We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
M&J Hostel
Nearby Hotels
US$628
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$415
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$341
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$296
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Hiberia(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$701
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$588
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$352
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$342
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Raffaello(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Diocleziano(Rome)
US$342
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$264
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Condotti Hotel(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$355
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$318
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$505
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$467
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (418)
Filter reviews
418 results
Traveller rating
66
74
75
66
137
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
74
75
66
137
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 418 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We spent a week in Rome staying here. In terms of price it is probably one of the cheapest and location is amazing, 200m from Termini station! A number of downsides though including unclean rooms, no wifi in rooms, cleaners are creepy - they stand outside your bathroom waiting for you to finish and are always hovering around. All hostel staff are very friendly however.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chch2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

My friend and I spent a week in Rome and we were very pleased with our stay at M&J! We stayed in an 8 bed dorm and made lasting friendships with our room mates as well as the hostel staff. The accommodations were decent, nothing fancy but the location is prime and we took full advantage of breakfast/lunch deals with the café downstairs. We'd also like to make a huge shout out to Roberto who took us on the most magical walking tour of Roma and made sure we got to experience the city nightlife! Roberto was one of favorite things about Rome and we'd go back there just for him!

Room Tip: The 8 bed dorm was good enough for us but if you're not going to be able to sleep with your roomates coming and going in the wee hours of the night then maybe a smaller room would be better. We didn't having any trouble rolling over and going back to sleep and everybody was considerate of each other, but some people may be irritated by night owls.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katelyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

The hostel is very convenient to the Rome train station in what seems to be a safe area. The staff were mostly helpful and courteous. I had a single room which met my expectations, small but clean. The hostel has a small common area, although most of the people staying there just had their heads focused on ipads, cell phones, etc. - not much interatcion going on. They don't provide breakfast, but have a pretty good deal with a restaurant beside them. I did not use the kitchen, so I can't comment on that. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reclinerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I stayed at the m & j hostel for two weeks and hada wonderful stay. I slept well everynight, except when i went out for one of my mandatory running workouts every morning. But that was fun running the streets of rome in early morning. The staff was "par excellence". Very helpful and gave me all of the information i needed! All of the staff were tremendous in various ways and so very pleasent. The room with shower was vary good. NO problems. The cost per night is very lowand the cleaning staff were also very "on the ball"!! Clean rooms, sheets, ect. Close to temini station (about 200 meters)and near all of the things you want to see and enjoy. The metros can take you to any part of the city. Food was good, but forget about all of those "american meals". The Condo and Lidle supermarkets provide a large variety of food. Downside: The euro is expensive!! Spend your money wisely. Marcello La Croix from California sud.

Room Tip: 10 bed dorm ok. Four bed room a lot better.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcellolacroix2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed in September 2013. Twin room in the attic. Very comfortable bed with good mattress but bathrooms are uncomfortable with the smell. A very narrow staircase to the room. . We booked a room with breakfast. For a piece of croissant, cup of coffee and a glass of orange at eur2.50. Consider cheaper, as all goods are expensive. Breakfast is served in the cafe downstairs.

Wi-Fi in the lounge area only. Kitchen available, but we do not use it because it is very dirty. There is no lift, you have to bring your own bags to the first floor to check-in.

Staff are good and some are not.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa_elisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews