We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best hostel!”
Review of Hostel Beauty

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostel Beauty
Ranked #845 of 1,178 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Great hostel! One of the bet hostel i ever stayed. We stayed in a private room that even got a kitchen of its own, a small living room and private toilet. It is clean, great and friendly staffs, kitchen available if u want to cook, computer to use if you ever needed to use one, wifi also available. We really enjoyed our stay here

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Hafizah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2014

No frills. This ain't the Hilton but for €10 per night, this place rocks! It's clean, great staff, and you meet the most fun and most charming travellers. Cleanliness is A1, and I am a clean freak who takes 2-3 showers a day! The floors are mopped EVERY day, bed sheets are brand new when you get there, mattresses are new and firm, meaning you rest your tired body after a day of travelling, and the kitchen is literally washed out everyday, but as common sense dictates, you should wash your own mess up. There is a nice lounge/living room area attached to the kitchen, where you get to dine and meet other travellers. Noise levels are low after 12-1am. People party here but keep it low at a decent time. If you're nice enough to Khan, the night receptionist (ex chef), he'll make you Italian food.

P.S., Steve H, who left a comment prior to mine, is just a hater because he got kicked out of the hostel for misconduct. I will personally vouch for that!

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Room 36 is a 6 dorm, which is cool for meeting people. It's actually divid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PliPri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This is one of the best hostels I ever stayed in because:-This hostel is really safe and has a very welcoming reception area. The common room kitchen is really useful for those wishing to cut down on restaurant outings. it was very clean (including shared bathrooms!) - close to the train station and major tourist attractions - the staff was fairly helpful and friendly(Khan)-reliable WiFi.- it was a quiet hostel.

Room Tip: Room was clean and stuff was friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorin j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This hostel seemed okay on the outside...but don't be deceived! There are several terrible aspects of this place that must be mentioned:

1. First of all we didn't get a key to our room...so we constantly had to be let in by either the other people in the room or track down some guy that works there to let us in.
2. It is so goddamn loud in the mornings, starting at 8 AM because the cleaners are banging around in the thinly walled building and making tons of noise. THEN they bust into your room every day telling you to check out when you have the room booked for 5 days. Not a good way to wake up each morning with a creepy dude staring you in the face.
3. Elevators don't work.
4. Lukewarm showers.
5. Horrible Wifi. You'll have a tenuous connection only if you're staying in a room near the lounge, otherwise you'll have to leave the room and go to the lounge.

AND THE WORST PART OF ALL: THIS PLACE HAS BEDBUGS. I got them the first night I was there and suffered the whole trip and long afterwards. Hopefully I didn't bring any back with me, but they were definitely there, munching away. So...screw this place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

hello
i was very dissapointed by booking a double roome tin this hotel, the bath room had a terrible smell that were not able to stay in the bath room . water was very cold to have a showere and the drunken guests were screaming that the rest couldnt sleep. no one was there to look into the drunken people to calm them down. bad place for the price. more than hundred euro spent on no shower and no sleep.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank anoja c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We stayed here for our first few nights in Italy, and really enjoyed it!
We checked in late having just come from three disastrous weeks in Morocco, and we did have a little problem finding it, the lonely planet map shows the wrong location, but only by a block or so. Adding to this the area isn't great, but in no way did i feel threatened, the streets are pretty wide, and well lit, they're just a bit dirty and quiet at night. But don't let this deter you!

We arrived at reception to be told that our twin w/shared bath had been upgraded to an en suite for no extra cost. We were stoked, especially because we were staying for 3 days, so this saved us about $15! There was an Indian guy that worked nights, who was pretty nice and remembered faces, and an Indian girl who worked in the day and was full of information about the city! Both spoke excellent English. Our room was clean, had a great en suite, and was very comfortable! Also, there's a small communal area a floor down (free computer for internet access), and a kinda under equipped kitchen, which was pretty handy for cooking breakfast and saving money (Huge supermarket 3 blocks away).

On the flip-side, the building is in a big shared apartment block, so you have to go to the second floor to check in, and then there are rooms and kitchen on the third floor, and more rooms on the fourth floor. This get to be a bit of a pain if you're staying on the fourth floor, and want to go to the kitchen, because you have to go down to the second, and get them to buzz you in on the third. Great exercise but a bit of a pain! :P If they had a key fob system or something, that could easily resolve this issue!

All in all though, we had a really good stay here. We came back a few days later having been in Naples and emailed them the morning we were returning, and got our same room, for the same price! Fantastically located near the train station for arrivals via train, airport bus, or just the metro. Would seriously recommend this place if you're on a budget.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brokenbackpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I've been in Hostel Beautiful for one night with a friend. We'd booked a twin room with shared bathroom. Reaching the hostel is just a quick walk from Termini station, which is definitely a plus. The neighborhood is certainly not nice, which you would reasonably expect from an Italian hostel so close to the train station, so that was no surprise and for one night, we sure didn't mind.

Finding the place is kind of difficult though, because there are no signs on the street and the hostel itself occupies a flat on the 2nd floor of a building. When we first arrived, the guy at the reception was not really nice, spoke no Italian at all and actually spoke a really poor English as well. The guy from India that was on shift during the night, however, was really nice and friendly, but still, he spoke no Italian and was not able at all to help us with directions and information about the city.

Our room was really spacious, with a nice, big window and lots of free space. Unlike the hall of the hostel, which smelled really bad, it was pretty clean. The beds were comfortable and there was even an extra blanket in the closet. Thank God, because there was no heating!!! It's the end of November, and outside it was about 8 degrees. In the room there was actually one radiator, but unfortunately it was off.

The worst part, however, was this: The bathroom was across the hallway, meaning that we had to walk past the reception and past the main door in order to reach it from our room. Seriously NOT pleasant.
Our room was in fact right next to the reception, and apparently the walls are very thin, because we could clearly hear the reception guy talking on Skype - so he could probably hear us as well. Kudos for the privacy.
The bathroom itself was pretty dirty, only one toilet for both men and women, showers not working really well, no hairdryers.

Positive points are the location and the fact that it is open all night long, so you can go out and enjoy your night and go home whenever you want. They do not have a proper night shift, though: The reception guy sleeps right in the reception area, on the floor, and you simply wake him up when you ring the bell. You do feel sorry for him.

We didn't have the highest expectations about this hostel, but we were pretty disappointed nonetheless. I am sure you can find a better accommodation in Rome for about the same price.

Room Tip: If you choose the twin room with shared bathroom, specifically ask them NOT to give you the one next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank La_Simona_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
The Yellow
The Yellow
#12 of 1,178 in Rome
1,084 reviews
Esquilino
Generator Hostel Rome
Generator Hostel Rome
#9 of 1,178 in Rome
257 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,272 in Rome
7,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#450 of 1,272 in Rome
300 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#104 of 1,272 in Rome
1,242 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#226 of 1,272 in Rome
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Beauty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Beauty

Address: Via Napoleone III 35, 00185 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #845 of 1,178 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range: £24 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostel Beauty 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hostel Beauty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Beautiful Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing