We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for a 3*”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa San Pio
Ranked #79 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My wife and I honeymooned here last August. Lovely hotel hidden away in the back streets of Rome in a nice quiet area. the room was plenty big enough for us, the included breakfast was not bad (they just don't know how to do a proper fry up on the continent!) but there was plenty of fresh fruit and of course the standard continental breakfast. We never had an evening meal there so i can't comment on the quality of dinners.

good location, 10 minute walk from the nearest metro. Nice relaxing leafy garden areas.

Particularly wanted to mention one of the staff: Agapito - he was one of the friendliest people we met during our stay in Rome, he always had a smile on his face, he gave us tips on the best places to eat in the city and the best way to deal with haggling taxi drivers etc, and went far and beyond the call of duty to make sure we had a great honeymoon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear Matt,
thank you for your comment and for thinking about us after so many months!
We appreciate you consider our hotel an excellent 3 stars, the location, the services and the staff.
We love to take care of our guests expecially for special occasion such as your honeymoon.

Hope to host you once again even for your first wedding anniversary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,404)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villa San Pio
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 1,404 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

Beautiful little hotel, in one of Rome's most quaint neighborhoods. Spacious rooms/bathroom. Staff was extremely helpful. It was like a little oasis in the middle of the most amazing city. We spent 3 wonderful nights there and will definitely go back the next time. Thank you all!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Socky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you for your comment and also for consider us "excellent, beautiful, comfortable" hotel.
We loved taking care of you and your family during your Roman holidays…
Hopefully you will give us the pleasure to host you again when visiting the eternal city again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Aventine, where this hotel is located, offers great relief from the intensity of the city. Nothing was too much trouble for the very courteous efficient staff. Spotlessly clean and an excellent breakfast. 45 min walk along the banks of the Tiber to the Vatican, €10-15 by Taxi (make sure the meter is visible and running).

However a good uphill walk is required from most services so may not be suitable for anyone with mobility issues (taxis readily available). You can get a train from Fiumicino to Ostiense train station (40 minutes) On first arrival, best get a taxi from Ostiense even though they say 10 min walk. There are tricky crossings and a maze of roads, a bit daunting on arrival. Fantastic local restaurants and deli's. The hotel is probably a bit dated but hey thankfully so is everything else in Rome Enjoy!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Rita,
thank you very much for your review.
We appreciate your words and it's nice to know you enjoyed your stay with us and that you consider the hotel an "oasis".

Hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We enjoyed a short city break in Rome staying at the Hotel Villa Piu for 3 nights at the end of April.

There are many good things about the hotel:
The location is great, in a quiet leafy residential area yet only 10 mins walk from Circus Maximus metro station, a similar walk to Pyramid and Ostiense stations and a short walk to some good restaurants (listed on a map by the hotel). The colosseum itself was easily accessed within half an hour's stroll and the Vatican easy to reach on the metro, with one change at Termini for only 1.5 euro.
The staff were pleasant and friendly, spoke good English, and were happy to book restaurants etc
The breakfast area is nice - a small outdoor area and a nice conservatory for when it is a bit cold or rainy. Breakfast itself was a good choice with pastries etc although the fruit juice was merely squash
The room was decorated in a quirky but attractive style, with good bathroom fittings
All in all, a good quality 3 star hotel, highly recommended.

So why not 5 stars? Well, the room was on the small side and we could hear talking from occupants of the neighbouring room. But really the main shock for us was that the hotel did not switch on their air conditioning until May, despite the fact that it was quite warm in the rooms and we asked at reception how we could switch it on! Friends who stayed with us said their room was a "sauna". The hotel did not even offer to switch it on for a payment - heating available sure, but no air con even in late April in Rome! This seemed to us to be very mean for a hotel which is far from cheap.

Some tips you may find useful:
It is 48 euro fixed price taxi to and from FCO airport, which if there are 3 or 4 of you is reasonable value
Buy a combined ticket to the colosseum and forum at the ticket office to the forum, and so avoid the huge queues at the entrance to the colosseum
We ate at the local restaurant Taverna Cestia which was good and mainly full of locals, not tourists
The "eating Italy" food tour is highly recommended - we did the twilight Trastevere tour one evening, and the starting point is an easy 20 min or so walk from the hotel

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Townsiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for the beautiful review posted on Tripadvisor and for staying with us during your trip to Rome.!
I'm disappointed to read you were shocked about not having air conditioning in your room in April and i sincerely apologize for this inconvenience.!!
Howwever you must consider that most three stars hotels in Rome and in Europe i would say, are equipped only with a "winter" or "summer" system switch, which is turned "on" or "off" depending on the season.
In April the temperature was still very low and most of our clients were still expecting heat and no air conditioning in the room.
Usually only hotels 4/5 stars have this system. As a matter of fact, our 4 stars hotel in the same neighborhood is much more expensive..!!!
We hope to host you again in the future in one of our property for another pleasant trip in the eternal city.!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking to stay somewhere a lil quitter. It is tucked away up a hillside street in a quit and cute neighborhood. It is a short walk to the bus stop where it is a short bus ride to the Colosseum, Roman Forum, and Palentine Hill. Between that bus stop and the other one a short walk away it is easy to get to all major attractions. Or if you prefer you can just walk like we did and take in the Roman lifestyle. It's only about a mile to the colosseum and from there you can take the bus to other attractions if you prefer.
The included breakfast is ample and has a great variety to choose from. The staff was excellent and very accommodating and was quick to help us with instructions and directions for sight seeing or booking a taxi.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chuey83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Guests,
what a pleasure to read your review!
We appreciate your words and we are glad to know you liked our hotel Villa S. Pio and you also appreciate the location of our hotel. The Aventino hill is a "paradise" inside the hustle and bustle of the city!

Hope to see you for your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This is our FAVORITE "home" in Rome, have stayed there many times. It is not flashy and perhaps a bit showing its age, but it offers everything a vacationer or business traveler needs. The location is wonderful: very quiet, residential area yet with easy access to all manner of public transportation and within walking distance of a lot of the big attractions. The rooms are spacious, very comfortable and VERY clean. The property is in a garden setting with privacy and includes a delightful gazebo in the garden where a delicious breakfast (included) is served daily. The staff is MOST friendly and helpful. Just to single a few: Rita Maglalang at the front desk is just what you'd wish for - knowledgeable, cheerful and eager to help. So is her assistant, Fabrizio Fabbri. And Agapito, a jack-of-all-trades in the lounge will make you your favorite drink, a snack and, if you ask, tell you an AMAZING story about his family. This is THE place for us in Rome!!!

Room Tip: Our favorite for many years has been room 269.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Fred,
It is a real pleasure learning that our Villa San Pio hotel means so much for you that you consider it as your “home” in Rome! Rita, Fabrizio and Agapito are very thrilled and proud to be mentioned in your beautiful review, as well as the rest of our friendly and kind staff! It is very important for us get a positive feedback about our villa from such a valuable and regular guest as you are!
We are looking forward to pamper you again, because, after all, “home is where the hearth is”!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

This place is an absolute treasure in central Rome. Waking up to birds chirping, sun and palm tree view form the window. Just what is needed after winter. Totally forgot I was here for work. All rooms are great and quiet. Staff friendly and helpful.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank kstaerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your good impressions about our “treasure”!
We are very glad you could enjoy moments of spring in Rome and the pleasant atmosphere of our hotel, even if you travelled for work!
We are looking forward for your next stay then! No matters if it is for work or for leisure because our green and sunny villa is very relaxing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Hotel Aventino
Hotel Aventino
#65 of 1,267 in Rome
966 reviews
Aventine
Hotel San Anselmo
Hotel San Anselmo
#42 of 1,267 in Rome
1,164 reviews
San Lorenzo
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#96 of 1,267 in Rome
894 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa San Pio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa San Pio

Address: Via di Santa Melania 19, 00153 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in Rome
#62 Family Hotel in Rome
#69 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £57 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa San Pio 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Villa San Pio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Pio
San Pio Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing