We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent little gem in Rome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa San Pio
Ranked #84 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent little gem in Rome”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed 20 nights for a combination of business and leisure. Spacious rooms and really great personal service. The breakfast buffet is good but can get monotonous after a week. The hotel is in the beautiful, accessible but quiet Aventino area, a stone's throw away from the Orange Garden. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EsMuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your positive review! We are very glad that you spent your long stay with us and that you enjoyed our perfect location!
We are looking forward for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    823
    463
    72
    17
    13
See reviews for
293
583
50
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Villa San Pio for a week at the end of July 2014 with my 12 year old son. It is a very quiet, relaxed hotel in a very peaceful residential part of the city which felt very safe indeed.
The staff were all very helpful and friendly, and the room was lovely and clean with plenty of space.
The hotel was a little bit hard to find initially, as the roads are all quite similar looking so it's well worth having a street map before you arrive. The nearest metro station is about 10 minutes walk, or there is a fairly main road with bus stops at the bottom of the hill which is about 5 minutes walk. From there you can get buses to the city centre, or the Vatican. Although this road is supposedly on a tram route I didn't see a single tram in the week I was there.
There is only a limited bar food menu at the hotel, just snacks so you do need to eat out but the breakfast is good.
All in all a lovely little hotel and I would certainly recommend it if you want peace and quiet and don't mind being a little out of the city.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Simon5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Simon,
thank you for your nice review and thank you for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community! Indeed the location of the hotel is very quiet, perfect for a good night sleep after a long day in the crowded centre of Rome!
We really hope you could come back soon!
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Our family of 4, two adults and to adult children loved this hotel.Great room size, but if id known would have asked for a balcony, very clean, breakfast amazing best we had in Italy, great staff,walked everywhere, great to come home to peace and quite after spending the day in busy Rome, views of Rome frome Aventino hill, beautiful, would defently stay here again

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your nice words about our property! We are glad to learn that you enjoyed one of our biggest rooms, the quiet neibourghood and the rich breakfast!
We are eager of your prompt return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Ticked all our boxes. Wonderfully traditional and comfortable rooms (and lift), great breakfast, great staff who helped us by printing out our ticket to the collesuem. Fantastic location. Arrived at 2 am and the staff were very welcoming. To me seems much more 4* than some of the actual 4* hotels we stayed in on this holiday. And for the price - ideal stay.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank uneasilyimpressed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Sir,
thank you so much for your generous feedback about our property on the Aventino hill.!
We are delighted that your stay at our hotel Villa San Pio was good and have enjoyed the service and the courtesy of our staff.!
We hope to have you back soon for another trip as a welcome guest and we suggest to check our official website for special offers and promotional rates.
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel Villa San Pio for your roman holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Very helpful staff make staying here a delight. Rooms are very comfortable but some are in need of refurbishment. The rooms in the annexe containing the breakfast room are better. Breakfast in the garden is the perfect way to start the day, fresh fruit, a variety of hot and cold meats and cheeses. The hotel is in a quiet location a ten minute walk from the Underground. Walk to the top of the Aventine for stunning views of Rome or the Circus Maximus. We always stay here when we come to Rome.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Sir,
thank you for your nice review on Tripadvisor and for having shared.!
We are delighted that your stay at our hotel Villa San Pio was good and have enjoyed the service and the courtesy of our staff.!
We are also glad you enjoyed our delicious breakfast in our conservatory, where is fantastic to start the day in a peaceful and relaxed ambience before getting
in the busy city.
We hope to have you back soon for another trip as a welcome guest in the Eternal City.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stayed several times in this hotel, even for longer periods. There are some other hotels nearby but this is the most charming for me. The atmosphere of San Pio and the surroundings with the villas, lemon and orange trees and jasmins is very relaxing comparing with crazyness of the city center. The rooms are spacious with antique stile furniture and paintings, pastel colours, the bathrooms have Carrara marble. The best part of the hotel is the garden, it is really pleasant to have breakfast there (cats are annoying sometimes). The staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel is a bit far from the center but it is still within a walking distance, just like the Colosseum and Circo Massimo. Look through the famous keyhole of Aventino hill, the view to San Peter's dome worth it!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreaK2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel Villa San Pio, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Andrea,
it is always a pleasure to read reviews from our repeated guests and to learn that we did again a very good job! Thank you for choosing us each time and for recommending our roman villa to other travellers!
We are looking forward for your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waedenswil, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The staff at the Villa San Pio was wonderful, helpful and very friendly, which was just one of the highlights of our stay. The garden and breakfast room are beautiful, relaxing and worth the stay on their own. The rooms were cool, clean, spacious, and suited our family, which is hard to find anywhere in Europe. The hotel is a bit of a walk to public transport or the sights, but the residential neighborhood is quiet and lovely.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Aventine
Hotel Aventino
Hotel Aventino
#61 of 1,261 in Rome
960 reviews
Aventine
Hotel San Anselmo
Hotel San Anselmo
#40 of 1,261 in Rome
1,157 reviews
San Lorenzo
Villa San Lorenzo Maria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa San Pio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa San Pio

Property: Hotel Villa San Pio
Address: Via di Santa Melania 19, 00153 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in Rome
#62 Family Hotel in Rome
#69 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa San Pio 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villa San Pio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Pio
San Pio Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing