone else?
As long as they don't mind the walk (which late at night can be very dark, the street lights weren't on, but felt safe), yes. It was great value. Lovely 3* hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NiallYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for thinking about us once back home and for sharing your positive experience with us.!
We take high consideration of your suggestions as is so important for us to achieve complete satisfaction of our valued guests and to improve our service and quality standards..!
I’m sorry if you didn’t find our bed comfortable and soft and I sincerely apologize for this inconvenience.
A little disappointed though you didn’t let us know about it, because we could have easy provided a bed softer for your comfort in order for you to enjoy a great night sleep.!!
Hopefully this little inconvenience did not ruin your “sweet memories” of your roman holidays.!!
Looking forward to your next visit for another romantic getaway in the eternal city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

The decor for this 3 star hotel is amazing. Romantic, friendly, superb environment for a great city getaway, you will enjoy the private hotel with great breakfast and high class hospitality.
The rooms are clean, spacious and air corn friendly

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Mr. Richard,
thank you very much for your positive review and for thinking about us.!!
We are proud to know that the hotel Villa San Pio really met your expectations and made your stay very romantic..!!
Looking forward for your next visit in the Eternal City for another romantic stay with us..!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lamia
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed there for 5 nights, our room was a bit small but we were out most of the day so we did not care much. It is a bit far from the center, but the bus station is just 2 min from there. The breakfast was really very good ,served at a patio in the garden and the breakfast staff very polite. The evening receptionist was also very polite and helpfull ,something we cannot say about the morning lady who was not very polite,althought she answered our questions,her attitude and way of speaking to us was UNACCEPTABLE.We also do the same job and we tried to bother the staff as less as possible but someone should teach her that when a quest comes in and you hear the door open, especially if there is no one else there,.....you look the quest and greet him..but no she didnt even bother to raise her head unless we spoke to her.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank maril1Lamia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear guest,
thank you very much for sharing your comments with us!!!
We are delighted to learn you enjoyed our breakfast and our lush garden and patìo surrounded by orange and lemon trees!!!
I’m disappointed though, you were not greeted friendly by the morning lady as well as the rest of our concierge staff. I sincerely apologize for her attitude and behavior. I’m very surprised about it, and I assume it was just a bad moment of the day as she is always so professional and friendly and loves to take care of our valued guests!!!
Anyway I understand completely your point, and again, I’m sorry you had to experience this during your vacation in Rome.
Hopefully you will give us the pleasure to host you again in our hotel in the next future!!!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Hotel Villa San Pio is a wonderful hotel in a nice and quite area. The room was excellent - spacious and comfortable. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. If you are looking for a location close to the central areas of Rome without all the traffic and noise... this is the place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knud W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your positive review about the hotel Villa San Pio.
We are really happy to learn that you liked so much our roman villa and you appreciated your comfortable room and furniture. The staff is pleased to give the best service to satisfy every guest’s needs.
Looking forward for your next visit, for another pleasant experience with us.!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights for our wedding anniversary in November. This was our third visit and we had another enjoyable stay. We had a nice comfortable room on the top floor with a balcony overlooking the street which was good, and enjoyed the grounds and the breakfast room in the grounds. The location is good and easy for walking to Circo Massimo & Trastevere etc plus the local neighbourhood (Testaccio) is interesting with good bars and restaurants (Da Bucatino worth a visit) and a regular market.

The only downside of our visit was a group of young Italian lads who were staying in the hotel (and mostly on our floor) on the Saturday night - at one point my wife went out into the corridor to find one of them stripped to the waist pacing up & down brushing his teeth!! We complained to reception a couple of times but it didn't make any difference, and this did spoil things a bit. Otherwise though the guys on reception were very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stronty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your nice review about our beautiful roman villa.
We are glad to know that it was your third visit and we are so happy you trusted us once again..especially for a very important event for you..!!
Hope to see you soon for another pleasant stay with us for your next trip in the eternal city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed at the Villa San Pio for the weekend. The room was fabulous, good amenities, warm (important factor in this cold), clean. Matress was a bit hard but all the rest is perfect. The staff was very welcoming and helpful, breakfast was charming in the setting of the covered garden. We had a car so it was easy to access, parking is available in the hotel. It's very close to the city and convenient location.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecile077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your nice review posted on Tripadvisor.!

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us in the Hotel Villa San Pio, appreciating the “fabulous” room and all the service that all the Staff gave you with pleasure.!!

We really hope to see you again for your next visit in Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Hotel Aventino
Hotel Aventino
#63 of 1,291 in Rome
920 reviews
San Lorenzo
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Aventine
Hotel San Anselmo
Hotel San Anselmo
#46 of 1,291 in Rome
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#75 of 1,291 in Rome
654 reviews
Villa Pirandello
#92 of 1,291 in Rome
421 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#80 of 1,291 in Rome
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa San Pio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa San Pio

Property: Hotel Villa San Pio
Address: Via di Santa Melania 19, 00153 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in Rome
#62 Family Hotel in Rome
#69 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa San Pio 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa San Pio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Pio
San Pio Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing