We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible place!”
Review of M&J Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
M&J Hostel
Ranked #640 of 1,070 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Koszalin, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible place!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I'd never meet with so a big lie! The opinions and informations was totally diffrent than reality.
The staff was very rude, not all i dont want to generalize.
The worst think is the lagguage room where i could leave my staff. It was dirrty, terrible room, old bathroom, everybody can enter there - so my staff wasn't safety.
I'm not very demanding person, but i was ready to pay for totally diffrent things.
I feel cheated.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skanata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    74
    70
    64
    125
See reviews for
13
56
128
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I stayed here 5 nights with a friend in July. The hostel is located very well, close to Termini, the central station of Rome. However it's very old and crappy. The beds actually need replacement (you think they will break down when someone swaps sides) and we stayed in a room next to the street which almost made it impossible to sleep at night because of the noise. My first day the shower was cold, the second day I had to try 3 showers before I found one that actually worked.

When we checked in and Mario (the Spanish one) was very rude. He did not provide us any information and he wasn't friendly. During the week we asked him about where a nice place to watch the football game (worldcup) his answer; in the pub below (where if you dont buy a beer within 5 minutes after entrance you will be kicked out). we decided to give it another try; a nice place to have breakfast? His answer: in the hostel. Terrible unfriendly guy.
However Johannes, who works during nightime is superfriendly and he will tell you all in and out-sides about Rome.

My experience; a crappy hostel with cleaning employees whom are more friendly then the reception staff. I suggest you to have another look because you won't find yourself comfortable staying here.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay here please make sure to get a room far away from the streets (windows are ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank julia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Soldotna, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I visited 3 countries and stayed in 5 different Hostels/Hotels during my trip and this one ranked pretty low. I stayed in a mixed dorm, which was fine, but the quality of the dorm is ABSOLUTELY not what they have pictured. The bunk-beds were super rickety and the matresses were covered in plastic which makes climbing into bed and getting comfy really awkward and loud. The whole feeling of the place was just old and dirty. I will say, one of the people traveling in my group booked a single room and it did appear to be clean and comfortable. So, I guess to sum it all up, you get what you pay for. If you're planning on staying in the dorm, you should re-think staying at the M&J.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NEL83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Upon readings the reviews; a friend and I were hesitant to stay here. Alas we kept the booking. The hostel staff were welcoming on arrive and throughout our stay advising us on different places to visit (well done blonde lady at reception very helpful).

The bed bug issue was our biggest concern but was non existent due to the plastic covered mattresses. No problems sleeping at all. Given the fact that it's a hostel people coming and going at night is tolerable.

Only qualm was that we were on the 3rd floor making it hard to carry luggage up the steep staircase because the lift isn't operable to hostel patrons.

You get what you pay for.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank varth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We booked the hotel and pre-book Vatican City trip few weeks in advance. But we only being informed that Vatican is closed on Sunday upon checked-in. Well, I personally think that we should be told in advance because we actually changed our plan to go to Vatican City instead of La Spezia! But we ended up no going to any of it!

There is no hot water in the bathroom no matter morning or night. Well, at least not the one we were staying. The internet is only available on the reception floor but not the room.

We paid the same rate as other hostels we stayed but what we got were very different.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skylover2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

A serviceable place with a few fatal flaws:

Room 101 is a single island room with noise all around- behind the headboard is the common room, on one side is reception/vending/noisy secondary meeting spot, in front is tiled hallway so everybody going by echoes into the room, to the other side is a dismal courtyard/boiler room/ laundry area that reverberates with the sound of music and merry-making from the bar below until at least 2am.

The cot was saggy. There were crumbs from the previous guest all over.

Strangely, I would notice things in my toilet that I did not leave there when I left that morning...

On the plus side- apparently I was the only person in the hotel to have hot water for my shower.

All this talk of bedbugs there is not surprising, but I haven't seen any on my stuff....yet.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank 32FlavorsAndThenSome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I got bedbugs at this place and the man that was working at the desk at the time was nice and apologetic but the owner acted like he was doing me a huge favor by giving me reduced rates for the rest of my stay when I should have gotten them for free. I don't recommend staying here. Also, it is above a very loud bar that makes it difficult to sleep.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lena O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Alessandro Palace Hostel
Alessandro Palace Hostel
#32 of 1,070 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Esquilino
Mosaic Hostel
Mosaic Hostel
#65 of 1,070 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Esquilino
The Yellow
The Yellow
#19 of 1,070 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Esquilino
Four Seasons Hostel Rome
Four Seasons Hostel Rome
#46 of 1,070 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Esquilino
Stargate Hotel
Stargate Hotel
#574 of 1,070 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to M&J Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about M&J Hostel

Property: M&J Hostel
Address: Via Solferino 9, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #640 of 1,070 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your M&J Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m & j Hotel Rome
m And j Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing