We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for at Hotel Panda”
Review of Hotel Panda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Panda
Ranked #608 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for at Hotel Panda”
Reviewed 21 May 2009

We stayed at Hotel Panda for 4 nights during our honeymoon in May 2009. We knew going in that we were staying at the Hotel Panda because it was cheap and we liked the location. That being said I can say little good about the place besides it was clean, had a nice location, and was somewhat quiet.

Our room didn’t have a clock, radio, or tv which was fine, but it was literally a bed, night stand and chair in the room. Kind of like a clean prison cell (from what I have heard)! You had to buzz out twice to leave the building and I joked to my wife that it seemed we were buzzing out of jail. Also, our hallway had a funky odor.

The front desk staff was somewhat dysfunctional and I never saw the same person twice. They also weren’t very friendly. I asked about the internet and they said I would need to come to the lobby to get a signal (the lobby was smaller than my bedroom with a weird couch…seemed like a college apartment).

We will probably return to Rome again, but we would surely upgrade from the Hotel Panda. If you need a clean room in a nice location for 100 euro a night… its not to shabby.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alwaysevol000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    196
    60
    24
    13
See reviews for
93
188
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia, USA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2009

Great location to Spanish steps, and close to the metro. Good neighborhood.

Room was TINY!!!!! Dirty floor, otherwise clean, but that was the norm for the hotels we stayed in during our month long stay. Good bathroom, small shower typical of European hotels.

Little pricy for the room we got. We stayed in much nicer places for less--although not in Rome.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkEuroTrip09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camas, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2009

I was pretty hesitant to stay at this hotel – frankly it seemed too good to be true. I think I read about it in my Lets Go! travel book. It was priced way below the rates I found for other hotels in this area. But traveling alone it was important to me to stay in a very populated area – which was why I was fixated on this location right near to the Spanish Steps and a block away from the metro.

I was pleasantly surprised! My room was REALLY cute, with a nice sink and mirror, and some sort of tile detail. The hotel is located on I think the second floor of a building that it shares with some other businesses. The room was very clean and nicely decorated.

The bathroom was really clean and really nice. My room had a shared bathroom but there was never anyone in it when I went to use it/shower. The people at the reception desk were really kind and helpful. They gave me some pretty explicit directions to the Borghese Gallery, booked a taxi for me, and even let me use their personal laptop when I came back defeated because I couldn’t find the internet café they gave me directions to.

When I asked the reception desk attendant point blank why their fabulous little hotel was priced so much lower than its neighbors, he replied to me, “We don’t exaggerate”. Sounds good to me.

There’s also a great little jewelry shop across the way from the hotel, selling trendy and not too expensive necklaces (20 Euro), earrings, and bracelets. It was called LALA Italia. And a really good restaurant on the same street that I ate at, it was recommended in my Rick Steves book. I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny15X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delphi, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2009

What a great hotel to begin our trip! The Hotel Panda is located in a great spot, just a short walk from the Spanish Steps, the subway station, and shops/cafes'/restaurants galore. The staff is very helpful and our room (triple) was very comfortable. No frills but for our needs, it was just a perfect fit. Our hairdryer (German) fit our wall plugs but did not matchup with the Italian voltage?, but the staff gave us one with correct setup for our stay and took care of any need we had. Very private room overlooking a small courtyard (quiet). The card insert to control the lights was a unique feature (energy saver!) and the entrance doors and security locks very first rate. Although the towels and bathroom area were sparton, we adapted immediately. For location, cleanliness, value, and charm, the Panda would be a place to return to in Rome for many years!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NPRrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2009

We stayed here for 5 nights the beginning of April, as we read about it in Lonely Planet...as a budget accom. for 80-100 euro p/night. For a family of 4, (8 & 14) we paid 180 euro which was 360 Australian per night - so not cheap, but I guess good value(?) for Rome. The room we had was #31, right over the street..which is great ambiance, but at night VERY noisy...you can also hear people snoring, talking, jumping etc in rooms next door and above..luckily we had earplugs, or we would never have been able to sleep.
The room was very clean with a tiny ensuite...no coffee in the room (bummer) or tv - very basic, and upstairs were 2 single beds for our kids. The location is 2 minutes from the Spanish Steps and the poshest shopping district in Rome. It is a great base...but you don't want to stay here if you want to spend time in your room. Its a place to sleep (with ear plugs)

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cazzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2009

After reading the reviews on tripadvisor, I expected to find small rooms. This was not that much of a problem for me and my husband. We had a nice double bed. The bathroom was a good size. We were in room #20, which was the first one next to the check in desk. It was a little noisy in the morning, but any other time we hardly noticed. The location was perfect. 2 blocks from the Spanish Steps and 3 blocks from Rome's shopping hotspot. The Spanga underground was next to the Spanish Steps, this makes getting around simple.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ape2658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2009

Located just minutes from the Spanish steps and the Spagna metro station and in the heart of the shopping district, the site is great, with a fabulous restaurant (L'Antica Enoteca) across the street. We had an extremely small room with bunk beds. With two suitcases and two people we struggled with a tiny closet and no room to manuver. Staff was not the most friendly, although did assist with specific requests when asked, such as reservations for local sites and train information. Sheets and towels were rough, and bathroom not the cleanest but certainly acceptable. We visited in February and the bathroom was so hot after a shower I sweltered -- can't imagine what it would be like in the summer. Price is right for sure, but be prepared to tough out a few small inconviences.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austin_TexasRedhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Inn Spagna Charming House
Inn Spagna Charming House
#298 of 1,261 in Rome
273 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Del Corso
Hotel Del Corso
#338 of 1,261 in Rome
711 reviews
Campo Marzio
iRooms Spanish Steps
iRooms Spanish Steps
#498 of 1,261 in Rome
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Hotel San Carlo
Hotel San Carlo
#161 of 1,261 in Rome
809 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Forte
Hotel Forte
#312 of 1,261 in Rome
756 reviews
Campo Marzio
Suite Condotti 29 A.C. Hotels S.r.l.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Panda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Panda

Property: Hotel Panda
Address: Via della Croce 35, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#109 Family Hotel in Rome
#330 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Panda 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pensione PANDA is one of the most well established within the center of Rome occupying two floors in a 19-th century building only 50 metres from the Spanish Steps. Due to its enviable location, clients of Pensione PANDA are able to visit on foot all the historic attractions of Rome, moreover they can take advantage of the wide range of high-fashion boutiques, excellent restaurants, cafès and bakeries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Panda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Panda Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing