We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a place to avoid”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Orazia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Orazia
Ranked #490 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a place to avoid”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

we stayed there last summer. The hotel is on 2 floors of an old building. There is an old elevator that if i works might take you to the reception. However to go to the other floor, you have to walk.
The night attendant at the service desk, seemed to busy reading his paper to pay
any attention. To sum it up with a single word, the only term that comes to mind
is "decadent". I just do not see how it could be rated excellent by ~ 30% of the reviews.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanni A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    108
    79
    18
    10
See reviews for
89
90
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnatus, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

The staff was great, friendly and happy to help. We felt at home even before we checked in.
The desk staff was very knowledgeable and passionate about Rome and anxious to share.
The breakfast room was beautiful, the food great. The hotel was an easy walk from the Termini train station, and 1/2block from the metro. Walking distance to the coliseum and other attractions. The room was a little dated, but very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the old fashioned elevator, which always worked during our stay. The room had a tv, but we never turned it on. We weren't in Rome to watch TV!When I go back to Rome, I'll be sure to stay there again.

Room Tip: We asked for adjoining rooms, and did get them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigarym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

This hotel is a ten minute walk from Termini Station, sits directly above a metro station, and most of historic Rome is within a brisk walking distance, making it very convenient for tourists. Across the road is a small park with some historic ruins (the so-called "Magic Gates"), and there are even a couple of restaurants and a coffee shop in the arcade fronting the hotel building. The lobby is on the fifth floor via an antiquated lift which worked well enough during my stay, although I had my misgivings. Ascending the lift when I first arrived, it lurched precariously, leading to a humorous exchange with a fellow occupant (Him: do you believe in God? Me: I do now!) who turned out to be one of the friendly front desk staff. This set the tone for my stay: the staff were invariably helpful and friendly, apart from one minor incident when I asked for a second cup of espresso at breakfast one morning, and even then the waitress was polite in her refusal. Breakfast was basic but adequate, as was my room, but it overlooked a grungy light-well at the rear of the building, and if I stay there again (which I would be perfectly happy to do) I would try and get one that looked on to the street. Overall, I enjoyed my stay, and the price was reasonable enough to make me consider another.

Room Tip: Try to get one overlooking the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

The staff are friendly when checking in but that's where it starts and ends - don't bother asking for advice on anything else. The rooms are average and you get what you paid for. It was a standard room that we were happy with but the only thing was that the shower was useless and broken. Even when we notified reception they didn't do anything or really care at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boredgoabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Paris, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

Rooms are musty and old. Tv in our room never turned on and nobody came to repair even after we complained. They have an old style elevator that sometimes could not be used. Staff was ery helpful. The location is near some tourist spots. Would recommed for budget conscious people.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheska g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

My sister and I stayed here for a few days on our way out of Rome, found it on booking.com last minute. The price was right, actually the price was great. The hotel staff were pleasant....all mature men, we found that a lot in Italy. Their English was great, they were helpful, they allowed us to store our luggage there after 10am till 6pm with no extra charge. The room was quite big, clean and tidy, postage stamp sized shower, but we were used to this by the end of 3 weeks in Italy. We shopped at the local grocer and had dinner at a restaurant recommended by the staff, great place to eat too....review later! We had a coffee across the street...1 EURO....best coffee we'd had in Italy. We felt very safe and when leaving to go to the airport, we jumped on the metro 1.5euro to Termini and got the shuttle bus from there 6euro. Breakfast was a feast fit for a Prince, not hot stuff, but who really needs that anyway? :)

Room Tip: Overlooking the Piazza would be nice, the Piazza is a walk through park, it's quite large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonePlatzke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We had a lovely stay at this hotel.. The room was immaculately clean upon arrival and was cleaned to a high standard each day. The bathroom was HUGE (for Italy's standards) and the towels that we needed changing were replaced daily with immaculate, pressed ones. I had to call reception a couple of times (to ask for some more pillows and to enquire how the air con worked) and each time they were courteous and very efficient. There was a wide choice of foods for breakfast, all continental of course but wtih cheese, different meats, fresh rolls, cereal, fruit juice, youghurts AND pastries anyone who moans about it needs shooting!!
The manager came round to personally oversee everything was ok at breakfast and even remembered my name from check in the day before - impressive!!
Check out was as pleasant and efficient as check in..
The metro stop is just around the corner from the hotel and is conveniently only one stop away from Termini (main train station connecting the rest of Italy and Fumincini airport).
Only one down side to this hotel - there were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room. No you know for us Brits that's a big thing - no morning cuppa - so please consider installing a kettle and some tea bags/coffee..
I will definitely return, one day, and 'thank you' for such a comfortable stay..

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiptonian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
D'Este Hotel
D'Este Hotel
#607 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Rome Love
Hotel Rome Love
#711 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Everest Roma
Hotel Everest Roma
#369 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Maikol Family Guesthouse
Maikol Family Guesthouse
#1,045 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Contilia
Hotel Contilia
#702 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Esquilino
Merulana Inn
Merulana Inn
#492 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orazia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orazia

Property: Hotel Orazia
Address: Via Buonarroti 51, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #490 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orazia 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Orazia is a charming, elegant and very quiet hotel in Rome centre: the Hotel Orazia offers its Guests the advantage of a very central and well-connected location to visit Rome. You can easily reach all the Rome' s attractions either on foot or by underground.There is a walking distance of only a few minutes from the hotel to many historic sites of Rome like the Colosseum and Ancient Rome, Central Termini Station, the big Basilicas of Santa Maria Maggiore and San Giovanni in Laterano. The entrance to the underground is underneath (about 15 mt ) the Hotel, make able our guests to complete the tour of the Eternal City visiting the Vatican with the Sistine Chapel, and many other sites of interest in Rome. By underground, or walking a bit further, you arrive at the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, famous shopping streets and the most important Museums of Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Orazia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orazia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing